We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a special occasion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

We had a family meal in Waterford Castle and were treated wonderfully. As a group we have various food allergies and intolerances and the staff could not have done more to make us comfortable and adapt the menu to our needs.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear SC

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent visit to Waterford Castle.

It was our very great pleasure to look after you all here. We are always thrilled to hear back form our guests especially when they have had a wonderful time.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward top seeing you all again soon.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 141 of 1,337 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed twice here, first in the castle and second time in the lodges. The castle is stunning, the rooms are spacious and lovely. The lodges are a bit old and not well maintained but they do the job they are 3 beds and family friendly.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Laurberto17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear Laurberto,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted to see that you were able to experience both The Castle and our Self Catering Lodges. The Castle is truly unique built in the 16th Century, while the Lodges are very much a modern addition very spacious, ideal for families and groups who want to explore the Island Resort, play golf or just to relax and chill.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you back on the Resort in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night at this hotel in one of the suites, The Burg room. The bed was extremely comfortable and king size. The room is beautifully decorated and very clean with comfortable chairs, a flat screen TV and period furniture. The bathtub is huge with claw feet and perfect for a relaxing soak. The hotel common areas are also beautiful and the grounds are great for waking and viewing wildlife and nature. The breakfast buffet in the morning is the best I've ever had!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mistty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear Mistty,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The Castle is a truly unique property that we are delighted to be able to share with our many guests from near and far.
We love to see our guests go out and explore the Island. The Walkways lead to the island edge where on route you will very likely always spot our resident wildlife and many different types of birds.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again at Waterford Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

This would probably be a better review if we hadn't been stuck in the lodges that were quite a ways from the castle. They are modern and have no character and are in need of paint and some TLC. The staff here does bend over backwards for you though. Food selection is small but good. You're also in the middle of nowhere and it takes a while to get back to the city.

Room Tip: Stay in the castle. Not the lodges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank AimeeLally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear AimeeLally,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

The Island Resort althought 10 minutes from Waterford City Centre may not always be what our guests envisage particularly if you prefer to be in the middle of town and we understand that.

You stayed in our Garden Lodges. The Lodges are very popular all year round, modern and comfortable. The Lodges offer good value and the Resort experience for those who chose not to book the Castle or find its fully booked and not available when enquiring.
We routinely address painting and general maintenance issues and apologise if you felt your Lodge was not as you would have liked.

I am happy to see that you found all our staff very accommodating and the food offering good.
We hope that you have taken away many fond memories of your visit to Waterford Castle. We look forward too seeing you sometime again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Helen Courtney


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We stayed for 3 nights at the Lodges in Waterford Castle Resort. The houses were excellent and very well equipped. I would say they were better than most homes. They are well designed and in a lovely setting. If possible when booking go for one that is on the outside of the development to ensure a nice view. We saw the local deer herds go by twice during our stay and a few more times on our nature rambles around the island. The showers are lovely and powerful with plenty of hot water. They are surrounded by a golf course which usually means nice scenery. One slight drawback is that some minor cosmetic maintenance and decoration should be done as if it is left it soon accumulates and makes a place start to look shabby.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoppoMullingar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here on The Island.

The Lodges are an ideal base for exploring the Resort and for exploring the Waterford region. I am delighted to see that you were able to enjoy the Island walks and see our resident wildlife including the Deer during your stay.

The Lodges are popular all year round, rest assusred that all maintence and cosmetic updates are addressed on an on going basis.

Thank you again for sharing your review. We hope to see you all again at some future date.

Kind regards
Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterford
3.7 km away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,389 reviews
3 km away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,227 reviews
2.4 km away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,219 reviews
3.2 km away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,222 reviews
4.3 km away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort

Address: The Island | Ballinakill, Waterford X91 Y722, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Family Hotel in Waterford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#7 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: €121 - €404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on its own private Island on the River Suir, Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort offers 4 Star Luxury Castle Accommodation nestled in the suburbs of Waterford City.Feel yourself travel through time as you make the magical journey by our complimentary Car Ferry to the 310 acre Island Resort.With an amazing history stretching back to the 6th century, wake up in Waterford Castle Hotel Ireland after a peaceful night’s sleep to the picturesque and enchanting scenes and sounds the island has to offer. Enjoy gourmet food served in our award winning Munster room restaurant and Fitzgerald Bar or simply relax by the large open fire in 16th Century surroundings.For family, group or self catering in Waterford our Island Garden Lodges are the perfect place to experience the South East.Island Activities include our 18 hole Championship Golf Course, our fantastic tennis courts, clay Pigeon Shooting or croquet on the Castle lawns.Waterford Castle also provides a stunning Irish castle wedding venue for an unforgettable Wedding Day. Imagine… A legendary Castle, on an Island Haven; exclusively yours. All in all Waterford Castle Hotel and golf resort provides a luxury destination to escape from life itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing