We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Lovely!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed one night at this hotel in one of the suites, The Burg room. The bed was extremely comfortable and king size. The room is beautifully decorated and very clean with comfortable chairs, a flat screen TV and period furniture. The bathtub is huge with claw feet and perfect for a relaxing soak. The hotel common areas are also beautiful and the grounds are great for waking and viewing wildlife and nature. The breakfast buffet in the morning is the best I've ever had!

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mistty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Mistty,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The Castle is a truly unique property that we are delighted to be able to share with our many guests from near and far.
We love to see our guests go out and explore the Island. The Walkways lead to the island edge where on route you will very likely always spot our resident wildlife and many different types of birds.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again at Waterford Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    778
    253
    96
    51
    22
See reviews for
346
513
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
169 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This would probably be a better review if we hadn't been stuck in the lodges that were quite a ways from the castle. They are modern and have no character and are in need of paint and some TLC. The staff here does bend over backwards for you though. Food selection is small but good. You're also in the middle of nowhere and it takes a while to get back to the city.

Room Tip: Stay in the castle. Not the lodges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2017, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AimeeLally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear AimeeLally,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

The Island Resort althought 10 minutes from Waterford City Centre may not always be what our guests envisage particularly if you prefer to be in the middle of town and we understand that.

You stayed in our Garden Lodges. The Lodges are very popular all year round, modern and comfortable. The Lodges offer good value and the Resort experience for those who chose not to book the Castle or find its fully booked and not available when enquiring.
We routinely address painting and general maintenance issues and apologise if you felt your Lodge was not as you would have liked.

I am happy to see that you found all our staff very accommodating and the food offering good.
We hope that you have taken away many fond memories of your visit to Waterford Castle. We look forward too seeing you sometime again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Helen Courtney


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullingar
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 3 nights at the Lodges in Waterford Castle Resort. The houses were excellent and very well equipped. I would say they were better than most homes. They are well designed and in a lovely setting. If possible when booking go for one that is on the outside of the development to ensure a nice view. We saw the local deer herds go by twice during our stay and a few more times on our nature rambles around the island. The showers are lovely and powerful with plenty of hot water. They are surrounded by a golf course which usually means nice scenery. One slight drawback is that some minor cosmetic maintenance and decoration should be done as if it is left it soon accumulates and makes a place start to look shabby.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoppoMullingar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here on The Island.

The Lodges are an ideal base for exploring the Resort and for exploring the Waterford region. I am delighted to see that you were able to enjoy the Island walks and see our resident wildlife including the Deer during your stay.

The Lodges are popular all year round, rest assusred that all maintence and cosmetic updates are addressed on an on going basis.

Thank you again for sharing your review. We hope to see you all again at some future date.

Kind regards
Helen Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My partner and I, and her mum stayed in Waterford Castle Hotel for three nights in March 2017.

The Hotel was amazing - everything you would expect from a luxury grand castle; open wood burning fires, four poster beds, freestanding baths, amazing food.

All staff were so polite and welcoming full of information and advice. My only slight criticism would be that some doors could be heard banging at night (but only on the rare occasion).

The surroundings are great with places to walk and the city a 10min drive away.

Great stay if you are looking for a REAL luxury experience.

Stayed March 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Inspector_Montalban0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Inspector_Motalbano,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed a wonderful stay here with us at Waterford Castle.
The Castle is a truly unique and magical place, dating from the 16th century it retains a certain charm and hints at life in a bygone era.

I hope you have taken away many fond memories of your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again at Waterford Castle in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Helen Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We held our wedding reception in Waterford Castle in November and it was a magical location for a wedding. From the first email enquiry through to check-out, all of the staff we dealt with were excellent. They clearly wanted us to have a wonderful experience and it absolutely was. Gillian was a pleasure to deal with and made sure that all the details, no matter how small, were thought about. The setting is gorgeous and the crossing on the ferry makes it just that little bit more special. The food was excellent and many guests commented on how good it was. We would highly recommend it as a wedding location but also as a wonderful place to stay and we look forward to returning in the future!

Room Tip: The Presidential Suite is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMaryL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear CMaryL

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review.
It was our very great pleasure to host your very special day here at Waterford Castle.

The Resort is a fairytale location; accessable only by Ferry our secluded Island with the magnificent Castle at its Heart rarely disappoints.
This coupled with our staff like Gillian who you kindly mention take great pride in their place of work and in ensuring everything on the day goes as smoothly as possible for our excited couples.

We all hope you are settling into married life.
We very much look forward to seeing you again

Kind regards

Helen Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterford
3.8 km away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
3.0 km away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
2.4 km away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
3.2 km away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
4.3 km away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: The Island | Ballinakill, Waterford X91 Y722, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Family Hotel in Waterford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#7 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on its own private Island on the River Suir, Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort offers 4 Star Luxury Castle Accommodation nestled in the suburbs of Waterford City.Feel yourself travel through time as you make the magical journey by our complimentary Car Ferry to the 310 acre Island Resort.With an amazing history stretching back to the 6th century, wake up in Waterford Castle Hotel Ireland after a peaceful night’s sleep to the picturesque and enchanting scenes and sounds the island has to offer. Enjoy gourmet food served in our award winning Munster room restaurant and Fitzgerald Bar or simply relax by the large open fire in 16th Century surroundings.For family, group or self catering in Waterford our Island Garden Lodges are the perfect place to experience the South East.Island Activities include our 18 hole Championship Golf Course, our fantastic tennis courts, clay Pigeon Shooting or croquet on the Castle lawns.Waterford Castle also provides a stunning Irish castle wedding venue for an unforgettable Wedding Day. Imagine… A legendary Castle, on an Island Haven; exclusively yours. All in all Waterford Castle Hotel and golf resort provides a luxury destination to escape from life itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotelopia so you can book your Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing