We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Hotel Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

My partner and I, and her mum stayed in Waterford Castle Hotel for three nights in March 2017.

The Hotel was amazing - everything you would expect from a luxury grand castle; open wood burning fires, four poster beds, freestanding baths, amazing food.

All staff were so polite and welcoming full of information and advice. My only slight criticism would be that some doors could be heard banging at night (but only on the rare occasion).

The surroundings are great with places to walk and the city a 10min drive away.

Great stay if you are looking for a REAL luxury experience.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Inspector_Montalban0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Dear Inspector_Motalbano,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed a wonderful stay here with us at Waterford Castle.
The Castle is a truly unique and magical place, dating from the 16th century it retains a certain charm and hints at life in a bygone era.

I hope you have taken away many fond memories of your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again at Waterford Castle in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 146 of 1,337 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2017

We held our wedding reception in Waterford Castle in November and it was a magical location for a wedding. From the first email enquiry through to check-out, all of the staff we dealt with were excellent. They clearly wanted us to have a wonderful experience and it absolutely was. Gillian was a pleasure to deal with and made sure that all the details, no matter how small, were thought about. The setting is gorgeous and the crossing on the ferry makes it just that little bit more special. The food was excellent and many guests commented on how good it was. We would highly recommend it as a wedding location but also as a wonderful place to stay and we look forward to returning in the future!

Room Tip: The Presidential Suite is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CMaryL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Dear CMaryL

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review.
It was our very great pleasure to host your very special day here at Waterford Castle.

The Resort is a fairytale location; accessable only by Ferry our secluded Island with the magnificent Castle at its Heart rarely disappoints.
This coupled with our staff like Gillian who you kindly mention take great pride in their place of work and in ensuring everything on the day goes as smoothly as possible for our excited couples.

We all hope you are settling into married life.
We very much look forward to seeing you again

Kind regards

Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Had A Lovely One Night Stay With my Family.Very Homely And Comfortable Hotel. Great Staff Espically Denise, Antonia And Fiona.
Dinner Was Fantastic With Top Class Service And Food.. Room ( Suite) Was Extremely Comfortable, Cocolates, Mints And Water Provided
Breakfast Was Also Very Good.Will Definately Return.

Room Tip: suite.seperate sitting room. with televisions in both bedroom and sitting room.lovely view also of g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank anna maria o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Dear Anna Maria,

Thank you for sharing your review.

It is great to read that you and your family had a wonderful stay with us here at Waterford Castle.

I look forward to sharing your review with the team but especially with Denise, Antonio and Fiona who helped ensure you had a memorable stay.

Thank you again and we very much look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Me and my family stayed twice on the Island. We were traveling with 4 children and from the minute we arrived at the dock they were excited - You see there is only one way on or off the Island and that is by the car ferry.

The ferry runs very frequently all day and into the night so don't worry about having to wait - it only takes about 5 minutes to get across and off but it definitely added an element of excitement for the kids and made us feel very special to have our own private Island :) .

We stayed in the self catering houses which were very modern - there is an open plan downstairs with a beautiful kitchen,it was very easy to cook in and the breakfast bar lets you stay connected with the family. The back of the houses open out onto a communal grass area. The two times we went it was fairly quiet so the kids spent most of their time outside playing ball games and mostly had the entire area to themselves.
Each house does also have its own patio area so you can sit outside and even Bar-B-Q if you want.


The bedrooms were all spacious and very comfortable and the bathrooms were beautiful. There was ample parking at the front of the houses.

The island is home to not only deer but badgers, hedgehogs, rabbits etc and many different birds so it is a wonderful place to wonder about and spot wildlife, we would often walk around the island late at night to see the nocturnal animals which was a real treat for the kids as this is not something that is always possible to do.
The whole place is beautifully maintained with manicured areas as well as more natural habitats.

The biggest downside was lack of wi-fi at the houses but you can go up to the castle to connect to the wifi there. To be honest we had so much to do that no one really missed it too much.

Although we stayed there twice we didn't use the castle as we had everything we needed in the houses.

If you do leave the Island, you are very close to Waterford town center, where there are plenty of shops, restaurants and bars and there is a leisure center close-by although we did not use that.

If you are looking from a break away from everything where you can relax and unwind I would defiantly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aamoore106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your lovely review. We are delighted that you and your family had a wonderful time here on The Resort.

Your experiences are what we want all our families to experience when here.
Embracing a slower pace of life and enjoying the natural surrounds and the outdoors.
You are never too far away from our resident wildlife, foxes, badgers, deer and many many birds. The Island walkways are ideal for spotting them or just for taking a leisurely stroll to The Lighthouse.

You can easily forget that you are 10 minutes down river from Waterford City Centre, where you can also find many activities and places to visit.

Thank you again for sharing your lovely review. Apologies about the WiFi, it is available at the Garden Lodges. I will get the signal checked.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

This was a welcome return to Waterford Castle. We really enjoyed the weekend, starting with the Ferry over to The Island. The rooms have been redecorated since our last visit and yet still retain the 'Castle' atmosphere. Gorgeous Waterford Crystal chandeliers were brought in last year and they really add to the decor. Food is amazing - lovely breakfasts and really nice 'fine dining'. Food in the lounge looked a nice option too.

Room Tip: For families with young children I suggest taking a lodge house and avail of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dublindays2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your lovely comments.
I was delighted to read that as a return visitor to The Resort you could see the great work that is continuing at The Castle and on The Resort.

The Castle will always retain its old world charm and magical athmosphere coupled with award winning food in The Munster Room Restaurant we hope both will continue to delight all our guests long into the future.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterford
3.7 km away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,389 reviews
3 km away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,227 reviews
2.4 km away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,219 reviews
3.2 km away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,220 reviews
4.3 km away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort

Address: The Island | Ballinakill, Waterford X91 Y722, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#2 Family Hotel in Waterford
#7 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: €120 - €403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on its own private Island on the River Suir, Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort offers 4 Star Luxury Castle Accommodation nestled in the suburbs of Waterford City.Feel yourself travel through time as you make the magical journey by our complimentary Car Ferry to the 310 acre Island Resort.With an amazing history stretching back to the 6th century, wake up in Waterford Castle Hotel Ireland after a peaceful night’s sleep to the picturesque and enchanting scenes and sounds the island has to offer. Enjoy gourmet food served in our award winning Munster room restaurant and Fitzgerald Bar or simply relax by the large open fire in 16th Century surroundings.For family, group or self catering in Waterford our Island Garden Lodges are the perfect place to experience the South East.Island Activities include our 18 hole Championship Golf Course, our fantastic tennis courts, clay Pigeon Shooting or croquet on the Castle lawns.Waterford Castle also provides a stunning Irish castle wedding venue for an unforgettable Wedding Day. Imagine… A legendary Castle, on an Island Haven; exclusively yours. All in all Waterford Castle Hotel and golf resort provides a luxury destination to escape from life itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing