We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Nearby Hotels
Waterford Marina Hotel(Waterford)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fitzwilton Hotel(Waterford)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$126
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$123
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Granville Hotel(Waterford)
US$150
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rhu Glenn Hotel(Slieverue)
US$78
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Portree House(Waterford)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,378)
Filter reviews
1,378 results
Traveller rating
898
293
107
54
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
898
293
107
54
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmunster roompresidential suiteprivate islandcar ferrygolf clubdriving rangeself catering lodgesclaw foot tubfairy taleround of golfsitting roomfamily weddingold worldfrom start to finishsconesfollowing morningtop class
Filter
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 1,378 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

We are local to Waterford and come to Waterford Castle for walks around the grounds often. I haven't stayed at the hotel but have only gotten tea and scones at the bar. The room is gorgeous and it feels like a real treat having tea somewhere so nice. The lobby is magnificent - especially the huge fireplace. Even the toilets are lovely! The service has been excellent every visit. This is a proper castle hotel with rich history. I highly recommend a visit.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Abbygale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

A group of my work colleagues and I visited the castle for afternoon tea. The weather was typically Irish, lashing but it actually added to the magic. The ferry passage to the island added to the experience of entering an alternative universe! Entering the lobby the senses were tingling with the smell of slow burning turf on the fire. We were seated in the conservatory which had a glass domed ceiling. The sound of the rain hitting the glass added to the atmosphere and comfort.
A shout of pew soul with lemon oil tickled the tastebuds. A selection on teas were proffered as well as the trusted coffee selection for the non conformists.
The quality of the food was exceptional and it was an experience from beginning to end. The staff were warm and friendly keeping the teapots on point. Even the lavatory was delightful.
The castle maintains its charm and transports a person back in time.
I was just gutted that I was not staying the night as I imagine it would have been amazing.... maybe next time

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank DEIRDRE928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Dear Deirdre,

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely comments.
Waterford Castle is a truly wonderful and magical place that rarely disappoints.
Afternoon Tea at The Castle is a real treat.
Paula our Pastry Chef and all the team take great delight in creating and presenting both visually beautiful and great tasting treats.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the whole experience from beginning to end. Yes staying at The Castle is an amazing experience and should you choose to, it would be our pleasure to look after and pamper you while here.

Kind regards
Helen Courtney


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

We attended a family wedding at the Hotel and it was simply sensational. We stayed in the chalet type accommodation on the site, which was a high standard 3 bedroom house a few minutes walk from the main hotel. The surroundings were beautiful and staff very accommodating and helpful. Every detail was planned and attended to. We had a small issue with the bedding on the put me up bed which a simple call to the reception saw fixed within minutes. The facilities in the accommodation were of a high standard with all appliances very capable of making the stay a perfect home from home.

As it was a family wedding 90% of guests were friends or relatives, however the staff made sure other gusts were dealt with and their needs met in a friendly and welcome way!

The one drawback was that the drainage was a little backed u and that meant occasionally at the main hotel there was a bit of a smell.

Highly recommended fora family break!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Kendros154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Dear Kendros,

Thank you taking the time to post your review.
Weddings here at Waterford Castle are always special and magical. To accommodate all family and friends our Garden Lodges are ideal. They are a home away from home with every convenience.

I have asked our maintenance team to address and resolve the issue you mention with drainage.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your lovely comments. I hope you have taken many happy memories of the wedding you attended here on The Resort home with you.
We look forward to seeing you again at Waterford Castle in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Helen Courtney


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Stayed here a few times in the lodges. They are comfortable and modern and have all mod cons. Although the ferry only takes 5 minutes it is like going to a different planet as the island is so relaxing. I rate this place as one of Ireland's great hidden secrets. Loads to do for kids and relaxing for adults.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank 563nickt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review.
Our Island Resort situated on The Suir down River from Waterford City Centre is a haven.
The short ferry journey over prepares you for the calmness and tranquility of Resort life.

I am delighted to read that all the family enjoyed staying at The Garden Lodges.
From Tennis to Golf, Clay shooting to falconry and stunning Island Walks, where you are likely to see an abundance of Flora and fauna, there is something to suit all the family .

Thank you again for your lovely comments. We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Kind regards
Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Had a great time at the wedding. The hotel was a wonderful place to stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful . The food was excellent and the room was excellent. I have no hesitation in recommending Waterford Castle Hotel to any traveller looking for a wonderful experience

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have nice views.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank duffyhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Dear Henry,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

It is lovely to read that you had a wonderful experience here at Waterford Castle. Waterford Castle is a magical wedding venue. A place where lasting memories are made for our brides and grooms, their families and friends.
When we are not hosting weddings The Castle is a place to stay that is second to none. We encourage our visitors to leave all their worries on the shore and embrace the Island pace of life.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews