We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Welcome Return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2017

This was a welcome return to Waterford Castle. We really enjoyed the weekend, starting with the Ferry over to The Island. The rooms have been redecorated since our last visit and yet still retain the 'Castle' atmosphere. Gorgeous Waterford Crystal chandeliers were brought in last year and they really add to the decor. Food is amazing - lovely breakfasts and really nice 'fine dining'. Food in the lounge looked a nice option too.

Room Tip: For families with young children I suggest taking a lodge house and avail of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dublindays2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your lovely comments.
I was delighted to read that as a return visitor to The Resort you could see the great work that is continuing at The Castle and on The Resort.

The Castle will always retain its old world charm and magical athmosphere coupled with award winning food in The Munster Room Restaurant we hope both will continue to delight all our guests long into the future.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 149 of 1,336 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

We are local to Waterford and come to Waterford Castle for walks around the grounds often. I haven't stayed at the hotel but have only gotten tea and scones at the bar. The room is gorgeous and it feels like a real treat having tea somewhere so nice. The lobby is magnificent - especially the huge fireplace. Even the toilets are lovely! The service has been excellent every visit. This is a proper castle hotel with rich history. I highly recommend a visit.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Abbygale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

A group of my work colleagues and I visited the castle for afternoon tea. The weather was typically Irish, lashing but it actually added to the magic. The ferry passage to the island added to the experience of entering an alternative universe! Entering the lobby the senses were tingling with the smell of slow burning turf on the fire. We were seated in the conservatory which had a glass domed ceiling. The sound of the rain hitting the glass added to the atmosphere and comfort.
A shout of pew soul with lemon oil tickled the tastebuds. A selection on teas were proffered as well as the trusted coffee selection for the non conformists.
The quality of the food was exceptional and it was an experience from beginning to end. The staff were warm and friendly keeping the teapots on point. Even the lavatory was delightful.
The castle maintains its charm and transports a person back in time.
I was just gutted that I was not staying the night as I imagine it would have been amazing.... maybe next time

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank DEIRDRE928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Dear Deirdre,

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely comments.
Waterford Castle is a truly wonderful and magical place that rarely disappoints.
Afternoon Tea at The Castle is a real treat.
Paula our Pastry Chef and all the team take great delight in creating and presenting both visually beautiful and great tasting treats.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the whole experience from beginning to end. Yes staying at The Castle is an amazing experience and should you choose to, it would be our pleasure to look after and pamper you while here.

Kind regards
Helen Courtney


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

We attended a family wedding at the Hotel and it was simply sensational. We stayed in the chalet type accommodation on the site, which was a high standard 3 bedroom house a few minutes walk from the main hotel. The surroundings were beautiful and staff very accommodating and helpful. Every detail was planned and attended to. We had a small issue with the bedding on the put me up bed which a simple call to the reception saw fixed within minutes. The facilities in the accommodation were of a high standard with all appliances very capable of making the stay a perfect home from home.

As it was a family wedding 90% of guests were friends or relatives, however the staff made sure other gusts were dealt with and their needs met in a friendly and welcome way!

The one drawback was that the drainage was a little backed u and that meant occasionally at the main hotel there was a bit of a smell.

Highly recommended fora family break!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Kendros154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Dear Kendros,

Thank you taking the time to post your review.
Weddings here at Waterford Castle are always special and magical. To accommodate all family and friends our Garden Lodges are ideal. They are a home away from home with every convenience.

I have asked our maintenance team to address and resolve the issue you mention with drainage.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your lovely comments. I hope you have taken many happy memories of the wedding you attended here on The Resort home with you.
We look forward to seeing you again at Waterford Castle in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Helen Courtney


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Stayed here a few times in the lodges. They are comfortable and modern and have all mod cons. Although the ferry only takes 5 minutes it is like going to a different planet as the island is so relaxing. I rate this place as one of Ireland's great hidden secrets. Loads to do for kids and relaxing for adults.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank 563nickt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review.
Our Island Resort situated on The Suir down River from Waterford City Centre is a haven.
The short ferry journey over prepares you for the calmness and tranquility of Resort life.

I am delighted to read that all the family enjoyed staying at The Garden Lodges.
From Tennis to Golf, Clay shooting to falconry and stunning Island Walks, where you are likely to see an abundance of Flora and fauna, there is something to suit all the family .

Thank you again for your lovely comments. We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Kind regards
Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterford
3.7 km away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,389 reviews
3 km away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,226 reviews
2.4 km away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,219 reviews
3.2 km away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,218 reviews
4.3 km away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort

Address: The Island | Ballinakill, Waterford X91 Y722, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Family Hotel in Waterford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#7 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: €120 - €405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on its own private Island on the River Suir, Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort offers 4 Star Luxury Castle Accommodation nestled in the suburbs of Waterford City.Feel yourself travel through time as you make the magical journey by our complimentary Car Ferry to the 310 acre Island Resort.With an amazing history stretching back to the 6th century, wake up in Waterford Castle Hotel Ireland after a peaceful night’s sleep to the picturesque and enchanting scenes and sounds the island has to offer. Enjoy gourmet food served in our award winning Munster room restaurant and Fitzgerald Bar or simply relax by the large open fire in 16th Century surroundings.For family, group or self catering in Waterford our Island Garden Lodges are the perfect place to experience the South East.Island Activities include our 18 hole Championship Golf Course, our fantastic tennis courts, clay Pigeon Shooting or croquet on the Castle lawns.Waterford Castle also provides a stunning Irish castle wedding venue for an unforgettable Wedding Day. Imagine… A legendary Castle, on an Island Haven; exclusively yours. All in all Waterford Castle Hotel and golf resort provides a luxury destination to escape from life itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing