We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Granville Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fitzwilton Hotel(Waterford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlands Hotel(Waterford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,497)
Filter reviews
1,497 results
Traveller rating
923
393
116
40
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
923
393
116
40
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsporridgeirish whiskeyhistoric hotelold world charmold stylethe rivercie tourwonderful hotelthe hotel managerthe pubwaterford crystalbreakfast was excellentviking trianglefull irish breakfastcar parkbar foodhotel bar
Filter
Updating list...
1,276 - 1,281 of 1,497 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This hotel was clean and comfortable for the one night we were there. There was also a tour bus full of travelers there as well and I think the Granville Hotel caters more to these types of groups. Our room faced the back of the hotel and with the windows open, there was quite a bit of noise from the kitchen. We had requested a king size bed when we reserved our room 4 months previous, and upon check in we were told that they had very few of those and they were unavailable. Our room had 1 double and 2 twins. The staff was friendly but not overly helpful. The bar was busy and it took a bit to get some service but it was a pleasant meal with good food. All in all I would have to say that it was a simply average hotel

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Marikay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. Glad you thought The Granville Hotel was clean and comfortable which is what we try hard to achieve. Had we got the room request right, perhaps you would have gone away feeling that we where more than a average place. I apologies for this. Four months out should have been enough time to fulfil your request or the least we should have done was made you aware in time that we had no king size available. Should you get to stay with us in the further I am sure we will be able to facilitate your request. Many Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

As a seasoned business traveller I have stayed in many hotels, but when I'm in Waterford I always stay at the Granville, the hotel is clean and comfortable and the staff helpful and friendly. The rooms are very comfortable and offer everything you actually need when away from home, a desk, a seating area, coffee and tea making facilities and complementary bottled water. These basic necessities make all the difference. The bar is friendly and the service first class, the bar meals are great if you want a casual meal and the main restaurant offers fantastic choice if you want a special evening. Situated on the quay, and right in the centre of the town it is perfectly positioned, I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to spend some time in Waterford.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank angNpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We value your custom and very much appreciate the recommendation you give The Granville Hotel. Hopefully it will help others to choose The Granville Hotel when next they are in Waterford.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

On a Globus coach tour in Ireland and arrived at this hotel. Manager boarded the bus and welcomed all of us, a really nice touch. The hotel layout is brilliant. The bar decor is charming and a great place for visiting and enjoying a drink. The rooms offer a really nice comfortable bed although small, very clean. I loved staying here. The family style dining room was perfect, meals were top notch and their efficient staff are very accommodating. I had an excellent experience here. After the coach tour ended this was by far my favourite hotel. The manager also came aboard the bus to thank us all at the end of our stay. Excellent customer service. I Highly Recommend this property.

Room Tip: All the rooms are Great.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2012

Many thanks for your very kind comments. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Granville Hotel. I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review. Perhaps one day you will visit The Granville Hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed here one night in June 2012 with a group of 6 people. The hotel is older, but the downstairs public areas are very nice, spacious and comfortable. It is true the rooms are small and there was no air conditioning in the rooms. We did sleep very well though. What we really liked about the hotel were the people working there. They went out of their way to make us comfortable and feel at home. We arrived late and could find no where to eat in town. The bar at the hotel accommodated us for dinner even though it was close to closing time for the kitchen. The breakfast buffet the next morning was wonderful - the best of anywhere we stayed in Ireland. And to our surprise they had reserved a table for our group in the front window. Overall the place has lots of character, so I am very glad we stayed here.

Room Tip: The rooms in the front of the hotel face the street (and river) and when the window is opened there is noise. Maybe request a quiet room in the back of the hotel? If the room is warm, request a fan.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. It is lovely for all the staff to read this review as it reaffirms how important it is to make people feel comfortable and at home and it is only they/we can do that. Also all you’re other comments about the food and breakfast are very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We were on a Globus tour of Ireland and this was our favorite hotel. Wish we could have stayed more than one night. The Granville had the quaint feel of a Victorian hotel in the lobby and public areas, but all modern comforts in the bedrooms. The bar is a cozy, wood paneled room. Our group had dinner in the restaurant and it was served family style which enabled everyone to take only what they wanted and felt more like dining in a friend's home.
The manager even came on our bus right before we left and thanked us for staying at the Granville and wished us a wonderful remainder of our trip. No other hotel did that! What a class above.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGold89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Your comments are really appreciated and I would like to thank for taking the time to write your review. Your custom is very important to the Granville Hotel and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The least we can do is to thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews