We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful as advertised”

King of the Vikings VR
Ranked #1 of 34 things to do in Waterford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: King of the Vikings The Worlds First Viking Virtual Reality 3D adventure, bringing you up close and personal with the Viking warlords who founded Waterford Ireland's oldest city! Housed in a replica Viking house within the atmospheric ruins of a medieval monastery in the heart of the Viking city. Next to Reginald's Tower where the Treasures of Viking Waterford and a fullsize Viking longs
Useful Information: Baby buggy parking, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

I'm sure other attractions will adopt vr presentations in tge future. This was very interesting and we'll done. We were lucky late on a Sunday and walked right in.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank 2005-travel-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford_Treasures, Public Relations Manager at King of the Vikings VR, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Good morning 2005-travel-lover,

Many thanks for your feedback on King of the Vikings, the world's first virtual reality Viking adventure! I am delighted that you were blown away by the experience. We do recommend that you return for a second viewing, as there is simply so much you miss the first time! We agree that other organisations will adopt this approach in future and we look forward to it. The goal is to educate in and exciting way and I think it is working!

We hope to see you again,

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"virtual reality"
in 42 reviews
"viking house"
in 14 reviews
"immersive experience"
in 5 reviews
"to avoid disappointment"
in 4 reviews
"viking world"
in 4 reviews
"recommend booking in advance"
in 2 reviews
"exceptional value"
in 2 reviews
"friendly and informative staff"
in 2 reviews
"super fun"
in 2 reviews
"mind blown"
in 2 reviews
"head set"
in 2 reviews
"oculus rift"
in 2 reviews
"history lesson"
in 7 reviews
"visitors and locals"
in 2 reviews
"totally blown away"
in 2 reviews
"roller coaster"
in 2 reviews
"all ages"
in 9 reviews
Filter

34 - 38 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Completely blown away by this... absolutely brilliant presentation of history of waterford VR style.
It brings history to life.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Wozdemir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford_Treasures, Public Relations Manager at King of the Vikings VR, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Good morning Wozdemir,

Many thanks for your feedback on King of the Vikings, the world's first virtual reality Viking adventure! I am delighted that you were blown away by the experience. We do recommend that you return for a second viewing, as there is simply so much you miss the first time!

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

We tried this thinking it might be a waste of time but it wasn’t. It was really well done and very cool. As a history guy I will also say that it is true to the facts.

A very good option for all ages.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank bobthetravellr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford_Treasures, Public Relations Manager at King of the Vikings VR, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Good morning bobthetravellr,

Many thanks for your feedback on King of the Vikings, the world's first virtual reality Viking adventure! I am delighted that you enjoyed the VR and that you were happy with it being entirely faithful to the facts!

We look forward to welcoming you again,

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

Such a good way to experience history. I wasn't sure what would be involved But it was good. Loved the rats! We were fortunate to get on the first tour. The only thing I would suggest is that pre-season booking could be made easier.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank dnulc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford_Treasures, Public Relations Manager at King of the Vikings VR, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Good afternoon dnulc,

Many thanks for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the experience so much! You are absolutely right that the best option is to book in advance, especially in high season, we are very much in demand!

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2018

I wasn’t sure just what this virtual reality tour was going to be like and it turned out great. I would have been sorry tto have been in Waterford and missed this.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank ChiefEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford_Treasures, Public Relations Manager at King of the Vikings VR, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Good afternoon ChiefEd,

Many thanks for your feedback on King of the Vikings, the world's very first Viking virtual reality adventure!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and rated us so highly!

We look forward to welcoming you back in future as there is so much you miss on the first go,

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed King of the Vikings VR also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to King of the Vikings VR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing