We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRILLIANT ”

King of the Vikings VR
Ranked #1 of 34 things to do in Waterford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: King of the Vikings The Worlds First Viking Virtual Reality 3D adventure, bringing you up close and personal with the Viking warlords who founded Waterford Ireland's oldest city! Housed in a replica Viking house within the atmospheric ruins of a medieval monastery in the heart of the Viking city. Next to Reginald's Tower where the Treasures of Viking Waterford and a fullsize Viking longs
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Baby buggy parking
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Completely blown away by this... absolutely brilliant presentation of history of waterford VR style.
It brings history to life.

Thank Wozdemir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford_Treasures, Public Relations Manager at King of the Vikings VR, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good morning Wozdemir,

Many thanks for your feedback on King of the Vikings, the world's first virtual reality Viking adventure! I am delighted that you were blown away by the experience. We do recommend that you return for a second viewing, as there is simply so much you miss the first time!

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"virtual reality"
in 24 reviews
"viking house"
in 9 reviews
"to avoid disappointment"
in 4 reviews
"immersive experience"
in 4 reviews
"viking world"
in 3 reviews
"friendly and informative staff"
in 2 reviews
"totally blown away"
in 2 reviews
"kids aged"
in 3 reviews
"all ages"
in 6 reviews
"roller coaster"
in 2 reviews
"history lesson"
in 3 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 2 reviews
"great fun"
in 3 reviews
"tour takes"
in 2 reviews
"visiting waterford"
in 3 reviews
"rainy day"
in 2 reviews
"reginald's tower"
in 2 reviews
Filter

20 - 24 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We tried this thinking it might be a waste of time but it wasn’t. It was really well done and very cool. As a history guy I will also say that it is true to the facts.

A very good option for all ages.

Thank bobthetravellr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford_Treasures, Public Relations Manager at King of the Vikings VR, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good morning bobthetravellr,

Many thanks for your feedback on King of the Vikings, the world's first virtual reality Viking adventure! I am delighted that you enjoyed the VR and that you were happy with it being entirely faithful to the facts!

We look forward to welcoming you again,

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

Such a good way to experience history. I wasn't sure what would be involved But it was good. Loved the rats! We were fortunate to get on the first tour. The only thing I would suggest is that pre-season booking could be made easier.

Thank dnulc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford_Treasures, Public Relations Manager at King of the Vikings VR, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Good afternoon dnulc,

Many thanks for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the experience so much! You are absolutely right that the best option is to book in advance, especially in high season, we are very much in demand!

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

I wasn’t sure just what this virtual reality tour was going to be like and it turned out great. I would have been sorry tto have been in Waterford and missed this.

1  Thank ChiefEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford_Treasures, Public Relations Manager at King of the Vikings VR, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Good afternoon ChiefEd,

Many thanks for your feedback on King of the Vikings, the world's very first Viking virtual reality adventure!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and rated us so highly!

We look forward to welcoming you back in future as there is so much you miss on the first go,

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2018

This is a fantastic experience that gives you an incredibly realistic idea of what it was like in the time of the Vikings at the start of Waterford and surrounding areas.
The experience starts with being met by a realistically dressed Viking and taken into a thatched hut with dirt floor trying to recreate a Viking hut. This was a good start - they could have taken you into a black room but tried to make it more authentic.
After donning the visual reality goggles you were transported into an incredibly realistic journey examining the coming of the Vikings, establishment of the settlement and other interesting information. The VR was awesome, making you feel you were in the middle of the action, even if it is at times quite disconcerting as you are in the water and being confronted by the Vikings.
This is not to be missed if you are in Waterford.

1  Thank Bartlettforpresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford_Treasures, Public Relations Manager at King of the Vikings VR, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Good afternoon Bartlettforpresident,

Many thanks for your review of King of the Vikings. So glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit to us! We recommend returning for a second viewing as there is so much that you miss the first time.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed King of the Vikings VR also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to King of the Vikings VR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing