We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History revisited and well explained tours.”

King of the Vikings VR
Ranked #1 of 67 things to do in Waterford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: King of the Vikings The Worlds First Viking Virtual Reality 3D adventure, bringing you up close and personal with the Viking warlords who founded Waterford Ireland's oldest city! Housed in a replica Viking house within the atmospheric ruins of a medieval monastery in the heart of the Viking city. Next to Reginald's Tower where the Treasures of Viking Waterford and a fullsize Viking longs
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Baby buggy parking
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Well conducted tour of museum and seeing old walls and vaults.
Brialliant experience at King of The Viking virtual reality tour.Really believed that one was indeed present in Viking times.Not to be missed and needs prebooking

Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford_Treasures, Public Relations Manager at King of the Vikings VR, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Good afternoon Patrick

Thank you for coming to visit us Patrick, we really appreciate it. The team at the King of the Vikings will really appreciate your very kind words and positive feedback for your fellow travellers!

We do hope you get to visit us again in the future.

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"virtual reality"
in 24 reviews
"viking house"
in 9 reviews
"to avoid disappointment"
in 4 reviews
"immersive experience"
in 4 reviews
"viking world"
in 3 reviews
"friendly and informative staff"
in 2 reviews
"totally blown away"
in 2 reviews
"kids aged"
in 3 reviews
"roller coaster"
in 2 reviews
"history lesson"
in 3 reviews
"all ages"
in 5 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 2 reviews
"great fun"
in 3 reviews
"tour takes"
in 2 reviews
"visiting waterford"
in 3 reviews
"rainy day"
in 2 reviews
"reginald's tower"
in 2 reviews
Filter

104 - 108 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017

I have visited King of the Vikings on two occasions; once with work colleagues and also with my young son aged 9. Both visits were fabulous, entertaining and I also managed to learn a little about Waterford's history too!!

Thank chartley2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford_Treasures, Public Relations Manager at King of the Vikings VR, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Good afternoon chartley2017

WOW, twice already, do come a third time, you'll learn even more with each visit about the Vikings and how they invaded Ireland and set up in Ireland's oldest city, ‘Veðrafjǫrðr’ (Waterford).

Thank you for such a wonderful review, the team and I really appreciate you taking the time, not just to visit twice, but for taking the time to give us this wonderful feedback.

We do hope we get to see you again, go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Great for our family, which homeschool. Enjoyed the whole triangle. 12 year old daughter enjoyed it.

Thank JoDee8292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford_Treasures, Public Relations Manager at King of the Vikings VR, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Good afternoon JoDee8292

I'm delighted that you and your daughter had an enjoyable visit to the King of the Vikings, the world's first Viking 3D Virtual Reality adventure. I hope she learn't a lot form the adventure.

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Small groups are introduced to the Viking life and ways in a small, reconstructed Viking home. The person enacting our Viking event was superb (a far better experience than the Dunbrody Famine Ship in Wexford). The ticket staff were equally friendly and approachable (far more so than you would get in, say, London) The 3d experience was amazing, the first with a head set i have experienced, but be warned if any in your party are nervous they may find it too disorientating. Having said that, the ten year old in my party had been three times and was bowled over by it. educational and enjoyable

Thank Ang189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford_Treasures, Public Relations Manager at King of the Vikings VR, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Good morning Ang189

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your visit to the King of the Vikings, the world's first Viking 3D Virtual Reality Adventure. I'm delighted that you enjoyed the experience and hopefully, you'll come back again and enjoy it even more, a second time around.

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2017

The event takes around 30-45 minutes and is very interesting dealing about the debates and fights between the Irish people and the vikings. The VR glasses are of medium to high quality and the synchronisation with the real environment is done very well. The guide tells a short story beforehand and afterwards, in between the main content is told. I had small problems with condensed water inside my glasses, but I think this was caused by the sprint we had to take as a fact of a lack of time. Because of the "short" time of 30-45 minutes the event is suitable for bridging time or as a last event before leaving Waterford.
The price of 7 Euro for each adult is okay considering the production of the VR movie and the small viking town you are sitting in.

Thank Hemmington1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford_Treasures, Public Relations Manager at King of the Vikings VR, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Good afternoon Hemmington1991

Many thanks for your comments and we really appreciate you coming to visit us!

The King of the Vikings - the world's first Viking 3D Virtual Reality adventure uses the very best in VR technology, the Oculus Rift VR goggles which really enhances the experience of what it was like back in the days of the Vikings!

We do hope you get another opportunity to come and visit us.

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed King of the Vikings VR also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to King of the Vikings VR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing