We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (845)
Filter reviews
845 results
Traveller rating
338
209
146
73
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
338
209
146
73
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club crazy golf family suite impressive building swimming pool family break hen party bar staff food was lovely lovely hotel friday night a lovely stay staff were lovely top class bar area hot food great selection
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 845 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Construction of this impressive building St Columba’s Hospital began in 1847 and in 1855 it opened it’ doors to the mentally infirm and some years later a new treatment method was introduced. Quite a history. A hotel now since 2004 it retains it’s historical aspects.
Opening the door to our room we first entered a lobby with the bathroom to the left. Through another door and into another small room housing the wardrobe, another door opened into a large bedroom. Comfortable beds, decent chars.
Breakfast served in the main restaurant and a tip - go early. It’s a very popular hotel, families, tour groups etc
Try the Bulbens Bar for a drink and a meal. Friendly staff, good and generously sized food servings.
The hotel has a large well equipped gym and a pool which is very popular and thus busy especially families with children.
The hotel ratings are unable to be utilised at this time - overall good

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank MaccSLDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaytonSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear MacSLDM,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We have some literature available at the front desk with regards the history of this beautiful historically listed building we get to work in. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

N McLeish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Stayed here for 2 nights and throughly enjoyed it. Breakfast was very good, as was complimentary tea and scones. Evening meal also very good. Room very clean, and well stocked with tea/coffee. The hotel is ideally situated to walk to Sligo which is a lovely pretty town, that had everything. Almost opposite the hotel there is The Famine cemetery. The entrance to it is an iron gate situated on a small car park, just passed a school.
Thanks to all the staff, they are doing a great job.

Date of stay: September 2018
1  Thank 465RobertH465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaytonSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear Robert H,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

N McLeish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

What could be nicer on a Saturday evening after a long and busy day. My husband went to the bar to get drinks, I asked for a glass of prosseco but he came back to let me know they don't serve it by the glass so I enquired about the wine list. When he went back to the bar another member of staff advise they did serve by the glass at 13 Euros so he came back to check if I wanted one, yes please even though it was pricey. Much to my disappointment on the first sip it was flat so I returned it and was asked to take a seat and would get a fresh glass. A member of staff arrived, well I really should have stopped her when she unscrewed the cap! But this is the resultant drink, so glad I didn't ask for a bottle!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaytonSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear Tracey M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve.

We apologise for the mix up in the bar with regards your prosecco, the 13 euro you were quoted was for the quarter bottle of prosecco which we no longer sell. We do not in fact serve this by the glass but just by the bottle. We do have a sparkling wine which we sell by the glass and this should have been offered to you as an alternative.

I apologise for the way this appears to have been handled and also for the glass of flat prosecco you received. I do however hope everything else on your trip was pleasant and we would like to see you return in future for a more enjoyable stay and better memories of the entire hotel.

Regards,

N McLeish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

Had training in this hotel for two days. Was not impressed what so ever. Had tea and scones for breakfast ,scones were hard and broke with u added butter. Lunch in the bar was poor. I had chicken curry and chicken tasted as it was frozen. Staff did not seem to bother and service was poor. The hotel itself is in a lovely setting and exterior of building is fab. Decor inside is nice but needs attention (some couches ripped). For a 4 star hotel they should be well capable of having good food !!!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 2014CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaytonSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear 2014CC,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,

N McLeish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

Went here with our Trafalgar Tour Best of Ireland, Trafalgar chose it. Very satisfied with this hotel. Diversity of room options very intriguing. This Clayton and the one in Swords were the two best hotels we stayed in during our trip of 12 days and 9 hotels. As is the case of many hotels in Ireland, there was no mini-fridge, no alarm clock, and a few very minor other perks, nothing important but things that could be improved.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Culture802433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaytonSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear Culture802433,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

N McLeish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews