We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Reviewed 10 December 2017

We checked into the Clayton Hotel, having read some mixed reviews on the internet. The building is fascinating, having once been a mental institution a century ago. The building was incredibly interesting, and seemed surrounded by its history. It was somewhat offseason, but all facilities were open - pool, therapy rooms, etc. The staff was lovely and extremely helpful. We had booked a twin room - it was of a decent size, with all amenities - coffee/tea, refrigerator, safe, flat screen TV, wifi, etc. While the weather was bitterly cold outside, our room - and the hotel itself - was warm and comforting. We got an exceptionally good deal for a twin room, dinner for two and breakfast for two, as well. I’m glad that I did not listen to any of the negative reviews that I may have read, nor can I understand how a negative review could be written about this hotel. Frankly, if I was staying in Sligo again, I cannot think of any other place where I would like to stay.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaytonSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jane,

Thank you so much for such a kind review following your recent stay here with us in Sligo. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

N McLeish
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

The clayton is very welcoming & friendly especially when you arrive on a cold winters evening. Myself & my husband stayed for a night on a b& b/ dinner package booked through supervalu breaks. However the pricing strategy didnt add up!! I spoke to noel the guest relations manager who was most helpful regarding my query. I would go back again but perhaps on a b& b rate only. The bed was the most comfortable bed iv ever slept in & the decor in the bedrooms is top class. Breakfast buffet had plenty of choices.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank IrelandColette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaytonSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Dear Colette,

Thank you so much for such a kind review following your recent stay here with us in Sligo. I hope I was able to help with your query. It was a pleasure to meet you both. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

N McLeish
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

I stayed here for business in the summer. First impression when the cab pulled up was it looked like an old hospital, or municipal building. Finding my room only confirmed that. Very long corridors that had an institutional feel! Room was very average and a drab decor.

I grabbed some dinner from the restaurant which was pretty uninspiring and the staff were generally young and inexperienced. Had a bad experience on check-out as my room was pre-paid on account and they claimed to have no knowledge of this until I kicked up a fuss. Certainly wouldn't rush back if I'm in Sligo again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Haydnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaytonSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear Haydnw,

Thank you for taking the time to review the property following your recent stay here. We have never hid the fact that this beautiful old stone building was indeed a hospital and in fact we have a facts sheet available at reception with a brief history. We may have some young staff working in the restaurant but they have plenty of experience behind them at this point. I do apologize for the mix up at reception but I am glad it was rectified prior to your departure.

Regards,

N McLeish
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night recently before a work meeting. The room was a very good size. The room was very clean although the decor seemed a little dated. The bathroom was in need of a little upgrade but was very adequate. Bar food was good and the staff in the bar were friendly. Breakfast was also good with a wide variety to choose from.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaytonSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Dear Ian,

Thank you so much for such a kind review following your recent stay here with us in Sligo. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

N McLeish
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

Visited the Clarion with two friends for lunch. We had the fish platter and the fish and chips. Overall the food was poor especially the prawns which were wet, soggy and tasteless. As I recommended the location, I was very embarrassed by the experience.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaytonSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Dear James,

I was on duty on the day in question, you ate in Bulbens bar in a small group. You fail to mention that we offered to replace the one meal which was deemed to be tasteless which your group declined. We would never fail to replace food which was found to be improper or lacking in taste.
You also fail to mention that the whole group refused to pay for the entire meal. which included soup for starters.
That being said, I do apologize for the experience and we would hope to see you return in future and not be judged on one prawn from a fish platter. We offer so much more than this and we would love the opportunity to change your mind in future.

Regards,

N McLeish
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
3.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
3.1 km away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,149 reviews
1.4 km away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
503 reviews
1.8 km away
Sligo Southern Hotel
1.4 km away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sligo
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Sligo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Sligo

Address: Clarion Hotel Clarion Road, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Sligo)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range: €64 - €138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Sligo 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Sligo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Sligo
Clarion Sligo
Sligo Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing