We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! ”

Captain House Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 50 Restaurants in Tullamore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$40
Cuisines: International
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 7 February 2021 via mobile

Ordered from the takeaway menu as its closed for dine in... if this is the standard of food for takeaway i would LOVE to have the sit down meal. Cant wait for this to open up to dine in as we will definitely be going back. Fabulous food & large portions! Highly recommend. Best restaurant in Tullamore!

Date of visit: February 2021
1  Thank Blue_Diamond21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2020 via mobile

Top Notch Restaurant , quality food, relaxed atmosphere, staff engaged and provide an excellent service, well done Arif and rest of team, look forward to many more nights out there

Date of visit: December 2020
1  Thank heritageEricG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2020

The restaurant has a nice, relaxed atmosphere, efficient and friendly staff and wonderful food. Lots of choice on the menu, we weren’t waiting very long and good value for money, I’d happily recommend it!

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 965owens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2020 via mobile

I had Sesame Cruster Tuna from the specials board starter... what a starter... Top class....
I had Beef & Chicken Fajitas and my gorgeous date had fresh baked Salmon from specials board, both were first rate....

I will be back very very soon...

Thankyou

Date of visit: February 2020
1  Thank D6438OYianp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2020

We ordered two fillet steak which cost 30.95 each. When we got them they were very dry with no flavour. We we’re looking forward to them but could not eat them. We complaining to management but got no satisfaction. We know our steaks & what we we’re severed was not up to standard for the price they were charging. They charged the full price without any apology.

Date of visit: February 2020
1  Thank Liam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainhouse111, Owner at Captain House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2020

Dear Reviewer,
We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your recent experience with us in the Captain House. We ensured to check your table throughout the main course, where there was no reported problem at the time. Your steaks were cooked to your request; medium-well, where they do tend to become less juicy due to a longer cook time. Your problem was reported at the end of your meal when there was little left on the plate to inspect. However, we did present what was left to our head chef and he was satisfied with the the cook and cut of what remained.
Therefore due to the timing of your complaint nothing could be done about the steaks, but we ensured to compensate with your choice in coffees.
We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience with us.
We were aware that you were shocked by our prices at the beginning of your visit. Although you did not enjoy your meal and it wasn't to your taste, we have fresh produce of a very high standard. Many other customers had the fillet steak the same night and throughly enjoyed. Due to this we are not in a position to give away free meals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain House Restaurant also viewed

Tullamore, County Offaly
 
Tullamore, County Offaly
 

Been to Captain House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.