We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,632)
Filter reviews
1,632 results
Traveller rating
1,073
327
125
63
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,073
327
125
63
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubgames roomthermal suitefamily hotelflip flopshen partyfantastic hotelbar foodrelaxation roomoutdoor hot tubsecond to nonefirst classwould highly recommend this hotelfrom start to finishfamily breakmonaghan townfour poster bed
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 1,632 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Everything about our stay was perfect from check in to check out. Staff are outstanding, so friendly helpful & efficient. The hotel was completely full during our stay, but nothing was too much trouble to the staff. The room was lovely bright & airy & clean. Food in the bar was lovely, food in the restaurant was lovely. Could not fault anything. Will definately return.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlannahMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillgroveHotel, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear AlannahMayo
Thank you so much for choosing the Hillgrove Hotel for your recent stay. We really appreciate your lovely feedback regarding your experience from check in to check out. Looking forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Sharon McMahon
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

This hotel is great. The family room we stayed in was big with a lovely bay window, bathroom was very clean and roomy and had really nice toiletries. My son is 8 and loved the kids club, he went to it in the morning and evening and they also have an option where they bring them to dinner. When we stayed after the kids club there was a karaoke and it was great fun. The staff are very pleasant and the pool area is very nice and the breakfast was really good and so was the food in the bar. We stayed here in Halloween 2016, Summer 2017 and we are going back again this Halloween break and we travel from Kilkenny.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C2vis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillgroveHotel, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear C2vis
Thank you so much for choosing the Hillgrove Hotel for your recent stay. We really appreciate your lovely feedback regarding the kids club, meals and family entertainment. See you next week :)
Sharon McMahon
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

My sister and I stayed for two nights in the hillgrove in August. Firstly we had to ask to change rooms on arrival as we requested a twin room, but we were allocated a double room. When we went to reception to request a twin room, It took a while for the staff on reception to allocate a new room for us. Our new room was very unsatisfactory. Firstly the windows looked out on to a wall and secondly the room was very warm and we were unable to open the windows due to the noise of an extractor fan from the kitchen, which was located just outside the window. The fan was very noisy, as such it could still be heard when the windows were also closed. This fan is supposed to be turned off each night at 9.30-10.00pm when the kitchen closes, however on both nights we had to ring reception to ask for it to be turned off. Having already asked to change rooms we did not feel it was apppropiate to ask for another change of room. It is my belief that this room should not be allocated to guests, due to the noise from the fan and the high temparature of the room. Myself and my sister did email the hotel about this complaint after our stay and we only recieved a reply today.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillgroveHotel, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Caroline F
Firstly I want to thank you for choosing the 4 Star Hillgrove Hotel Leisure & Spa. I have read through your comments and would just like to acknowledge that we take on board all customer feedback as without this we cannot strive to improve.

I am really sorry that you were allocated a double room rather than a twin room on arrival.

I also apologise that your stay was disturbed by the Kitchen fan. The fan does generally off @ between 9.30-10pm as food is served in the bistro bar until this time so I am sorry that you had to call reception to have it turned off. The room you stayed in offers air conditioning and we would have been more than happy to show you how to use this, if requested.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we do hope that you will return to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Sharon McMahon
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Had a great stay here at the weekend with a lovely evening meal an breakfast the following morning, lovely staff when we arrived and throughout our stay, Will be down again hopefully to get use of the Spa and thermal suite as we didnt get down to late due to work.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jenni_fawcett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillgroveHotel, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear jenni_fawcett
Thank you so much for choosing the Hillgrove Hotel for your recent stay. We really appreciate your lovely feedback regarding your evening meal and breakfast as well as our staff. Looking forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Sharon McMahon
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

I brought my daughters and grandchildren here and we would highly recommend and in fact may return in Jan depending on deals ! The rooms were beautiful. Inside and outside hotel decorated to be child friendly, also I am disabled and it was very suitable for me too !! The staff were wonderful though out the hotel. The food and service were fantastic. Well done Hillgrove !

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillgroveHotel, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear marie m
Thank you so much for choosing the Hillgrove Hotel for your recent stay. We really appreciate your lovely feedback regarding the rooms and child friendly aspect of the hotel, which are very proud off. Looking forward to welcoming you again in January with our great Book A Break deal.
Sharon McMahon
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews