We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In for a drink”
Review of Andy's

Andy's
Ranked #3 of 41 Restaurants in Monaghan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Monaghan town's longest established family run restaurant (1983). Sean cooks the food, Aisling runs the restaurant (makes the most superb desserts) and downstairs Kevin is famous for his Gin collection! Renowned for our 30 day dry aged beef aged and butchered in-house by Sean. House specialties include Garlic Mushrooms and Chicken Monaghan. Over 75 premium gins from around the world in stock! Kevin's gins have featured in the Sun newspaper, Daily Mail and the Sunday World. Andy's - the largest seller of non-alcoholic gin in Ireland, according to Richmond Marketing. We have a private dining room that can accommodate up to twenty people for functions
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went in to Andy's this evening for a drink. We didn't get "Hello" from any member of staff, never mind the manager. We eventually got served, I asked for a bottle of beer and was given a pint glass with it. We are not regulars in the place and we were not welcomed at all. The place smelled of food, not good if you are just going in for a drink. The toilet hadn't toilet roll. In general bad customer service. Will not be returning.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank brendamck2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were in Monaghan having done a few things felt like something to eat for our peckish feeling, so we decided on Andy’s to refresh us. We were welcomed by Shannon and had a chat and we were given menus when we took our seat. There was a good selection on the menu but we decided to go for a starter and when Shannon come with our drinks we ordered the goats cheese tart with a side order. The ambience and the heat of the fire we were sitting beside was very homely and relaxing, we enjoyed the delicious food and set back and relaxed with a coffee afterwards to enjoy the surroundings. We were talking to Kevin and said we would be back at Christmas time to share the festive mood.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank gerryandann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2018 via mobile

What an experience !!!!, I can not recommend the gin tasting night highly enough. With Kevin's encyclopedia knowledge of gins, no question is beyond his expertise. Such a relaxed environment made this night one to be remembered and hopefully repeated. Thank you Kevin and Aisling for a very enjoyable night .

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank ThomasLorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndysLtd, Owner at Andy's, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2018

Lorraine,
Thank you - and all the girls for supporting my gin tasting event. It certainly was lively and proved to be a great nights craic, and a well deserved excuse to get out on a Friday night. I hope to run further events in the near future.
Regards Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018 via mobile

Just attended a gin tasting evening in Andy's very enjoyable and Kevin has a wealth of knowledge on gins/tonics/and botanicals and the bruschetta was a tasty treat - - very informative and to be recommended thank you for a great night

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank N9791LLtonym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndysLtd, Owner at Andy's, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2018

Tony,

Delighted to receive your review, it certainly was a great evenings craic. The bruschetta wasn't advertised but it was a nice little treat and something unexpected. I'm sure I will run a few more of these events in the near future. Thank you both for supporting this event and your contributions helped to make it a great success.
Regards Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Had a throughly great time here. Went as a couple but more of our family turned up which was no problem. Staff was great, food was tasty & not expensive. Would go again

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank lori20968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndysLtd, Owner at Andy's, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Lori
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review. Ðighted that you all enjoyed your meal here with us in Andy's.
Regards Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Andy's also viewed

 
Monaghan, County Monaghan
Monaghan, County Monaghan
 
Monaghan, County Monaghan
Monaghan, County Monaghan
 

Been to Andy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing