We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Andy's

Andy's
Ranked #3 of 41 Restaurants in Monaghan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Monaghan town's longest established family run restaurant (1983). Sean cooks the food, Aisling runs the restaurant (makes the most superb desserts) and downstairs Kevin is famous for his Gin collection! Renowned for our 30 day dry aged beef aged and butchered in-house by Sean. House specialties include Garlic Mushrooms and Chicken Monaghan. Over 75 premium gins from around the world in stock! Kevin's gins have featured in the Sun newspaper, Daily Mail and the Sunday World. Andy's - the largest seller of non-alcoholic gin in Ireland, according to Richmond Marketing. We have a private dining room that can accommodate up to twenty people for functions
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Had a throughly great time here. Went as a couple but more of our family turned up which was no problem. Staff was great, food was tasty & not expensive. Would go again

Thank lori20968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndysLtd, Owner at Andy's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Lori
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review. Ðighted that you all enjoyed your meal here with us in Andy's.
Regards Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Restaurant was very busy on the Sunday evening we arrived but we were fitted in and enjoyed a first class meal including steak. Good attention to detail and service. Would definitely return again.

Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndysLtd, Owner at Andy's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Michael
Our aged beef is simply the best in the region as we age and butcher the beef inhouse. However, it doesn't come cheap - as you loose on average 17% in weight, then there are the running costs of the refrigeration facility. But it's certainly worth it for us and revolutionised our business. I'm delighted you appreciated this beautiful product as well.
Regards Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018

My wife and I dined here recently whilst on a weekend break in Monaghan Town. I booked in advance on-line after having browsed the reviews on Tripadvisor. This establishment is situated behind the market in the centre of town and we found it no problem. We entered directly into a pub and our initial impression was "oh, this is not really a restaurant!" However, we were then escorted upstairs to a small, comfortable and nicely appointed restaurant as we had expected. The food was really good, tasty and generously portioned. The staff were excellent and chatted to us without effort, Indeed, we even got talking to the other patrons in the room before our meal was finished. Great stuff! Andy's is an asset to the town and well worth a visit.

A tip:

Try these house specialties..........................

Andy's special sauce which is to die for.
Andy's garlic mushrooms which elevates this common starter to new heights.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank widows_weeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndysLtd, Owner at Andy's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

A nicely scripted review - many thanks for taking the time to leave your review. The house specialities have been the key to your success and in turn making us the second oldest family run restaurant in Ireland! The downstairs area is also very popular. Iit's all down to personal choice and it's great that we can offer both dining experiences. The garlic mushrooms have featured on our menu for over 35 years - every single portion is prepared to order - and you can certainly taste the difference.
Regards Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

We visited Andy's last night for a meal. From start to finish the night was fantastic. Service was superb with one young lady in particular extremely friendly and knows her job! The food was out of this world. Hubby had the chicken speciality - he is still talking about it being the best chicken he has ever tasted. I had the fish duo - sea bass and salmon. It was just to die for. The flavours were just unreal. Our friends had the hake and steak and both are raving about the taste of their dishes. The cheesecake and berry tart were both amazing. Nicest cheesecake ever. Even the ice cream and chocolate sauces were extraordinary! I would have no hesitation in recommending Andy's but I would say book in advance. The number of people eating here says it all. Well done to all involved.

Thank dmrsmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndysLtd, Owner at Andy's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

That young lady must be Shannon - she us excellent and regularly mentioned here on TripAdvisor. We only use fresh fish - nothing frozen. It really makes a difference. Our aged beef is mentioned in nearly every single review. My sister Aisling is responsible for the cheesecake and has a heavy hand with the Baileys! Booking is essential at the weekends as the restaurant books out quickly. Many thanks for reaving your insightful review.
Regards Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Lovely meal here in Andy’s in Monaghan town, Sunday lunch, will definitely be back, family run business,

Thank claire d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndysLtd, Owner at Andy's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Claire,
Many thanks for your review. Sunday lunch - well as you know we don't offer a carvery, all our food is cooked to order. Our a la carte bar menu is very popular and in fact Sunday is the busiest day of the week! It certainly works for us. Look forward to seeing you all soon.
Regards Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Andy's also viewed

 
Monaghan, County Monaghan
Monaghan, County Monaghan
 
Monaghan, County Monaghan
Monaghan, County Monaghan
 

Been to Andy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing