We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, excellent service ”
Review of Andy's

Andy's
Ranked #3 of 41 Restaurants in Monaghan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Monaghan town's longest established family run restaurant (1983). Sean cooks the food, Aisling runs the restaurant (makes the most superb desserts) and downstairs Kevin is famous for his Gin collection! Renowned for our 30 day dry aged beef aged and butchered in-house by Sean. House specialties include Garlic Mushrooms and Chicken Monaghan. Over 75 premium gins from around the world in stock! Kevin's gins have featured in the Sun newspaper, Daily Mail and the Sunday World. Andy's - the largest seller of non-alcoholic gin in Ireland, according to Richmond Marketing. We have a private dining room that can accommodate up to twenty people for functions
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

Visited this restaurant yesterday during a week in Monaghan visiting family.
I am so pleased we chose to eat here, the meal was outstanding.
I had the chicken wings to start, these were amazing- one of the best if not the best I have ever had. Huge portion, went down a treat.
My partner had the soup, which he really enjoyed, again lovely big bowl piping hot and full of flavour.
We both had sirloin steak for main, cooked to perfection.
Side orders and sauces included in the price for the main dish unlike a lot of restaurants. We had chips, garlic potatoes, pepper sauce and Monaghan sauce- could not possibly be faulted. All amazing.
Every member of staff without exception was warm friendly and professional.
I can’t recommend this place enough.
Thanks Andy’s, looking forward to coming back.

Thank hxdnm5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndysLtd, Owner at Andy's, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Our chicken wings are very popular- they are a generous portion for €5.95 with a side order it’s as good as a main meal! We are renowned for our generous portions and it works well for us. We recently changed our soup from a chunky soup to a blended soup Creating a more flavoursome soup. The Dry Aged beef is our signature product, we are the only restaurant in the region to age beef. Many thanks for such a positive endorsement of what we do here in Andy’s.
Regards Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

If you like steak, this is the place to eat! My husband & I love our food. We had a top class meal tonight, two rare steaks with all the trimmings. Stunning, is the only adjective I can think of to describe this meal. Staff are exceptional, Shannon is so friendly & cannot do enough for each & every customer. We are both foodie people & love eating out. Have eaten in the best restaurants but if you want decent food with top class service come to Andy’s of Monaghan!

Thank pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndysLtd, Owner at Andy's, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Pauline,
What a lovely review to receive, in fact I’m going to use your review on our trip advisor opening promotional page - you will like it! Shannon is a real gem, she really does an exceptional job and she Is regularly mentioned here on Tripadvisor. I suppose our philosophy is quite simple in that we don’t do everything but with the likes of our aged beef we do it better than anyone else! Look forward to seeing you both soon.
Regards Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

We visited this little spot on a trip to Monaghan and couldn’t have been happier. The staff were very attentive, service was speedy and the food was just delicious! We both had Brie and then the Monaghan chicken and chicken stir fry. Food cooked and prepared and presented to perfection. Thank you

Thank juliev772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndysLtd, Owner at Andy's, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Hello Julie,
Great choices! The Brie is served served with fresh berries and a jag of brandy. The Chicken Monaghan has been on the menu since we started in 1983 still very popular to this day. Many thanks for taking the time to leave your positive review.
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

Highly recommend this place. We had wings to share which was the best I’ve had as all homemade and pan fri d cod for main course. Service was excellent, ambiance really good. I normally head into dublin city center for dinner and it’s up there with the best of them. Really good value as it was €200 for 6 of us with wine and drinks

Thank Tanya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndysLtd, Owner at Andy's, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Tanya
A lovely compliment regarding the wings they are a very popular product and you get plenty of them! Cooked fresh you can really taste the difference. The cod is bought in fresh also with three deliveries a week it’s gusranteed to be fresh. Our new Donegal fish supplier delivers on a Saturday which provides us with lovely fresh fish for the weekend.
A really lovely review to receive which really says it all - thanks Tanya.

All the best Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

Andy's is a super restaurant and bar and if you enjoy a good G&T then Kevin is the man to see. He has an amazing selection of gins from around the world and mixes them to perfection. Andy's is a real gem in Monaghan town. Will definitely be going back.

Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndysLtd, Owner at Andy's, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Caroline
Great evening and a great chat. I’m delighted that you enjoyed the GnT. I’ll be back at the Taste of Monaghan with a new show for you and the ice sphere will be there also. Hope you will be able to make it!
Regards Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Andy's also viewed

 
Monaghan, County Monaghan
Monaghan, County Monaghan
 
Monaghan, County Monaghan
Monaghan, County Monaghan
 

Been to Andy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing