We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Andy's Restaurant”
Review of Andy's

Andy's
Ranked #3 of 41 Restaurants in Monaghan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Monaghan town's longest established family run restaurant (1983). Sean cooks the food, Aisling runs the restaurant (makes the most superb desserts) and downstairs Kevin is famous for his Gin collection! Renowned for our 30 day dry aged beef aged and butchered in-house by Sean. House specialties include Garlic Mushrooms and Chicken Monaghan. Over 75 premium gins from around the world in stock! Kevin's gins have featured in the Sun newspaper, Daily Mail and the Sunday World. Andy's - the largest seller of non-alcoholic gin in Ireland, according to Richmond Marketing. We have a private dining room that can accommodate up to twenty people for functions
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

Andy's is a super restaurant and bar and if you enjoy a good G&T then Kevin is the man to see. He has an amazing selection of gins from around the world and mixes them to perfection. Andy's is a real gem in Monaghan town. Will definitely be going back.

Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndysLtd, Owner at Andy's, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Caroline
Great evening and a great chat. I’m delighted that you enjoyed the GnT. I’ll be back at the Taste of Monaghan with a new show for you and the ice sphere will be there also. Hope you will be able to make it!
Regards Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2018

What a beautiful restaurant . Plenty of choice on the menu, food freshly cooked and beautifully presented. Staff were so friendly and professional in this charming restaurant. Excellent!

Thank Fran P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndysLtd, Owner at Andy's, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Fran
Freshly cooked food is certainly the key - and you can taste the difference. For example we only use fresh fish and when it’s gone it’s gone. I still take great delight in personally replying to every single review. If you take the time to write a review then it is only right that business owners should reply, delighted that you enjoyed your visit our family run restaurant.
Regards Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

Visited here with my wife and as always the food and service is outstanding and a very warm welcome too.no matter how many times ive visited the food has always been excellent and i look forward to my next visit.

Thank darkraven30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndysLtd, Owner at Andy's, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Many thanks for your continued support down through the years. I'm delighted that the welcome is as warm and welcoming as always. Staffing and the right staff are so important, it certainly can make all the difference. Looking forward to your next visit also!
Regards Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

Great food and value for money. I loved the gin goblets and haven't seen that type anywhere else. The vegetarian stir fry was excellent, not something you expect as the veggie option is often an afterthought in many places. Good coffee and friendly, efficient staff. All making for a good atmosphere and dining experience.

Thank MaryCMaryC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndysLtd, Owner at Andy's, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Mary,
The gin goblets are pretty special at €9 a pop it's not hard to see why! The vegetarian option has recently been given a makeover - I'm delighted that you noticed the changes. I think that is the key to a successfully business, continual incremental change. Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review.
Regards Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

I have been going to Andys since i was a child, this place is amazing. From the choice of starters to the chicken and steak, i couldn't fault any of it. They have recently jumped on the gin band wagon and have over 90 different gins and Kevin does not disappoint in blending different flavours. If your in monaghan its definitely worth a visit. Its great for friends, couples, family dinner any occasion its a perfect spot.

Thank xxWeeExx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndysLtd, Owner at Andy's, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Some interesting observations made which I enjoyed reading. There are pretty few restaurants that you can say that are still there when you were a child. Andy's is now the second oldest family run restaurant Ireland according University College Cork. The Gins certainly have been a revaluation. I think we are leading the way in terms of how we present and garnish our gins with national recognition recent articles in the Daily Mail, Sun on Sunday and Sunday Mirror. Many thanks for your continued support and taking the time to leave your review.

Regards Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Andy's also viewed

 
Monaghan, County Monaghan
Monaghan, County Monaghan
 
Monaghan, County Monaghan
Monaghan, County Monaghan
 

Been to Andy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing