We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“What an Amazing Day!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boyne Valley Day Tours

Boyne Valley Day Tours
Ranked #1 of 11 Tours in County Meath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Personalised Day Tours of the Boyne Valley, County Meath, rich in heritage and history. Visit the heritage capital of Ireland as your personal driver brings you from one location to the other to stroll around at your ease. Take a suggested tour or design your own. Since your tour is personalised, you will be picked up from your accommodation in the Meath / Dublin area.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What an Amazing Day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2016

My daughter and I took a private tour of the Boyne Valley with Michael. We visited incredible sacred sites, prehistoric passage tombs, beautiful and ancient castles, abbeys, and monasteries. Michael is very knowledgeable and we learned so much Irish history. And, he's such a cordial guy that it was like seeing the sites and spending the day with our with our dear Irish cousin. He couldn't have made the tour more perfect. Thank you so much, Michael. We are so grateful for the day we spent with you.

Visited March 2016
Helpful?
5 Thank SueCoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    2
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Amazing tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2016

My daughter and I took the Boyne Valley tour with Michael just 3 days ago! His extensive knowledge of the area, especially the megalithic sites was very impressive. We requested him to customize the tour based on our specific interests and he did not hesitate to customize the itinerary without compromising the quality of the tour. The restaurant at the Hills of Tara was packed but we didn't have to wait as he called ahead to make the reservation for our lunch! The Boyne Valley tour by Michael was certainly a great experience.

Visited February 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank G2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent! One of the best tours!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2016

Michael is very knowledgeable, and was able to adjust the tour to what I wanted to see. He was able to discuss aspects of megalithic, Celtic and historical sites, as well as the cultural background of the time. I highly recommend Boyne Valley Tours.

Visited February 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Msle0250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kells, Loughcrew, Tara, Newgrange, Dowth, Ardcath, Fourknocks, Monasterboice, Mellifont Abbey, Slane--in two afternoons!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2016

I told Michael I'd done a lot of reading about archeological sites in the Boyne Valley and that I wanted to see as many as possible in the two afternoons I had available around a December solstice visit to Newgrange. He picked up on my enthusiasm and never flagged, generously giving me far more than my money's worth. Informed, congenial, interested as well as interesting, a native and a lifelong resident Michael is an ideal guide around County Meath and environs. I'd go with him again without hesitation.

Visited December 2015
Helpful?
2 Thank JONCUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Day in Boyne Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2015

Michael took myself, my brother, and 2 nephews on a fun filled day of visiting the Boyne Valley. His knowledge of all the sites was an unexpected treat. We really enjoyed the personal time with and ourselves. Really enjoyed Hill of Tara and how he guided us through time and explained how the Procession probably occurred many many years ago. My nephews liked the ability to explore the sites and openly ask questions. Even during the drive to and from the sites was an adventure.
Excellent Trip. Highly recommend. Lunch was really good too.

Visited November 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth Ella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boyne Valley Day Tours also viewed

County Dublin, Province of Leinster
Navan, County Meath
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Donore, County Meath
 

Been to Boyne Valley Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing