We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Dad was with me” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oldbridge Estate/Battle of the Boyne Visitors Centre

Oldbridge Estate/Battle of the Boyne Visitors Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My Dad was with me”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016

Since I was a child, my Dad talked to us kids about The Battle of the Boyne. I wish I fully grasped the importance of this event while he was alive. Stepping onto the battlefield, walking thru the Oldbridge estate and talking to the gentleman who knows EVERYTHING about the Battle was like walking with my Dada again. We found Reverend Walker's portrait and heard stories about him and the battle again. What a great moment in history when the Protestants and the Catholics came together for a common cause. We could sure use this "coming together" today, right?

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    88
    34
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Brilliantly set out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016

This is the sort of battle site which has been thoughtfully laid out. It was a perfect visit for us. The battle site itself was superbly laid out; the walled garden excellent and the refreshment room of a high standard. Well worth a visit.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank 540Rupert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2016

Beautifully kept estate and gardens. Fantastic history re the Battle of the Boyne inside the house with video show as well. Worth a visit without doubt.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank michael k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
263 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

This is a great stop on the way from Dublin to Belfast. The site is lovely and the staff are friendly and informative. It was interesting to learn about the battle history. There is a film and some indoor and outdoor exhibits. Lovely grounds to stretch your legs. We only spent an hour at the site and it was well worth the stop. Admission is 4 euros unless you have the OPW card which allows free admission.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Abamagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
494 reviews
228 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Beautiful Estate ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Oldbridge Estate is a really great option if you're searching for something to do at the weekend. The grounds are beautiful and offer walks, at various lengths, none of which are difficult. The house itself offers a short but informative exhibition for a small fee. The garden is brilliantly well kept and definitely worth visiting, it's not open late so you won't get in if you visit in the evening. The tearooms looking out over the garden offer a nice place to relax/rest if you've a lot of walking. Overall a lovely place to visit which is suitable for all age groups.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank JenandNeil365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oldbridge Estate/Battle of the Boyne Visitors Centre also viewed

Donore, County Meath
Trim, County Meath
 
County Meath, Province of Leinster
 

Been to Oldbridge Estate/Battle of the Boyne Visitors Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing