We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip to remember!”
Review of Boffin Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boffin Lodge
Ranked #15 of 69 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A trip to remember!”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Myself, my wife and our 4 3/4 year old had a lovely short break in Westport and were delighted with the service we received in Boffin House. Bernie and Carmel were extremely pleasant hosts and we were made to feel very much at home. mY son Davor was so excited that he could feed the chickens out the back of the house and could also collect the eggs for breakfast! The house is spotlessly clean and has all the facilities you would expect from a guest house but still retains a family atmosphere. Great selection of brealfast available although the menu ordering was a little confusing. I wasn't sure if I could have porridge and a fry! The house is well placed for the quays but it's a fair enough walk to the town although there are loads of taxi companies available. It's also very close to Westport House which is a must for visitors to Westport. We stayed in a family room which had a double and two singles and was ensuite. Bernie was great at recommending things to see and do! The price was very reasonable, working out about £190.00 sterling for 3 nights B and B. Thanks you Bernie for the lovely time we had and hope to bring the new baby down next year. Paddy, Daniela and Davor.

Room Tip: I didn't see the other rooms but the family room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patrick_davidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    50
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
57
113
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

No prizes for guessing where the eggs on the breakfast table came from - the hens look in the window and watch you eat them!! Breakfast choice was excellent and it was so good to have it served fresh and not to have to queue at a buffet breakfast counter as we have come to expect in most hotels. Purpose built with well appointed comfortable bedrooms equipped better than most 4* Hotels. I'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taocrasorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Cannot say enough about this B&B. Bernie made us feel very welcome, even providing sticks to walk up Croagh Patrick with. Great choice of breakfast. Lovely big clean warm rooms with great shower. Looking forward to my next trip to Westport and Boffin Lodge

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sPammmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Very well received. Room comfortable & spacious. Breakfasts very generous & friendly atmosphere. First class advice on restaurants & events. Tks

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2012

A1 accomodation and hostess-Bernie went out of her way on numerous occassions to make our trip memorable!! Fab price, spacious room, convenient to town and local amenities, brilliant range of options for breakfast (even for veggies!!). Defo highly recommend and looking forward to a return trip to Westport and visiting Bernie's establishment again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.2 km away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
1,428 reviews
0.2 km away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,027 reviews
0.4 km away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
981 reviews
0.4 km away
Harbour Mill
Harbour Mill
#1 of 14 in Westport
549 reviews
5.5 km away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boffin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boffin Lodge

Property: Boffin Lodge
Address: Boffin Lodge Boffin Street | The Quay, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Boffin Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boffin Lodge is a purpose built 3* Guest House.(1999)It has a wide variety of accommodation available incl a 4 Poster Room with open fireplace. Non Smoking. €35 p.p.s.p.n year round More favourable rates to be had for 2 or more night stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Boffin Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing