We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 points are not enough”

The Westport Bike Shop
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are located just a few hundred meters from the Greenway in Westport town center among the best hotels in the area. We provide an excellent bike hire service for the Great Western Greenway, Wild Atlantic Way and the surrounding area which has some of the best and most scenic cycling routes in Ireland. We offer FREE car parking and a shuttlebus facility for pick-ups and drop-offs to our hire customers. Helmets and other safety equipment are included in our bike hire together with a breakdown/replacement service. Also we have a large enclosed tarmaced car park for you to try out your hire bikes for fitting before venturing out on your travels. Besides bike hire we are also a fully equipped cycling repair and service shop, together with bike sales and spinning & training facilities. So basically the most fully kitted out cycling shop in the area. A friendly efficient and professional service is what you receive from the Westport Bike Shop and that can be seen in our Tripadvisor reviews.
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Very friendly owner with a lot of experience. Shop is away from Main Street but absolutely worth visiting. If you need a bike or something has to be fixed, I highly recommend this Shop.
I know gears are no rocket science, but you really did a great job. Thank you very much.
The german guy

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank augrabie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestportBikeShop, Public Relations Manager at The Westport Bike Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Thanks for your review augrabie it was very kind of you.

Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"friendly owner"
in 2 reviews
"excellent service"
in 4 reviews
"great tips"
in 2 reviews
"achill island"
in 4 reviews
"colin"
in 4 reviews
"greenway"
in 26 reviews
"hire"
in 4 reviews
"adjusting"
in 2 reviews
"10km"
in 2 reviews
"trailer"
in 3 reviews
"humour"
in 2 reviews
"cycling"
in 3 reviews
"route"
in 3 reviews
"euro"
in 2 reviews
"cyclists"
in 2 reviews
"mayo"
in 2 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2017

Colin and Simon of The Westport Bike Shop not only run a first-rate business, they are first-rate people as well! I have now rented bikes from them on three trips to Westport. The bikes have performed flawlessly, the routes they have recommended have been incredibly beautiful, and their many kindnesses and stellar senses of humor make me look forward to my next visit. I recommend Westport Bike Shop to families, serious road cyclists and anyone else who wants to enjoy the stunning Mayo countryside from the seat of a bike!

Date of experience: July 2017
4  Thank PN_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestportBikeShop, Public Relations Manager at The Westport Bike Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Wow ! ......... What a fantastic review of our business and us. Thank you for this, it is very kind of you. It's really nice to hear that we get things right and you enjoy yourselves.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

10 of us rented bikes for day messing around on the Greenway. Simon was very patient with such a large group and was up for a bit of friendly banter with us. We hired a range of bikes including several electric bikes. The standard of bikes was impressive, some obviously straight out of the box, new. All agreed that the day was great craic and would highly recommend. Helmets, maps and good local knowledge ensured a great day riding the beautiful Greenway. First class.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank yamtrevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestportBikeShop, Public Relations Manager at The Westport Bike Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Hi yamtrevy

It's great when we get lovely reviews like this and also that you had such a good day out.

We hope you will come back again soon and the whole experience can be repeated.

Many thanks for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

I lost a spoke on the way to Mizen Head. Called in here and got it sorted straight away. Very friendly and helpful place!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank AJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestportBikeShop, Public Relations Manager at The Westport Bike Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Hi AJB

Glad we could be of assistance to you and thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

We arrived to westport bike shop in a panic on the eve of gaelforce as the front tyre on our bike had seized up! Luckily the expertise of the owner meant that it was fixed in seconds and despite saving the day he refused to be paid for his services as it was a simple solution. He also explained the cause and solution to us very clearly to avoid a recurrence! Top class customer service, i would highly recommend the westport bike shop!!

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Mikeylee3106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestportBikeShop, Public Relations Manager at The Westport Bike Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Thanks for the review Mikey3106.

Glad we could be of service. Come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Westport Bike Shop also viewed

 

Been to The Westport Bike Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing