We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greenway Achill to Westport”

The Westport Bike Shop
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are located just a few hundred meters from the Greenway in Westport town center among the best hotels in the area. We provide an excellent bike hire service for the Great Western Greenway, Wild Atlantic Way and the surrounding area which has some of the best and most scenic cycling routes in Ireland. We offer FREE car parking and a shuttlebus facility for pick-ups and drop-offs to our hire customers. Helmets and other safety equipment are included in our bike hire together with a breakdown/replacement service. Also we have a large enclosed tarmaced car park for you to try out your hire bikes for fitting before venturing out on your travels. Besides bike hire we are also a fully equipped cycling repair and service shop, together with bike sales and spinning & training facilities. So basically the most fully kitted out cycling shop in the area. A friendly efficient and professional service is what you receive from the Westport Bike Shop and that can be seen in our Tripadvisor reviews.
Reviewed 15 July 2016

Our family of 5 were kitted out with excellent bikes and on the shuttle to Achill within ten minutes of arriving despite the shop being very busy at the time. The staff were two gentlemen, highly recommend this place and the great western greenway is a fantastic family day out.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank barry g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestportBikeShop, Public Relations Manager at The Westport Bike Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2016

Hi Barry G

Thanks for your kind review we appreciate your recommendation. Please come back with your family and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"friendly owner"
in 2 reviews
"excellent service"
in 4 reviews
"great tips"
in 2 reviews
"achill island"
in 4 reviews
"colin"
in 4 reviews
"greenway"
in 26 reviews
"hire"
in 4 reviews
"adjusting"
in 2 reviews
"10km"
in 2 reviews
"trailer"
in 3 reviews
"humour"
in 2 reviews
"cycling"
in 3 reviews
"route"
in 3 reviews
"euro"
in 2 reviews
"cyclists"
in 2 reviews
"mayo"
in 2 reviews
Filter

21 - 25 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

Rented bikes and availed of shuttle service to Achill for amazing day on the Greenway. Great service and lovely staff. Bus on time and bikes were perfect. Driver recommended lovely lunch stop in Kelly's kitchen in Newport

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank Eileen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestportBikeShop, Public Relations Manager at The Westport Bike Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Hi Eileen

Thank you for your kind review.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Visited Westport at the weekend and hired bikes for 5 adults and 3 children. We had a great time cycling from Achill to Westport.. the lads in the shop were excellent so helpful. Plenty of parking at the shop too. Highly recommended these guys for anyone heading down to Westport..

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank Adventurer253940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestportBikeShop, Public Relations Manager at The Westport Bike Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Hi
Fantastic to hear that you had a great time cycling the Greenway and you thought well of our services. It really is a pleasure to us that you take the time to give such nice feedback.
Thanks and please come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016

We were very impressed with our experience at Westport Bike Shop. They spent a great deal of time making sure we got the right bikes for our trip. We did the whole Greenway from Westport to Achill Island and back, which is about 55 miles.

My wife and I are in our 60's and we have biked all over the world, but my wife's recent knee replacement and other medical problems has really slowed her down. There was a time not too long ago when 55 miles would be nothing for her, but these days she needs a little help. The guys at Westport bike suggested an electric assist bike for her, which worked out great. She got a little extra boost on the hills, but still had to pedal and she got plenty of exercise. She would not have managed the whole distance without the help of this bike. We were very grateful for this recommendation.

Also plenty of free parking in front of their store!

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank Diegodreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestportBikeShop, Public Relations Manager at The Westport Bike Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2016

Thank you for mentioning our free parking facility, it is something that people totally overlook when visiting busy Westport in the Tourist season.

When we see a reponse to our services like yours it really gives us a boost that we are getting things right and we really appreciate this. We are happy you enjoyed your trip, the Greenway is an experience not to miss.

Please come back and visit us again soon.

Westport Bike Shop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2016

Family of 4 with two young kids (5 & 4). Started off with two adult bikes, a kids bike and a trailer from Westport, but son aged 5 struggling with tiredness on way to Newport. On arrival in Newport we rang base and they drove to Newport and replaced my sons bike with a tag along which made big difference. Cant thank Colin enough, as nothing was too much trouble. All equipment great and would highly recommend Westport Bike Ship and the Greenway for a great experience.

Date of experience: March 2016
1  Thank Maf180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestportBikeShop, Public Relations Manager at The Westport Bike Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2016

Hi Maf180

Thank you for your kind review. We are happy that you had a great family day out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Westport Bike Shop also viewed

 

Been to The Westport Bike Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing