We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

The Westport Bike Shop
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are located just a few hundred meters from the Greenway in Westport town center among the best hotels in the area. We provide an excellent bike hire service for the Great Western Greenway, Wild Atlantic Way and the surrounding area which has some of the best and most scenic cycling routes in Ireland. We offer FREE car parking and a shuttlebus facility for pick-ups and drop-offs to our hire customers. Helmets and other safety equipment are included in our bike hire together with a breakdown/replacement service. Also we have a large enclosed tarmaced car park for you to try out your hire bikes for fitting before venturing out on your travels. Besides bike hire we are also a fully equipped cycling repair and service shop, together with bike sales and spinning & training facilities. So basically the most fully kitted out cycling shop in the area. A friendly efficient and professional service is what you receive from the Westport Bike Shop and that can be seen in our Tripadvisor reviews.
Reviewed 11 June 2016

We were very impressed with our experience at Westport Bike Shop. They spent a great deal of time making sure we got the right bikes for our trip. We did the whole Greenway from Westport to Achill Island and back, which is about 55 miles.

My wife and I are in our 60's and we have biked all over the world, but my wife's recent knee replacement and other medical problems has really slowed her down. There was a time not too long ago when 55 miles would be nothing for her, but these days she needs a little help. The guys at Westport bike suggested an electric assist bike for her, which worked out great. She got a little extra boost on the hills, but still had to pedal and she got plenty of exercise. She would not have managed the whole distance without the help of this bike. We were very grateful for this recommendation.

Also plenty of free parking in front of their store!

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank Diegodreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestportBikeShop, Public Relations Manager at The Westport Bike Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2016

Thank you for mentioning our free parking facility, it is something that people totally overlook when visiting busy Westport in the Tourist season.

When we see a reponse to our services like yours it really gives us a boost that we are getting things right and we really appreciate this. We are happy you enjoyed your trip, the Greenway is an experience not to miss.

Please come back and visit us again soon.

Westport Bike Shop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"friendly owner"
in 2 reviews
"excellent service"
in 4 reviews
"great tips"
in 2 reviews
"achill island"
in 4 reviews
"colin"
in 4 reviews
"greenway"
in 26 reviews
"hire"
in 4 reviews
"adjusting"
in 2 reviews
"10km"
in 2 reviews
"trailer"
in 3 reviews
"humour"
in 2 reviews
"cycling"
in 3 reviews
"route"
in 3 reviews
"euro"
in 2 reviews
"cyclists"
in 2 reviews
"mayo"
in 2 reviews
Filter

24 - 28 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2016

Family of 4 with two young kids (5 & 4). Started off with two adult bikes, a kids bike and a trailer from Westport, but son aged 5 struggling with tiredness on way to Newport. On arrival in Newport we rang base and they drove to Newport and replaced my sons bike with a tag along which made big difference. Cant thank Colin enough, as nothing was too much trouble. All equipment great and would highly recommend Westport Bike Ship and the Greenway for a great experience.

Date of experience: March 2016
1  Thank Maf180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestportBikeShop, Public Relations Manager at The Westport Bike Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2016

Hi Maf180

Thank you for your kind review. We are happy that you had a great family day out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2015

dropped off in achill sound and cycled in the torrential rain to wesport it was a fantastic experience wish bike knew its way back to base got lost on arrival back to wesport , staff fantastic highly recommend the experience

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank pedroLow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestportBikeShop, Public Relations Manager at The Westport Bike Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2015

Hi PedrowLow

Thank you for your kind review.

We didnt have the best of summers but we find it amazing how many people refuse to let a bad days weather ruin their enjoyment cycling the Great Western Greenway and it's great to hear you had a fantastic time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2015

I cycled the Greenway from Westport to Achill on August Bank Holiday weekend. Great experience. While the guys at The Westport Bike Shop were friendly and helpful, I was not happy with my bike for two reasons: First, while I communicated my height (about 6 foot, or 182 cm) in advance, I got a bike with a small frame, which was uncomfortable on my back. Also, the front chain rings were not switching properly, which caused me trouble whenever I had to climb a hill (in fact, straight away). The bike could have been more suitable, and better serviced.

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank Bart_Simpson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestportBikeShop, Public Relations Manager at The Westport Bike Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2015

Hi Bart_Simpson5

We apologize for the wrong type of bike being given to you. We can only assume there was some breakdown in communications or mix up when you came to collect your hire bike.

When trying out your hire equipment before leaving our premises, we wish you had informed our staff of your concerns.

All our hire customers are given instructions and details that in the event of some kind of breakdown we will come out to your location on your route and repair, or as is usually the case, we just replace your hire bike. You say you had problems 'straight away'. If this is the case why did you not just turn around and relay the problems to our staff? That is what we are there for. Your bike could have been instantly replaced, instead it seems you had a less than perfect day which is a shame.

It is disappointing to us at the Westport Bike Shop that someone did not enjoy or have a problem free experience, and in this case it could have easily been rectified. We do hope you will return and use our services again and if you do please let us know who you are so we can discuss this issue this way we can get everything 100% correct for you and there is no misunderstanding.

If you are happy then we are happy.

Thank you for reviewing our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2015

My husband and I rented 2 bikes and cycled the Greenway to Achill.The bikes were set up to suit us by Simon who was great fun and very witty.Great service all round.
We'll be back.

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank belinda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestportBikeShop, Public Relations Manager at The Westport Bike Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2015

Hi Belinda M

Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you both soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Westport Bike Shop also viewed

 

Been to The Westport Bike Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing