We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bikes, superb service and first aid...”

The Westport Bike Shop
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are located just a few hundred meters from the Greenway in Westport town center among the best hotels in the area. We provide an excellent bike hire service for the Great Western Greenway, Wild Atlantic Way and the surrounding area which has some of the best and most scenic cycling routes in Ireland. We offer FREE car parking and a shuttlebus facility for pick-ups and drop-offs to our hire customers. Helmets and other safety equipment are included in our bike hire together with a breakdown/replacement service. Also we have a large enclosed tarmaced car park for you to try out your hire bikes for fitting before venturing out on your travels. Besides bike hire we are also a fully equipped cycling repair and service shop, together with bike sales and spinning & training facilities. So basically the most fully kitted out cycling shop in the area. A friendly efficient and professional service is what you receive from the Westport Bike Shop and that can be seen in our Tripadvisor reviews.
Reviewed 15 August 2015

We rented 3 bikes to cycle the Greenway for the afternoon. The owner could not have been more helpful in setting up the bikes and advising us where to go. We did a 50km round trip (stopping at a bar about 25km from Westport for refreshments). All was fine until about 5 km from home on the way back when a car turned in front of my wife in order to access their drive (not blaming them at all) and she braked a bit hard and came off her bike on gravel. It was quite nasty with gravel in her arm, hand and leg - some of the wounds were open. We got back to the bike shop about a minute before closing time and the owner got out a hose to clear out the gravel then antiseptic and bandages to get us back to Galway (out friend is a medic so were in good hands after we left anyway). The owner stayed on until we were all happy that the wounds were as clean as they could be and had largely stopped bleeding and all the while he was sympathetic, attentive and engaged with our humour as we tried to see the funny side of the event. A lovely bike ride, which we intend to complete next time, and without hesitation we will rent from The Westport Bike Shop as they are just so good in every way!

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank peterindevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestportBikeShop, Public Relations Manager at The Westport Bike Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"friendly owner"
in 2 reviews
"excellent service"
in 4 reviews
"great tips"
in 2 reviews
"achill island"
in 4 reviews
"colin"
in 4 reviews
"greenway"
in 26 reviews
"hire"
in 4 reviews
"adjusting"
in 2 reviews
"10km"
in 2 reviews
"trailer"
in 3 reviews
"humour"
in 2 reviews
"cycling"
in 3 reviews
"route"
in 3 reviews
"euro"
in 2 reviews
"cyclists"
in 2 reviews
"mayo"
in 2 reviews
Filter

30 - 34 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2015

We rented bikes for the day for a ride along the Greenway. The lads who run the shop were extremely helpful and personable. They even drove us to Achill to start our cycle. The bikes were comfortable and in great condition. The scenery along the way was fab. We highly recommend you rent from these guys!

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank Travelchieftan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestportBikeShop, Public Relations Manager at The Westport Bike Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2015

We rented two bikes for the day. The bikes were grand and suitable for the Greenway cycle. The two guys were very helpful and friendly, and the cost was very reasonable.
If you want to do a one way trip, the guys have a shuttle service, for a modest cost, to Achill/Mulranny.

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank MacAroniSenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestportBikeShop, Public Relations Manager at The Westport Bike Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2015

We hired 2 bikes for the duration of our 6 night trip in the Westport area. They provided hybrid bikes which are ideal for The Greenway. They offered the best price we were quoted for these and the bikes were well maintained and good quality. Communication was great both in advance and while we were there. Colin was very friendly and collected us from Achill on one day. The bike shop itself also looked good.

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank Gemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestportBikeShop, Public Relations Manager at The Westport Bike Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2015

We rented four bikes for a ride along the Greenway, at reasonable prices. It was our first time in the area. The two men who run the shop were very helpful, gave us tips (and drew us maps) of the best places to stop and eat along the Greenway, and drove us to Achill to the start of the Greenway. The bikes were in good shape. The Greenway itself was incredibly beautiful and scenic and a comfortable ride. One of our party had a spill near the end and scraped up his knee quite a bit. When we got back to the Westport Bike Shop, they supplied all the first aid care and good cheer we needed. We highly recommend both the Greenway experience and this bike hire shop.

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank JuliatheJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestportBikeShop, Public Relations Manager at The Westport Bike Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Westport Bike Shop also viewed

 

Been to The Westport Bike Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing