We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very highly recommend the Westport Bike Shop and the Greenway”

The Westport Bike Shop
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are located just a few hundred meters from the Greenway in Westport town center among the best hotels in the area. We provide an excellent bike hire service for the Great Western Greenway, Wild Atlantic Way and the surrounding area which has some of the best and most scenic cycling routes in Ireland. We offer FREE car parking and a shuttlebus facility for pick-ups and drop-offs to our hire customers. Helmets and other safety equipment are included in our bike hire together with a breakdown/replacement service. Also we have a large enclosed tarmaced car park for you to try out your hire bikes for fitting before venturing out on your travels. Besides bike hire we are also a fully equipped cycling repair and service shop, together with bike sales and spinning & training facilities. So basically the most fully kitted out cycling shop in the area. A friendly efficient and professional service is what you receive from the Westport Bike Shop and that can be seen in our Tripadvisor reviews.
Reviewed 24 June 2015

We rented four bikes for a ride along the Greenway, at reasonable prices. It was our first time in the area. The two men who run the shop were very helpful, gave us tips (and drew us maps) of the best places to stop and eat along the Greenway, and drove us to Achill to the start of the Greenway. The bikes were in good shape. The Greenway itself was incredibly beautiful and scenic and a comfortable ride. One of our party had a spill near the end and scraped up his knee quite a bit. When we got back to the Westport Bike Shop, they supplied all the first aid care and good cheer we needed. We highly recommend both the Greenway experience and this bike hire shop.

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank JuliatheJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestportBikeShop, Public Relations Manager at The Westport Bike Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"friendly owner"
in 2 reviews
"excellent service"
in 4 reviews
"great tips"
in 2 reviews
"achill island"
in 4 reviews
"colin"
in 4 reviews
"greenway"
in 26 reviews
"hire"
in 4 reviews
"adjusting"
in 2 reviews
"10km"
in 2 reviews
"trailer"
in 3 reviews
"humour"
in 2 reviews
"cycling"
in 3 reviews
"route"
in 3 reviews
"euro"
in 2 reviews
"cyclists"
in 2 reviews
"mayo"
in 2 reviews
Filter

34 - 38 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2015

I highly recommend these lads. They were sound and helpful, prices were very reasonable and bikes were top quality. They drove us to Achill Sound and we cycled the Greenway back to Westport.
The Greenway is a very pleasant, scenic cycle with towns every ~10km to stop for a snack or meal.
All above resulted in a really enjoyable day.

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestportBikeShop, Public Relations Manager at The Westport Bike Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2015

Unfortunately I complete forget the names of the two lovely gentlemen who own the shop but they were very welcoming, and chirpy for 9.30am on a Sunday morning. Spent plenty of time making sure that each bike was right for our group of six. Brought us all the way out to Achill Sound and set us on our way to cycle the 44Km back to Westport. Were very chatty and laughing when we returned. Would most definitely return.
Thanks Guys

Date of experience: April 2015
1  Thank MADoyle26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestportBikeShop, Public Relations Manager at The Westport Bike Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2014

Our group had a wonderful day riding the Greenway on the Electric Bikes we hired from Westport Bike Shop. It was such a great experience to ride along effortlessly and see the beautiful scenery along the way all with the gentle push of the electric assist.

We rode the whole way from Westport to Achill and back, which is about 80km round trip, it was great, but we were told that the bikes would do the trip on full assist mode, however 6 of the 9 bikes rented ran out of power before we returned to Westport making the last leg of the journey a bit of a drag, and caused to be back quite a bit later then we intended.

Otherwise, if you use the bikes on "Eco" mode I'm sure it will get you there and back no problem!

Thanks to Simon and all the best to him in the future, I can highly recommend the Greenway on Westport Bike shops Electric bikes!

Date of experience: October 2014
2  Thank Ados21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestportBikeShop, Public Relations Manager at The Westport Bike Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2014

I dropped in to the Westport Bike Shop before cycling the Greenway as the gears on my bike were giving trouble. The staff looked at it straight away, fitted a new part (a spacer was needed on the cassette), adjusted the gears, tightened the brakes without being asked, and had the bike ready for the road within 15 minutes. All that cost me a mere €5. Great service and great value too!

Date of experience: September 2014
1  Thank HerbieInKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestportBikeShop, Public Relations Manager at The Westport Bike Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Westport Bike Shop also viewed

 

Been to The Westport Bike Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing