We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic experience riding the Greenway on Electric Bikes”

The Westport Bike Shop
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are located just a few hundred meters from the Greenway in Westport town center among the best hotels in the area. We provide an excellent bike hire service for the Great Western Greenway, Wild Atlantic Way and the surrounding area which has some of the best and most scenic cycling routes in Ireland. We offer FREE car parking and a shuttlebus facility for pick-ups and drop-offs to our hire customers. Helmets and other safety equipment are included in our bike hire together with a breakdown/replacement service. Also we have a large enclosed tarmaced car park for you to try out your hire bikes for fitting before venturing out on your travels. Besides bike hire we are also a fully equipped cycling repair and service shop, together with bike sales and spinning & training facilities. So basically the most fully kitted out cycling shop in the area. A friendly efficient and professional service is what you receive from the Westport Bike Shop and that can be seen in our Tripadvisor reviews.
Reviewed 14 October 2014

Our group had a wonderful day riding the Greenway on the Electric Bikes we hired from Westport Bike Shop. It was such a great experience to ride along effortlessly and see the beautiful scenery along the way all with the gentle push of the electric assist.

We rode the whole way from Westport to Achill and back, which is about 80km round trip, it was great, but we were told that the bikes would do the trip on full assist mode, however 6 of the 9 bikes rented ran out of power before we returned to Westport making the last leg of the journey a bit of a drag, and caused to be back quite a bit later then we intended.

Otherwise, if you use the bikes on "Eco" mode I'm sure it will get you there and back no problem!

Thanks to Simon and all the best to him in the future, I can highly recommend the Greenway on Westport Bike shops Electric bikes!

Date of experience: October 2014
2  Thank Ados21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestportBikeShop, Public Relations Manager at The Westport Bike Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"friendly owner"
in 2 reviews
"excellent service"
in 4 reviews
"great tips"
in 2 reviews
"achill island"
in 4 reviews
"colin"
in 4 reviews
"greenway"
in 26 reviews
"hire"
in 4 reviews
"adjusting"
in 2 reviews
"10km"
in 2 reviews
"trailer"
in 3 reviews
"humour"
in 2 reviews
"cycling"
in 3 reviews
"route"
in 3 reviews
"euro"
in 2 reviews
"cyclists"
in 2 reviews
"mayo"
in 2 reviews
Filter

37 - 41 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2014

I dropped in to the Westport Bike Shop before cycling the Greenway as the gears on my bike were giving trouble. The staff looked at it straight away, fitted a new part (a spacer was needed on the cassette), adjusted the gears, tightened the brakes without being asked, and had the bike ready for the road within 15 minutes. All that cost me a mere €5. Great service and great value too!

Date of experience: September 2014
1  Thank HerbieInKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestportBikeShop, Public Relations Manager at The Westport Bike Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2014

Myself and my three friends rented bicycles from Westport Bike Shop to cycle the famous Greenway last weekend. We got a shuttle to Achill Island end of the Greenway and cycled back to Westport. The owners were very helpful and friendly. They probably saved us from certain death by exhaustion by making us aware how big Achill Island is. The bikes were comfortable and in good repair. We will definitely be back!

Date of experience: September 2014
1  Thank Smarta s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestportBikeShop, Public Relations Manager at The Westport Bike Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

When we decided to take a trip on the Western Greenway from Westport to Newport we checked out the internet sites for bike hire on Google. We decided on Westport Bike Hire as it provided secure, free, car parking. We rang the shop and got clear directions to its location. When we arrived and asked for one man's bike and one lady's bike we were told that there was no lady's bike available but that they would provide a lady's electric bike for the same cost. This proved an excellent suggestion as the lady in question had just one year previously undergone a total knee replacement. The electric bike worked out wonderfully. We were provided with cycle helmets, one straight from a new box. We were given a run through on working the gears etc. and given direction on getting to the Greenway. With a "call if you have any problems" ringing in our ears we set of for a wonderful cycle to Newport and back. Many thanks to all concerned.

Date of experience: July 2014
1  Thank Sean18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestportBikeShop, Public Relations Manager at The Westport Bike Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I have rented a road bike on two different trips to Westport. Each time, I rented a top-of-the-line bike from Westport Bike Shop for an EXTREMELY reasonable rate. The guys couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. They mapped out some incredible routes for me. Don't miss the ride out through Louisburgh-Doologh-Sheefry Pass if you like to ride a road bike. Incredibly beautiful and challenging, as well. The ride out to Achill and Keem Bay is also spectacular, with much of the ride on a dedicated bike path (the Greenway). Rent bikes from these guys! They'll even arrange a pick-up or drop-off if you only want to ride one way. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: July 2014
1  Thank PN_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestportBikeShop, Public Relations Manager at The Westport Bike Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Westport Bike Shop also viewed

 

Been to The Westport Bike Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing