We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
135
37
15
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
135
37
15
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sloping ceiling clew bay westport quay beautiful house walking distance room was large relaxing stay four nights breakfast was delicious one night stay couldn't do enough pat loft hosts town greenway cycling
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2020

The location is fab, you can walk to the bay area which has nice restaurants. Its a half an hour walk into town but you can get taxis very easily. (Just book both restaurants and taxis early!). Also close to Croagh Patrick and some good beaches in driving / cycling distance.

The rooms are very nice, quite dark for putting on makeup and the towels & sheets need updating. They don't have duvets but sheets and blankets.

The breakfast is absolutely five star. It actually made us think what a shame that the bar & restaurant were closed because I'm sure they would have been of the same standard!

Be aware the property is up a hill, just if you had mobility issues, but it is drivable, no need to walk it.

Date of stay: August 2020
Thank judgefi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 August 2020 via mobile

Ardmore is a beautiful, well kept country house close to Westport quay. However, it is quite bleak during COVID - the bar and restaurant were closed and there were no tea making facilities in the room (we were told this was due to COVID restrictions, yet we did not experience this anywhere else in Ireland or NI in our travels). This particularly impacted us because there was nowhere we could eat in Westport on Monday August 10th - many restaurants close on Monday and those open were fully booked.
The man at reception kindly made me a mug of tea, leaving my poor old partner gasping! He couldn’t even read the paper as there were no overhead lights in the room and the lamplight was too dim to read.
Toiletries really basic. Towels had seen better days.
Ardmore was twice the price (€150 b&b) of most other hotels we stayed at during our staycation, and the worst value.
Breakfast nice and hot, served with a smile (unlike our hostess on arrival!).

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 August 2020 via mobile

Stayed at Ardmore country house hotel for 3 nights. Disappointed as I wouldn’t class it as a hotel more a bed & breakfast. Breakfast was at 8.30 only felt that was a little early when your on a break. The towels are seriously in need of replacing really off putting rough, & grey not what you would expect in a 4 star. Breakfast was nice good choice on menu. No tea or coffee making facilities in the room again even during these times I found very strange.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank janetmurray03
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 April 2020

Very comfortable - the Quay is in walking distance with its lovely shops and restaurants, and you may walk also to the town of Westport - which is a treasure-trove of interesting shops and good food - through the grounds of Westport House. I'll go back to visit the House when we're out of quarantine again; family members were fascinated by their visit there. Ardmore's advantage is that it's both convenient to both centres of interest but quiet in itself. there's a stunning view of Croagh Patrick just outside the front door.

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 November 2019

we were touring and this was the most expensive of what we booked into; The service was poor - no restaurant -we couldn't find somewhere on a Saturday night in Westport; breakfast was limited. The owners were closing early for the season The book we used must have been written when the facility was under different ownership. ' White' towels and bed linen grey, blanket dusty - we left as soon as we could . Overall the grand name and surroundings was not justified. Location: After an unsuccessful evening trying to find food for 2 in Westport - fruit from a shop was what we ended up with; we left the location and thoroughly enjoyed other parts of the west of ireland

Room tip: Our room looked over water but we dint stay in it long enough to notice
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank northtraveller94
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews