We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent family day out along the Greenway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clew Bay Bike Hire and Outdoor Day Adventures

Clew Bay Bike Hire and Outdoor Day Adventures
Ranked #1 of 15 Tours in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Clew Bay Bike Hire and Outdoor adventures are the premier bike hire operator for the Great Western Greenway. We are always where you need us when you need us. We also provide guided sea kayaking tours on Clew Bay, Greenway to Seaway package which includes cycling the Greenway and return back to you base via a local fishing charter. We have return or outbound shuttle services available to ensure you only do the sections of the trail that you choose. Winner of the Mayo Business Awards 2015 "Best Tourism Activity Provider" Listed in the top 100 attractions in Ireland 1 of only 2 in Mayo.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Baby buggy parking, Activities for young children
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent family day out along the Greenway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2017

We drove the short distance from Westport to Newport and hired 4 x bikes from Dave for my wife and I and our two teenagers and cycled from Newport to Achill on Friday afternoon - approx 32km. Hiring the bikes couldn't have been easier and they were all in excellent condition. Dave sized the bikes for everyone and provided helmets, high viz vests and some friendly directions and advice. The Greenway was excellent. Paths were very safe, clean and very well signposted. No real hills and the views were excellent. We stopped for a short break in Mulranny and then continued on to Achill where Dave collected us at the arranged perfect location in the local hotel where I treated myself to a delicious bowl of chowder and a necessary pint of guinness !
First class friendly service from Dave which capped a perfect family afternoon.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank BrendanG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    630
    40
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A cracking day out in the fresh crisp air!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2017

We went for one premium and one electric bike and cycled from Westport to Achill 'with the breeze (allegedly) behind us'!

The electric bike is a good choice for those a little nervous and afraid they might run out of puff - its not cheating, as the Dave the owner would say, its about enjoyment!

Everything was waiting for my wife and I when we arrived to pick up the bikes. Dave gave us an excellent briefing of what to expect, turns to look out for and how he and his staff were available to provide help if we needed it.

The bikes were in good nick and there was plenty of charge in the electric bike when we finished. Helmets and HiVis vests are provided. Panniers are also available.

The Greenway itself is very pretty and well maintained. The views are excellent as you would expect. There are stopping off points in all the towns along the way and the Nevins Inn about a km off the track at the halfway mark.

We were picked up bang on time at the agreed meeting point and whisked back to our starting point where we had parked up our car. The chat with Tom the driver (and all round bike mechanic) was mighty! It was great to experience such genuine enthusiasm.

We fancy coming back to experience the sea kayaking tour and maybe even try 'the Challenge'(see the website)

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank MelAspires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Greenway cycle ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Rented bikes today from Dave the owner, cycled from Achill to Westport, what a fantastic experience, service was top class and would highly recommend.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Barman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2017

Biking the Greenway was the reason we came to Westport and it was definitely worth it.
Travis was a huge help and thanks for everything! :)

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Biking the Greenway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2017

We rented bikes with the silver package and cycled from Westport to Achill. Dave, the owner, was so friendly and helpful. It was great value - for €25 we rented the bikes for the day and got a shuttle bus back to Westport from Achill. Dave explained we could ring him at any point and get a lift back from any point of the greenway if we didn't make it the whole way. To summarise - excellent value, really friendly service, would highly recommend to anyone considering cycling the Greenway.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clew Bay Bike Hire and Outdoor Day Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Clew Bay Bike Hire and Outdoor Day Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing