We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent stay in Mayo”
Dine Alfresco on the sunlit patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dine Alfresco on the sunlit patio
Through the gates of Teach Mo Chroi' Drive through the canopy of trees on Cartronbower Boreen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Dine Alfresco on the sunlit patio
Through the gates of Teach Mo Chroi'
Drive through the canopy of trees on Cartronbower Boreen
Welcoming wide hallway entrance
Living Room solid fuel stove
Open plan Living Area
Living Room with Reading Library
Comfortable seating for 6 adults
Hearth Fireplace in the kitchen gathering space
Seating for 10 at the Table & Breakfast Bar
Master Bedroom w/Ensuite Bathroom & Walk-in Closet
Bedroom with Queen Bed & Single Bed sleeps 3
Large Bedroom with 2 Queen Beds, TV, DVD, & VCR
Whimsical Butterfly Bedroom with a Queen Bed & Single Pull Out Trundle Bed
Friends drop by for a Snack
Donkey Soccer - Game On!!
Our Summer Window Boxes
Inside Ballintubber Abbey, Home to Celebrity Weddings like Pierce Brosnan of '007' Fame!
Historical 12th Century Ballintubber Abbey our parish church
Close up view of Croagh Patrick from our Patio
Snow blanketed Croagh Patrick
Climbing the Holy Mountain Croagh Patrick
A view from the top of Croagh Patrick of Clew Bay & the mouth of the Atlantic
Descending Croagh Patrick
Breathtakingly Beautiful Kylemore Abbey
Keem Strand  One of the many beautiful beaches of  Achill Island
Surfing on Achill Island
Strolling in Galway City
A Typical intersection in Clifden Town
Roundstone Pier, Co Galway
Map of the West of Ireland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Westport, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christine...
1 review
“Excellent stay in Mayo”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Teach mo chroi was the perfect home base for exploring Mayo and Galway. Our family of 7 (ranging in age from 9 to mid 70s) loved the spaciousness of the home; we never felt cramped and appreciated that everything was on one floor. The kitchen was perfectly equipped with everything we needed for meals in and we enjoyed sitting out back taking in the beautiful view of Croagh Patrick (which 3 of us managed to hike to the summit of!) The children loved the large yard and feeding the nearby donkeys each day. The duel current in the home was an added bonus as was the large laundry room. During our stay we were able to visit Knock Shrine, Westport, Louisburgh, Leenaun, and Cong, along with Kylemore and Ballintubber Abbeys. All were an easy drive away. We also visited Ireland's School of Falconry at Ashford Castle and Joyce Country Sheepdogs in Connemara, both of which were favorites with the entire family. If ever our travels bring us back to the beautiful west of Ireland, we will surely return to this lovely home. Thank you, Karla!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ochow1
Bartlett, Illinois
1 review
“WOW”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Your cottage is amazing! Pictures cannot give it true justice. There was plenty of room for everyone even the kitchen could seat eleven of us comfortably. But the best part was the views from the back yard, it was breathtaking. Your hostess Moira does an outstanding job at keeping it clean and explaining all the info on how to use the home. Also its location was perfect for anything you wanted to do or visit. We visited Castlebar, Westport and Newport. All the towns had a lot to offer. Thank you again for the use of your home, we loved it, and can’t wait to visit again!!!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I9300VBh
North Andover, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic and comfortable country home; can't wait to return!”
Reviewed 19 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This pretty, comfortable and well-equipped country house provided an excellent home base for us to explore County Mayo. The location is fabulous; the view off the back deck was divine, especially at sunset with the birdsong, fresh air, view of Croagh Patrick, and lambs bleating nearby. Our party of six slept comfortably and well; the bathrooms were modern and well-designed and the kitchen was perfect for cooking. The home is within driving distance of many popular and interesting places to visit, and we had a great time exploring the countryside by car and walking the local lanes around the home. The owner is warm, friendly, and responsive, and even went out of her way to help us connect with lost family. This was one of our most enjoyable and memorable vacations ever, and we can't wait to come back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppeggywar...
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Perfect Place”
Reviewed 20 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This house was lovely and had everything we needed. I loved the location and the charm.
Great location to explore Mayo, remote but not too far from various destinations. The entire house was clean and comfy. Hoping to return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlantaSa...
Decatur, Georgia
2 reviews
“We felt right at home in the Home of my Heart near Westport”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed at Teach mo Chroi – Home of My Heart – cottage for a week this September and it was the perfect place for our group. From the gate, emerald green lawn, and flower-filled window boxes to the spacious interior, it is a lovely place, had everything we needed and was very comfortable for our group of seven people. We like to gather for meals and the large kitchen worked well for us. From the kitchen there is a view that includes what I think was Croagh Patrick, the mountain on the coast. We had cars, so the location in Ballintubber, not far from the bustling town of Westport was very good for our day trips to Kylemore, Achill Island, Ballintubber Abbey, and excursions to Westport for dining and shopping. There is a large collection of DVDs and CDs (which we used), a library, and some sports equipment (which we did not use). I came to Ireland earlier than the rest of the group and had corresponded with Karla, one of the cottage owners, about things to see and do near the cottage and along the West Coast of Ireland and even transportation options from the airport. She is a wealth of information and gave me great advice that helped make my travels really special; I had my own personal travel planner! This was a great place for me and my group of friends; we settled right in as if it were our home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was comfortable for our large group of seven adults, and the big kitchen was our gathering place.
Liked least: It might be difficult if you do not have a car, but there are local taxi services and a local contact to advise you.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2016
I am very happy you enjoyed your stay in our home and moreover your travels around Ireland before landing at our home. I love to share my knowledge of Ireland with all my guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$130
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing