We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House tour, champagne and canapes and train tour!”

Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$14.21*
and up
Westport House and Gardens Admission Ticket
Ranked #11 of 26 things to do in Westport
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Westport House and Pirate Adventure Park has welcomed over 4 million visitors with its range of heritage, family-fun, camping and adventure activity offerings. From small beginnings of 2,700 visitors in 1960, it has become one of Ireland’s best loved attractions and was recently voted one of the Best Family Visitor Attractions in Ireland by Primary Times magazine. One of those rare attractions, it appeals to everyone in the family with its extraordinary mixture of-- history and heritage in this 18th century historic house with 4 permanent exhibitions, over 30 rooms open to the public, guided and self-guide tours, tea rooms and gift shops-- the fun of the Pirate Adventure Park – a primarily outdoor amusement park best suited to the under 12’s which features water and swinging ship rides, train, swan Pedaloe boats, slides, playgrounds, pitch & putt and in-door soft play area-- exhilaration with the adventure activities such as zorbing, archery and water sports-- child-friendly fun in its varied events calendar with our Fireworks Extravaganza, Halloween Fest and Winter Wonderland being highlights-- the family-friendly Caravan & Camping Park in the gorgeous park and woodland setting with excellent amenities. Owned and operated by the Browne Family, who have been onsite for over 300 years and can trace their roots back to Grace O’Malley, the Pirate Queen of Connaught, Westport House provides a full days fun – and more to any visitor to the West. The jewel in the crown of the West, you cannot visit Mayo without stopping in. We look forward to welcoming you.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 5 November 2015

A group of 19 visited Westport House for my sister's hen party and had booked the package which involved a house tour, champagne and canapes and the train tour of the grounds of Westport House dropping us off in Westport town centre. Joan, Margaret and their team at Westport House were absolutely fantasitc, from helping us to organise the event in advance, answering all our questions and being so helpful, and on the day itself explaining everything clearly and looking after us so well. The champagne and canapes were absolutely fantastic - plenty of everything and great food too (I'm so sorry I can't remember the name of the chef but she deserves a huge thanks!). I would highly recommend this trip for something a bit more sophisticated and relaxed for a hen party group - we had a brilliant time so thanks a million!

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank SuzanneDoogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestportHouse, Director of Sales at Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Suzanne -

Thank you so much for your glowing review. We are delighted you enjoyed your group's visit to Westport House - it truly is a very special evening out for a hen party or any other special occasion. Thank you for your very kind mention of our wonderful team - we are blessed with them and will make sure they see this lovely commendation of their hard work and attention to detail. Please feel free to recommend us to any friends, we would love to welcome them. And come back to see us any time, Suzanne.

Best wishes,
Biddy Hughes, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (936)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bouncy castle"
in 54 reviews
"log flume"
in 54 reviews
"westport house"
in 312 reviews
"swan boats"
in 51 reviews
"winter wonderland"
in 31 reviews
"train ride"
in 43 reviews
"zip wire"
in 50 reviews
"cannonball run"
in 22 reviews
"pirates den"
in 15 reviews
"go karts"
in 27 reviews
"slippery dip"
in 12 reviews
"day pass"
in 11 reviews
"big slide"
in 10 reviews
"indoor play area"
in 16 reviews
"ticket office"
in 17 reviews
"great fun"
in 53 reviews
"older kids"
in 16 reviews
Filter

371 - 375 of 936 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2015

Myself,my wife and two children headed up to Westport house for the midterm break to the Halloween fest, and must say we had a great time, the staff were all very friendly even though they were flat out with other families they still managed to have fun with the kids.
The weather wasn't great but we couldn't do anything about that, just get on with it..and we did, we did the train and the outdoor rides even though it was raining so what!! we wont dissolve..
Went there at 11am and was there until 4pm we didn't feel the day going and will gladly go again and again..
My children had fun and that's all that matters, after all its for the kids.
I found the staff from the front gate to the train and everything in between very helpful...
Cant wait for the Christmas festivities to start....:)

Date of experience: October 2015
2  Thank frank g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestportHouse, Director of Sales at Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2015

Dear Frank G - thanks so much for traveling from Cork with the smallies to see us. We are delighted that you enjoyed Halloween Fest and all that it offers. We work hard to try to give every visitor a quality experience with us and it warms the cockles of our hearts to hear that you enjoyed the event as much as we wanted you to!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Winter Wonderland at Westport House.

Very best wishes to you and yours,
Biddy Hughes
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2015

I totally agree with comments below! A complete waste of money. Crazy money to enter and no enjoyment in return. 3 yr old and 4 mth old, told had to leave buggy outside. Understandable at the time, left at bottom of stairs outside, only to find out when going home there was a room inside to put them in. Lack of staff, no direction, a lot of bewildered parents wondering what I have paid for! To pay for simple face paints once inside was ridiculous! Very very disappointed, considering we travelled from west cork to see this 'spectacular event'. I have never written on trip advisor but we were so disappointed, I didn't want another family feeling the same. We won't be back.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank Paddy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestportHouse, Director of Sales at Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2015

Dear Paddy D,

Thank you for visiting us for Halloween Fest with your family - we very much value your custom. And indeed for taking the time to review it on TripAdvisor.

We at Westport House work hard to make sure that our valuable customers - and especially the children - have a happy and positive experience at Westport house and all of our crew members feel the same. And so it was with great disappointment that we read your review. We are sorry that you felt that there was a lack of direction to help you and the family make the most of the day.

I wish I could explain why you weren't invited to bring your buggy inside - we can only imagine that perhaps the ante-library may have been full when you arrived. And emptied upon your departure. We have slings to provide to guests inside the house which are ideal for babies.

Your comments on the cost of our face painting have not fallen on deaf ears and we will certainly consider this feedback for future events.

We are sorry we didn't have the opportunity to discuss these issues with you on the day. There is always a manager there to deal with any customer queries or issues. I would urge you to contact us directly and we can discuss this matter further if you call the office directly and ask for me, I will be happy to discuss these matters with you. We would genuinely love the opportunity to make a better second impression if you're back in the area in the future.

Kind Regards,
Biddy Hughes
Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2015 via mobile

I visited Westport House and park during the mid term break. It was a lovely autumn day. The house was very interesting to see and there were lots of things laid on for kids to do in the Halloween theme. The gardens and lake were lovely with great areas to walk around. The adventure park had a few attractions on not as many as in the summer months. My 2 year old was only able to get on the train as she was too small for the other rides but she thoroughly enjoyed it. My 5 year old loved the train, log flume and pirate ship and had several goes on each. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially the man in charge of the train ride. He gave us many rides even after his finishing time. A great place for a day out. Keep working at it to make sure it doesn't get run down. Many thanks.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestportHouse, Director of Sales at Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2015

Dear Stephen H - thank you for taking the time to come to visit with us and for sharing your feedback. We are so glad that you and the little ones enjoyed your visit with us at Halloween Fest. Your feedback is exactly why we all do it! Please come back to see us again when you're in the area.

Very best wishes,
Biddy Hughes
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2015

There were 9 of us- (2 pensioners, 3 adults 3 children 4 to 9 and one 18month old). We were told at the gate that many outdoor attractions were closed but 3 others were open that the Halloween activities were included in Westport House itself except for the pumpkin carving which entailed a further 3 euro. The "Activities" within were not well organized the face painting was not free (3 euro each child) and when we went to the outdoor activities only the little train and log slide were operating. It is understandable that this late in the season the full spectrum of outdoor activities are not available but admission price should be downgraded accordingly. We paid 95 euro for entrance. Add to that the face painting and the cafe costs and it's very bad value indeed. We heard since that the house and park may be in receivership which would explain a lot./ I hope somebody rescues the place before Westport loses this wonderful amenity

Date of experience: October 2015
2  Thank CMBernadette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bidzar, Director of Sales at Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2015

Dear CMBernadette -

Thank you for visiting our wonderful amenity with your family - we very much value your custom. And indeed for taking the time to review it on TripAdvisor.

Halloween Fest operates a little differently to our normal attraction in that we run a range of Halloween-themed activities indoors inside the decorated "haunted" house including the spooky spoons, pumpkin carving, storytelling and the thriller dance workshop and we always end the day with a kiddies disco. We are sorry to hear that you felt these could have been organised better and welcome any more feedback that you might have.

The reason we do not open all of the rides outdoors is because on previous years, our visitors have been unable to avail of some of them due to the weather conditions, therefore we open only the most popular ones. We apologise that the Swinging Ship was temporarily out of service at the time of your trip to the park.

We at Westport House endeavor that all of our valuable customers - and especially the children - have a happy and positive experience at Westport house and all of our crew members feel the same. And that our guests receive good value for money. So it was with great disappointment that we read your review. We will certainly take on board your comment regarding pricing and will discuss it with our team.

We are sorry we didn't have the opportunity to discuss these issues with you on the day. There is always a manager there to deal with any customer queries or issues. I would urge you to contact us directly and we can discuss this matter further if you call the office directly and ask for me, I will be happy to discuss these matters with you.

Kind Regards,
Biddy Hughes
Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park also viewed

 

Been to Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing