We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,616)
Filter reviews
1,616 results
Traveller rating
981
381
171
51
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
981
381
171
51
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand deluxe roombrehon barla fougerecroagh patrickspa salveomaster suitebeautiful hoteljacuzzi bathtop classspa areaopen firesmoked salmonstandard roomclew baywedding receptionbar menumid week break
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 1,616 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a family event. I'm from nearby so was really looking forward to it. Room was spacious and clean but very different to those shown on website, quite dated. Staff were lovely, meal was delicious. We slept well and were comfortable. Breakfast was disappointing. Who knew a full Irish was 1 sausage, 1 rasher, an egg and half of a tomatoe. Mushrooms etc were extras and when I asked for some of the 'extras' I was informed there were none left. Also we went in for breakfast at 10 am and were left for 20 mins before a waitress tended to us. 10 mins in I asked a passing waiter only to be told he didn't take orders. Also there was no bread left for toast, I'd to ask for some, two other couples were also looking for some. Waitress brought out 6 slices in total. Breakfast service really lowered our experience.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Cait C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

I love a couple of nights in this beautiful hotel in the run up to Christmas, it calms the senses. There is no urgency in that you don't feel rushed whether it be in the restaurant, bar or spa, it's about you, the guest. It couldn't work without it's great staff.They are wonderfully efficient and helpful but importantly are friendly and kind. The food is outstanding in La Fougere, with emphasis on quality, presentation and use of flavour, it also has an extensive and very impressive wine list. As for the rooms, it's lovely to just sit, for a few minutes and listen..... to nothing, so calming and relaxed. It's not for you if you want night club etc. but the thermal suite and pool are wonderful. Afternoon tea was lovely, warm scones, warm almond slice, chocolate banana & walnut cake but best of all is the in- house brown soda bread. Fab breakfast too. Here comes the 'but', I do think that 4pm is very late for check-in. The reason being that we arrived early but were asked to return in approx. 90 minutes. That was a problem because we couldn't stay out of the lovely restaurants in Westport so completely ruined any appetite for dinner on the first night. Consider a 2:30/3pm check-in please, Knockranny, the restaurant reservations might increase???. Thank you to everyone in the Knockranny, you looked after us very well.

Room Tip: Stretch to a tower suite and you won't regret it, dual aspect with great views over the Reek.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laoisebni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

We are in the bar last night with our teenage daughter
It was very busy as there was a wedding on
The staff are lovely as ever but we were shocked at the size of the portions of food
It has been a few months since we have eaten there and the portions have literally halved but are still the same price
Unfortunately it was not good value for money
It was very nice but we were hungry afterwards

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyable and chilled 5 days. Restaurant and spa both excellent. Staff professional and friendly. Bar quite quiet although really enjoyed the piano and trad music on the Sunday and would have been nice during the week. No TV blasting out which was great although barman did turn on football match for me at low volume which I appreciated.

Great value for golden years package. Would definitely return.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank F8925FXbriang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

The staff are excellent and the bedroom are warm comfortable and 5star standard. Yet there seems to be that the management are aiming too high ... the building is huge.... staff so lovely superbly trained and numerous... how do they do it ? ... as i don’t see much profit from the prices they charge for special offers (amazing value) ...breakfast (apart from cold buffet .. has staff running in and out with hot food ... ( hot buffet table ?? (An idea). Dinner starts with an “amuse bouche” .. and follows with a menu that was too extravagant is its complexity and on a number of occasions did not hit the mark at all.
Stay there ... you will have bed breakfast and dinner for the cost of a dinner in Dublin at the moment. But I felt a little sad as the effort was enormous and I wonder if making it all a bit more simple ... running weekends of cookery, photography , dancing, writing etc classes would be an idea for this lovely place

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank daisysandycove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews