We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place To Stay”
Review of Harbour Mill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harbour Mill
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
DUBLIN
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice Place To Stay”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Our family of four stayed here over Easter weekend. This was our second time staying here. The location is approx 1 km outside Westport town. The apartments are comfortable and well furnished with all amenities. We enjoyed ourselves despite the indifferent weather, cycled part of the Greenway, did Westport House, Achill Island, etc. When we arrived, and for the duration of our stay, we noticed a very strong smell of floor varnish throughout the apartment. We had a problem with a radiator in one of the rooms, and after contacting reception this was fixed within minutes. I would agree with the previous contributor that most of the spaces in the car park are ridiculously tight, most people simply took both spaces. If you stay here, make sure to check out "The Helm" ( just 30m to right of front door ) for good food and athmosphere. All in all, this is a good place to base yourself if your in Westport.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BOHSMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Guest.
We were delighted to read of your experience at The Harbour Mill apartments and so grateful that you took the time to write a review. We are currently in the process of re- varnishing the floors in the apartments and I do apologise for the smell. Yes, some of the spaces in the car park are tight and we would appreciate if drivers would park within the outlined spaces suitable to their car size. We also have ample parking to the front of the building which is free of charge. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and in Westport, and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back in the future.
Kindest Regards
Aisling Meenaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    138
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
285
102
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed at the Harbour Mill Apartments for 5 nights with our 3 children (6, 4 and 2). We booked a "penthouse apartment". Be warned this is not a penthouse. It is just an apartment on the top floor, maybe a little bigger than your average apartment but definitely not worthy of the title 'penthouse'. The balcony was an opening in the roof and our children had to be lifted up to see the view. The balcony was tiny.
The accommodation / apartment itself was lovely. Nice leather couches and kitchen was well equipped. However there was a smell of cleaning products in the apartment which lasted the entire stay, even with the windows open 12 hours a day. The heat in the apartment at night time was stiffling. It wasn't a particularly warm spell the week we stayed (in fact it was raining most days) but the heat at night time was overbearing.
My last gripe was the car parking in the underground carpark. The spaces were too close together. Very difficult to park.
Overall we enjoyed the stay. As I previously mentioned the apartment was lovely. Westport is a beautiful town and there were plenty of activities for kids, esp Westport House and Gardens which is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmarie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Guest.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Harbour Mill Apartments. We are pleased to hear about your stay with us and very glad that you enjoyed your visit.
I was sorry to read that you did not find our Penthouse Apartment to your satisfaction. This apartment type differs from the Harbour View apartment in that it is on the top floor and features a living flame fire and open balcony. Building regulations require that the minimum height of balconies is 1.2 metres and, for Health & Safety reasons, we cannot permit furniture on the balcony. This is to prevent children from climbing over the balcony and falling (the apartment is 5 stories high).
We receive our 4 star rating from Fáilte Ireland and feel our service and apartment standards reflect this. We are currently in the process of changing the name to Deluxe Apartment, so hopefully this will describe the apartment more accurately and not cause confusion to future guests.
With reference to the heat, we do have the heat switched on for guests when they arrive and this can be controlled within the apartment. We do have a 24-hour reception where someone would have been happy to help if you require.
Our car park provides 50 spaces and during busy periods it can be difficult for particularly big cars to park. We do encourage guests to park where suitable and parking outside of the building is also free of charge.
Westport town has a lot to offer and Westport House is a great amenity, we are so fortunate to be within walking distance to the grounds and park. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back in the future.
Kindest Regards
Aisling Meenaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Private
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We have been staying at the Harbour Mill Apartments for many years and would highly recommend them. They are in a great location and the staff are fantastic, so friendly and helpful. The apartments are very spacious and have everything you could need - a home away from home.

Room Tip: If you can afford a little extra the penthouse apartments are fantastic, especially recommend the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for The Harbour Mill. We are very pleased to hear that you had another enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Aisling Meenaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the Harbour Mill and yet again it was a fantastic stay. They have all the comforts you expect to find at home. Would recommend that you spend a little extra and get a penthouse apartment as you get a wonderful view of The Reek. It makes a wonderful base to explore the west coast.
If you don't fancy cooking there is a great pub/restaurant just up the road by the name of The Helm - food is excellent and the hospitiality is great! They have live music most nights.
We are already planning our next trip back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimshave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for The Harbour Mill. We are very pleased to hear that you had another enjoyable stay with us. Yes our Penthouse apartments have a wonderful view of The Quay and you are spoilt for choice eating out in Westport. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Aisling Meenaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Harbour Mill in Westport Quay is an ideal base for young famillies (9,4,2). Accomodation was brilliant. Apartment has large double room with ensuite, large twin bedroom (space for travel cot), bathroom and large open plan kitchen/diner/family room area (around 8m x 8m) with fridge freezer, kettle, toaster, hob/oven, washer/dryer, dishwasher, LCD TV, 3+1+1 leather suite, 8 seater table. Parking spaces are plentiful on-street, underground parking is available but was almost full when we arrived, also quite low and narrow for MPVs. Location is quiet as there is a green area nearby, walks along the quay, a play park attached to Towers restaurant. We ate in excellent Towers and Asgard restaurants, both of which had great selection and childrens menu - Asgard had children size portions from main menu too. Spent two days in nearby (300 yards) Westport House - weather was brillant during easter week and we went on Westport House tour, pedallo swans, mini train, Pirate adventure area (water splash ride, swing ship and bouncy castle), soft play area, outdoor go-karts, pitch and putt, tennis - didnt have time, but would liked to try archery and clay-pigeon shoot. Zorbing and zipline was getting prepped, will be available in June 2011. ** big discounts available from harbour mill for 2 day pass **. Harbour Mill has jacuzzi and spa, but didnt try them, opted for the free pass into swimming pool in Westport leisure centre - just off James street. Some nice beachs a few km away in Louisbourgh and Old Head. Great relaxing 5 days holiday, kids didnt want to leave.

Room Tip: We stayed in Harbour View which looks out towards Harbour/sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiDdoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you very much for such lovely comments and for taking the time to post this review. We really like to hear that guests have had a great stay with us and we pride ourselves on the facilities we have to offer. Westport House is a great amenity and we are so fortunate to be within walking distance to the grounds and park. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the The Harbour Mill in the future.
Kindest Regards
Aisling Meenaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 km away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
949 reviews
1.6 km away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
874 reviews
0.5 km away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,073 reviews
1.7 km away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
1,024 reviews
2.7 km away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Mill

Property: Harbour Mill
Address: The Harbour Mill, Westport Quay, Westport F28 EW73, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#2 Family Hotel in Westport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour Mill - the unique hotel alternative on Westport's waterfront. Set within a beautifully reconstructed 18th-century cut stone mill, our four-star rated luxury apartments provide the perfect holiday retreat. Overlooking Westport Harbour and nestling in the shadow of the majestic Croagh Patrick, this is the ideal base from which to explore the west of Ireland's breathtaking coastline. The Harbour Mill is just a short stroll from the charming heritage town of Westport, voted 'The Best Place To Live In Ireland 2012.' With a 24-hour reception, Captain's Lounge Wine Bar, Kiddies Corner, babysitting service, free secure car parking, on-site sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi and complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park (located in Westport Town). This year's winner of the 'No.1 Travellers' Choice 2012 for Families' awarded by TripAdvisor, we guarantee a holiday to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Harbour Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Mill Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing