We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quay idea”
Review of Harbour Mill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harbour Mill
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quay idea”
Reviewed 15 October 2011

My husband and I booked a three day mid week break. There was a 24 hour reception desk with friendly helpful staff. Our third floor appartment was clean and comfortable and the bedrooms attractive. ( one double, one twin) The kitchen area had all the appliances a family would need for a one or two week self catering stay. It was very quiet when we were there. Apart from breakfast we ate out. There were several good restaurants within walking distance and there was a discount to Harbour Mill residents using a card from the reception desk at Harbour Mill. There was covered parking for residents although we didn't use it and left our car in the free public carpark opposite. Westport Quay is about a mile out of Westport Town. There is a convenience store next to the appartemnt as well as some other shops and a cafe with free wi fi. The lack of wi fi in the appartment was a slight drawback though not a major one on a short break. There is a play park for young children a short walk away. We have recommended the appartments to our children for a summer break with their own children. There was a small welcome pack of tea, coffee and milk and a drying cloth and dish cloth were provided. A hairdryer would have been useful. Soap was also provided but don't forget to bring your washing up liquid, shampoo and shower gel with you or collect in one of the supermarkets in Westport., a lot of which open late Our weather wasn't great, but the place was warm and there were no drafts. The heating was effective and easy to adjust, as were the windows.. I would happily return and stay a little longer.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Audrey049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Harbour Mill Apartments. We are pleased to hear about your stay with us and very glad that you enjoyed your visit to Westport.
I am very happy to hear you availed of the special offers we are currently running with some of the local businesses here on The Quay. We recognize that current conditions have been challenging for many and are confident that these discounted deals offer the best value for money to our guests. In the same way, we encourage you to use the Voucher Booklet that we give to all guests on departure, to ensure you receive maximum value on your return visit to The Harbour Mill.
I was sorry to hear you did not have a hairdryer in your apartment. We supply every apartment with one and in the case of one missing we always have more available at reception, which is covered 24 hours a day. Thank you for the pictures and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kindest Regards
Aisling Meenaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    136
    20
    8
    2
See reviews for
273
101
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Just back from a very relaxing break at the Harbour Mill in Westport. Lovely facilities and ideal for families with young kids. Spotlessly clean, staff very friendly and obliging. Spectacular view and very cosy 4 star accomodation. Lovely to have sauna, jacuzzi and steam room facilities on-site. Great selection of DVDs to rent from front desk for rainy days. Definitely would recommend to family and friends and hopefully be back again someday:)

Room Tip: Ask for 4th floor for great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piscesblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Dear Guest.
We were delighted to read of your experience at The Harbour Mill apartments and so grateful that you took the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay and are recommending us to friends & family. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back in the future.
Kindest Regards
Aisling Meenaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Stayed at Harbour Mill for two nights and liked it a lot. A great harbour location - a leisurely 15 min walk from town, with taxis costing only 6 euro. There's free guest parking in the underground car park too. Suspect that the Harbour Mill is also much quieter than hotels in the town centre, which appeared to be full of wedding/hen parties when we were there.

We had a two-bed apartment that was nicer than some places I've lived in, with a living/sitting-room overlooking the harbour - great for sunsets! Right beside Westport House too.

As the weather was great and we were out cycling the Greenway, we didn't use the sauna facilities or venture up to the swimming pool but maybe next time.

Might have been nice to have had some little jams/butter as a welcome pack, though there were teabags and some milk in the fridge - washing-up liquid would have been handy too. Small gripes though. Would stay here again no bother.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for The Harbour Mill. We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. The Western GreenWay is fabulous and i'm glad you got a chance to see it. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Aisling Meenaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Everything about the Harbour Mill is 4 star. Brilliant service, and all staff were so welcoming and helpful! Really great spacious accomodation, and surprising quiet. Great views over the harbour, but what really makes it special is all the little extras, like milk and tea/coffee, plus great kitchen facilites and loads of helpful local info. Will definately return and would recommend it to everyone!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreedomFighterDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Dear Guest.
I am delighted to read of your experience at The Harbour Mill apartments and so grateful that you took the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay and are recommending us to friends & family. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.
Kindest Regards
Aisling Meenaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Had a very good experience in the Harbour Mill a few weeks ago. Myself, my wife and 18mth old. We had a two bed apartment, rooms were spacious and clean, beds comfortable, staff friendly and helpful, playroom very well kitted out.

I didnt get a chance to use the jacuzzi, etc.

The only things preventing me from giving 5 stars would be that the bathrooms were a little musty, and the decor in the bathrooms in particular was very very basic (my wife described them as being like hospital toilets). The decor in the rest of the apartment was quite nice though a few more wall coverings (pictures, prints, something!) would really improve the look. Also a few proper hotel style luggage trollies would be good - using a shopping trolley did the job but not exactly becoming of a fine property otherwise.

These were minor comments overall and would certainly return to the apartments - maybe next time it won't rain quite so much :)

Room Tip: Harbour view is worth paying a little extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajs2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Dear Guest.
I am delighted to read of your experience at The Harbour Mill apartments and so grateful that you took the time to write a review. I am pleased to hear that you had your family had an enjoyable stay with us. I have noted your comments in reference to the bathroom decor and will discuss them with our accommodation manager. We have a number of luggage trolleys in our car park and I’m not entirely sure where the shopping trolley appeared from but I am looking into it as a matter of interest.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back in the future, rain or no rain (preferably no rain!!).
Kindest Regards
Aisling Meenaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 km away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
894 reviews
1.9 km away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
1,999 reviews
1.6 km away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,027 reviews
1.7 km away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
980 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Mill

Property: Harbour Mill
Address: The Harbour Mill, Westport Quay, Westport F28 EW73, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#2 Family Hotel in Westport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour Mill - the unique hotel alternative on Westport's waterfront. Set within a beautifully reconstructed 18th-century cut stone mill, our four-star rated luxury apartments provide the perfect holiday retreat. Overlooking Westport Harbour and nestling in the shadow of the majestic Croagh Patrick, this is the ideal base from which to explore the west of Ireland's breathtaking coastline. The Harbour Mill is just a short stroll from the charming heritage town of Westport, voted 'The Best Place To Live In Ireland 2012.' With a 24-hour reception, Captain's Lounge Wine Bar, Kiddies Corner, babysitting service, free secure car parking, on-site sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi and complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park (located in Westport Town). This year's winner of the 'No.1 Travellers' Choice 2012 for Families' awarded by TripAdvisor, we guarantee a holiday to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Harbour Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Mill Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing