We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great facilities for both young children and teenagers.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Westport House Camping & Caravan Park
newry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great facilities for both young children and teenagers.”
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Originally booked to stay here for 4 nights but children had such a great time we decided to stay another night. My little girl of 3 totally loved the sand pits and started her day off there every morning. I also havee 2 older boys and i found that the adventure park, pitch and putt, pedolas and games room were enough to keep them busy on site.
plenty of room in and around pitches.
The childrens play park and indoor soft play area were well maintained and very clean. The staff within the soft play area were very pleasant and kept a very close eye. At busy times the number of staff was increased.
Great that the cost per night included electric and showers and i feel that it is not much more expensive than other sites when you tally all the other sites hidden extras.
Facilities were very clean. cleaners constantly in or around shower/toilet block

In general i found that this park had something for everyone. will definately be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank downlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granuaile2009, Director of Sales at Westport House Camping & Caravan Park, responded to this review, 16 September 2010
Hi Down Lady -

Thanks so much for your feedback on Westport House Caravan & Camping - we are delighted to hear you had a nice visit and hope to be able to welcome you back next year!

Cheers,
Biddy Hughes
Westport House Caravan & Camping
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    103
    50
    20
    7
See reviews for
165
52
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
antrim
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2010

stayed on this site at least once a year since 1988 never had any problems with any things on site or near by town

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris1antrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granuaile2009, Director of Sales at Westport House Camping & Caravan Park, responded to this review, 16 September 2010
Chris -

Thanks so much for the review and for being a regular and loyal customer - I hope to meet you next year!

Best wishes,
Biddy Hughes
Westport House Caravan & Camping
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
221 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

Spent the Easter weekend at the Westport House Camping & Caravan site on the outskirts of Westport Town. The caravan & camping park is situated within the Westport House Country Park one of the most beautiful parks in Ireland.

The hard stand was narrow and what irratitated us most was the fact that the electricity hook-up kept tripping. Considering the high cost of spending a night at this camp site it was very annoying. We travel around the various camp sites quite frequently and never had any problem with electricity tripping until we stayed at Westport.

For the amenities they offer I think that their nightly charge is way over the odds. The walk into Westport is about 2 miles all uphill so be warned and have everything you need with you if you decide to stay here especially if you have small children. There is no discount offered for any of the amenities even though you are onsite. Not worth it. Wouldn't stay there again.

On a positive note the staff were very friendly and courteous and the food in the bar was reasonable and well presented.

Helpful?
2 Thank M-P7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granuaile2009, Director of Sales at Westport House Camping & Caravan Park, responded to this review, 16 September 2010
Hi M-P7 -

Thanks so much for taking the time to review Westport House Caravan & Camping and for your constructive criticism as well as positive feedback on our staff.

You might be glad to hear that we have taken it all on board and in the next year, we plan to upgrade our electrics (to avoid tripping!) and we will be offering a 10% discount to campers on all tickets to the House & Park all day. In addition, we are adding a bunch of amenities to the Park next year including a shop, onsite laundry, WiFi, weekend discos, movie nights and more...all without raising our prices.

With this in mind, we hope that you'll consider coming back to visit us sometime soon. We would love the opportunity to make a better second impression. And wish you all the very best!

Best wishes,
Biddy Hughes
Westport House Caravan & Camping
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
0.0 km away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.0 km away
Clifden ecoBeach Camping & Caravanning Park
0.0 km away
Old Mill Holiday Hostel
Old Mill Holiday Hostel
#7 of 9 in Westport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Galway Glamping
Galway Glamping
#7 of 50 in Galway
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.0 km away
Pod Umna Village
Pod Umna Village
#1 of 3 in Portumna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.0 km away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport House Camping & Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport House Camping & Caravan Park

Property: Westport House Camping & Caravan Park
Address: Westport House Country Park, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Westport
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westport House Caravan & Camping Park is a family-run & family-friendly park set in the lush grounds of Westport House beside Westport Quay. You’ll find yourself in a natural environment surrounded by ancient trees with Croagh Patrick and Clew Bay in the background. The camper’s dream! Onsite Facilities: FREE: hot showers, electrics, WiFi, recycling, picnic & washing up areas. Laundry and bar/cafe with live music & food. Free Activities Onsite: Recreation room, tennis*, table tennis*, pitch ‘n’ putt*, fishing, Pirates Den (soft play area) **, playground, sandpit, movie night & teen disco. Additional Activities Onsite• Westport House, an 18th century historic home with tours, exhibitions & tea rooms. • Pirate Adventure Park featuring log flume ride, pirate swinging ship, miniature railway, slippery dip slide, swan pedaloe boats & bouncy castles. • Summer Camp running weekdays in July. • Adventure Activity Centre featuring zorbing, zipwire, archery, laser combat games & clay pigeon shooting, water sports & bike rental. Nearby Activities: 18 hole golf course, deep-sea fishing, pony trekking, restaurants, live music & great pubs, blue-flag beaches, sailing, mountain climbing, cinema, spas and leisure centres. Special Offers ***• Family Campers’ Special: 3 nights camping & Annual Pirate Pass to Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park starting at €230 for a family of four (does not include adventure activities). Returning campers will gain a further 15% discount on repeat purchase. • Campers’ Discount: 20% off all tickets to Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park tickets all day. • Summer Camp Deals: Exclusive daily rate or 20% discount off weekly participation. A warm welcome awaits you in Westport House Caravan & Camping Park. No commercial vehicles. No pets during July/August.*Activity available from 6pm.** Soft play available between 8pm – 11pm.*** Special offers must be pre-paid upon arrival and are non-refundable. ID required for ticket use. This offer is not available for use in conjunction with any other offer. How to find us:On main Westport/Louisburgh road R335 – 3.2km (2 miles) from Westport. Turn right at Westport Quay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Westport House Camping And Caravan Park
Westport House Camping & Caravan Park Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing