We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good dining experience”

Cox's Restaurant and Bars
Ranked #25 of 57 Restaurants in Castlebar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A good dining experience”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We had dinner in this restaurant when we visited Castlebar. The menu had a very varied selection. The waitress was efficient and friendly and the food arrived promptly. We enjoyed our meal and will return the next time we are in the area.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brit-Biddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    52
    18
    16
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Lots of Variety--Something for Everyone”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Cox's bar really tries to cater to all people. If you get there earlier in the day, you can enjoy a meal (although I've never eaten there myself), and you can listen to various bands that come to play. Once, I heard an excellent jazz band there. Late at night, the bar turns into a disco, and I've spent many a evening listening to the DJ who is quite good! It is a really fun place!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank greyhoundymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Mayo, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Never again-AVOID, AVOID, AVOID”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We are literally just back from Coxes restaurant and I felt compelled to write a review immdiately after such an awful meal.My husband had to go to a funeral and I sat in the car as he paid his respects- the 7pm news came on the radio as he sat into the car-the reason for this time line will become apparent later-bear with me!
We decided to eat in Coxes and ordered two main courses-chicken paradiso and sizzling chicken fahitas plus a pint of miwadi and a diet coke. The diet coke was flat and definitley past its sell by date. Our two main courses appeared on our table within five mins of our order being taken. We were so shocked by the speed of the arrivlal of our food that I said to the waitress with an air of suspicion 'our food is here already?'........ To which I got no reply. The fahitas were neither sizzling nor tasty and my chicken 'paradiso' was the furthest thing from paradise imaginable-tastelss, rubbery chicken. My dish came with a side order of potatoes dauphinoise which were hard in the middle. Judging by the speed at which the dishes came and the skin left on every sauce we assume our meals were reheated. This was the likely reason as to the lack of sizzle in my husbands 'sizzling' fahitas as it would not have reached sizzling temperatures in the microwave.Dinner was digested (in part) and meal complete by 7.30 pm.
So we spoke to the manager-assume she was the manager though she didnt introduce herself. We told her that the food was far from satisfactory due to the reaons above and she said she would bring it to the chefs attentionShe also asked if we required anything else. She ironically spoke to the chef for longer than the five mins to serve us our mains! and came back to our table to say that the chef was happy with the way our food was served and cooked.( so much for the customer being always right). We said that we were very disappointed and that the food was in no way served freshly prepared as it takes longer than 5 mins to prepare chicken breasts. SHe did conceed and say that the chef (in response to busy kitchen and orders) prepares food every half hour- so by default admitted that our food had been pre-cooked 30 mins before we ordered! Absoultely awful. If we had wanted fast food we would have gone to McDonalds
So we went to the till to pay and the register is beside the swinging kitchen door. As we were paying we could overhear the manageress slagging us off to the chef- repeating our conversation to the chef word for word and mimicing us. How unprofessional!
So 32.50 euro worse off later here I am urging you all to AVOID THIS RESTAURANT AT ALL COSTS.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsMul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect for families with small kids!”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

My husband and i with our 4 children ate here one summers evening on the way home from races. Kids were hungry, tired and getting a bit grumpy. Went into Cox's, got a private table/room straight away. And friendly staff were our immediately with crayons and paper for kids to draw on. Even for the baby (14 months). Fantastic food every time we visit but especially love that its family friendly and kiddie bowls are FREE! Kids left full and happy and we left even happier. Great prices and even better food. Lovel;y staff too. Will be returning.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank antogallbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Ate here during the August bank holiday weekend with friends on our way home from Westport so we could watch the Ireland V France match on the telly. Although the place was rather quiet, the waitresses seemed to be nowhere to take an order. Bar staff gave us menus and told us to tell him when we wanted to order and he would get a waitress for us which was sound. Group of men were sitting at one part of the bar with the telly blaring, couldn't hear the commetary properly. Food came down and was poor. Ordered a chicken burger and when it came down it was like rubber, chips were a mix of either not cooked properly, or re-cooked, friends got steak which was over cooked. One of the girls got a pizza which can only be described as disgusting, base was over done and like stone, cheese was bland and tasteless and had little toppings. Another of the group got fish which was still frozen, couldn't even cut it. When we complained to waitresses they apologised completely about it all which was nice. But the food was very poor for the money which was spent on it

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cox's Restaurant and Bars also viewed

 
Castlebar, County Mayo
Castlebar, County Mayo
 
Castlebar, County Mayo
 

Been to Cox's Restaurant and Bars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing