We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Michael M
Ennis, Ireland

Great location in Castlebar.

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Oct 2019
This was our first time staying at Kennys. It appears its been around for a long time and is a fairly polished tight operation.
Entry is from the street and you need to ring the doorbell for access to the reception area. Be aware if its lashing down rain and you have cases with you.
Limited car/ small van parking is available to the rear of the B&B with the gate locked at 10pm each night. Larger vehicles and overflow park on the street opposite if space available on a first come first served basis.
Our room was large with a small nowadays 4' 6" double bed and 2x singles with ensuite. The bathroom was spotlessly clean as was the room. The shower tray a bit on the tight side for the fuller figure and miserable shampoo dispenser. The makeup removers boxed and ready.....with instruction not to use the towels provided. The room had 2x TVs, one an old 12" tube box.
The breakfast was efficient with selfhelp cold cereals and served hot order items. I had a full Irish which was tasty. The homemade jams a nice touch.
Price wise this is at the upper end of B&Bs in the area but its location and proximity to the town centre makes it worth it.
If I was to suggest anything it would be to get bigger slightly firmer double beds and I would look forward to staying here again.
Date of stay: October 2019
Room Tip: Rear facing room is quieter but no views...how bad!
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kennys_Guesthouse, Owner at Kenny's Guesthouse, responded to this review
Responded 9 Oct 2019
Hello Michael. I am delighted that you both enjoyed your stay with us in Kennys Guesthouse and thank you for taking the time out to review us. I hope you event was a huge success and Raymond and myself look forward to seeing you stay with us in the near future.
Regards Susanna Kenny.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
0.3 km from Kenny's Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
1.4 km from Kenny's Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    €184
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Kenny's Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
4.1 km from Kenny's Guesthouse
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
4.5 km from Kenny's Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Woodview Lodge
eDreams
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
3.7 km from Kenny's Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
2.2 km from Kenny's Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lounge bar
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from Kenny's Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vio.com
    6.7 km from Kenny's Guesthouse
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • eDreams
    • Vio.com
    7.6 km from Kenny's Guesthouse
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Castlebar
    Reviews (150)
    Filter reviews
    150 results
    Traveller rating
    122
    18
    8
    1
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    122
    18
    8
    1
    1
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    10 - 15 of 150 reviews
    Reviewed 17 August 2019

    Warm friendly welcome lovely big rooms plenty of storage space free wi do kettle in rooms good choice of breakfast hosts was very helpful town centre location hairdryers in room everything you could possibly want great weekend

    Date of stay: August 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank N R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kennys_Guesthouse, Owner at Kenny's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2019

    Natalie. Thank you very much for your lovely review. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were very comfortable in Kennys Guesthouse. Very safe journey home and look forward to meeting you both soon again.
    Regards Susanna & Raymond.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 12 August 2019

    This was our first time at Kenny’s guest house and would highly recommend. Friendly atmosphere clean well maintained and excellent breakfast . Good value for money . Lovely comfortable lounge were we enjoyed family getting together . Would highly recommend

    Date of stay: August 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank maureenWirral
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kennys_Guesthouse, Owner at Kenny's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2019

    Maureen Really appreciate you taking the time to give us a lovely review. Hope you had a good trip home and we will see you soon in Kennys for another sing song. Loved meeting up with you all.
    Regards Susanna & Raymond.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 7 August 2019

    Third time back in Kennys, lovely welcoming b and b. Fabulous food, very central and brilliant value. Will definitely be back !! Its been really convenient having a car park so no need to go searching for a space around town thoroughly recommend the local pub Bar 1 for a meal but advisable to book in advance

    Kennys offer true Irish hospitality and nothing is too much trouble

    Roll on 2020!

    Date of stay: August 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    1  Thank Miriam A
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kennys_Guesthouse, Owner at Kenny's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2019

    Thank you to the 3 lovely ladies for taking the time to give us a lovely review. Really appreciate that. Hope your return journey is action packed and fun.
    Regards Susanna & Raymond.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 June 2019 via mobile

    We had a two night stay in this family run guesthouse as we were attending a wedding. We slept well as room was quiet. Breakfast was freshly made each morning and was excellent. Very good choice so something to suit everyone. As the location is near the main shopping street, it was very handy for wandering around and there’s a good choice of restaurants in nearby Tucker Street.

    Date of stay: June 2019
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Margaret-from-Dublin
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kennys_Guesthouse, Owner at Kenny's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2019

    Margaret. Glad you had a good stay with us and a beautiful day for the wedding. Thank you for taking the time to give us a lovely review. See you soon again in Kennys. Susanna & Raymond.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 April 2019 via mobile

    Nice wee jewel. Lovely atmosphere, friendly owners. Bedrooms are tidy and spacious. While there try their homemade jams while you are having your breakfast. There is off road parking. Also you are close to the town centre. Saying that, it is still very quiet.

    Date of stay: April 2019
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    Thank Sean Gerard M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kennys_Guesthouse, Owner at Kenny's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2019

    Sean. Thanks so much for the lovely review. Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to welcoming you back soon again for leisure next time.
    Kind regards Susanna & Raymond

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews