We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice chipper” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Danollas

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Danollas
Ranked #30 of 55 Restaurants in Castlebar
Cuisines: Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Seating, Takeout
Derry
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice chipper”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Best chips I've had in a long time. Hand cut and cooked - delicious. It was one of the busiest eating places we seen whilst trying to find dinner, can understand why, portion sizes were very good.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel-ingTracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    3
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic coast
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“If you're just plain hungry!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Down to earth, honest to God place to eat. Nothing fancy about it but you'll leave filled and satisfied. Homely! Nice creamy ice cream cones!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Atlantic8866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

Nice decent food at good prices overall very good service and the doner kebabs are extremely tasty different but in a good way

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dannyconnolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
201 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Fish and chip to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

The chips here are beautiful real potatoes and you get a good portion. I have been here for take away several times and was never dispointed.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank noelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst EVER!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

Westport Danollas is always the nicest chip shop I have ever been to and today we decided to try the Castlebar one. I must say I was disgusted, the chips were not properly cooked.. the snack box was just chicken burgers since they obviously had no more southern fried chicken, the chicken piece was burnt and tough and the onion rings were cold. The best thing about it all was the mint milkshake, I would avoid this place at all costs unless you want a nice milkshake!! Disgraceful!!!!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rtgooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Danollas also viewed

Castlebar, County Mayo
 
Castlebar, County Mayo
 

Been to Danollas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing