We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SCANDAL AGREED”
Review of Orley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Orley House
Ranked #12 of 12 Drogheda B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“SCANDAL AGREED”
Reviewed 27 October 2010

I can only agree with the Scandal previously reported. We arrived at the scheduled allocated time, and was informed that the room was not ready, but I desperately needed to go to the washrooms as we had travelled some 5 hours in the car, only to be advised that the closest washrooms was a half hour walk to the library. The dinner was dreadful. We had been mssing salad whilst away from home, so ordered the salad with fish and chips. The fish was no better than fish fingers and the salad was "PEAS", DO NOT GO THERE, IT IS A SCAM. They also took my money from my credit card some 6 weeks before we arrived, otherwise we too would have gone to another place. We have learned a very valuable lesson. We too are in the hospitality industry and we would never treat international guests this way, it was disgusting. Out of the B&B's wwe stayed at, this was the very worst. But having said that, I now say this, Ireland is a very beautiful place and we will return, but not to Orley House

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank boBRENE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capepoint, Owner at Orley House, responded to this review, 1 November 2010
In reply to the lies written in the last review, due to not being able to check in early on arrival.

The guests arrived early and some guest were still in their rooms and some were having breakfast. Guest was told to go the the Black Bull restaurant which is just across the road from us and that their room would be ready in 30 minutes, out of a gesture ot goodwill due to check in time not for a further 4 hours, there was no mention of libary or wanting to use the toilet.

Guests had dinner and both enjoyed their dinner and enjoyed their own bottle of red wine in our conservatory . Guests were asked at dinner & breakfast if everything was alright or if they need anything else , nothing was asked for and there were no complaints.

The guests payment was prearranged with client as the expiry date on the card would have expired before the client arrived. Guest was emailed about this and had agreed with payment.

The room these guests stayed it was left in a terrible mess, both guests had a lot to drink. Guests were well looked after and recieved the best of everything from arrival to departure like every guest that comes to stay with us.

These were not you average Australian tourist which we have been looking after for over 20 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    19
    7
    7
    11
See reviews for
22
47
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

A warmest welcome, sightseeing advice and a hearty Irish breakfast from Peter, our host. The house is signposted from the main road, close to it but quiet at night. We got a twin (double+single) room on the second floor - I felt it was on the small side and, if you're taller than 6", watch your head in the bathroom and above the smaller bed.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaxTLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shinagawa, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Our three days stay was great, room has good sence and clean,
breakfast is very good, garden is beautiful. I felt very relaxed.
Furthermore, despite of my flight to Amsterdam was cancelled
because of the eruption of the volcano, staff was kindly made advise
to re-book the fligth from Belfast, and we successfully return to Japan.

I would like to stay again for a month, if I have a long holiday...

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ankyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roma
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

I have booked a double room august 24 and I have arrived for taking the room in the usual schedule of check in (to the 4.10 pm) and ... surprise... there was no anybody. I have rung to both the bells as in demand and nobody has opened, then I have waited 30 min. I have looked for another place in which to go to sleep, so I had lost the booking of the visit to Newgrange. .... When I have called the B&B Orley House (5 pm) they have said that they were to make shopping!! and then at 11 pm they withdraw me the money from the credit card!!!!!! despite I had distrusted them they have taken my money without having furnished me the performance!!! Now I have reported them to the italian authority.... Avoid you him

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank turist68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capepoint, Owner at Orley House, responded to this review, 4 September 2009
Client made a booking and cancelled at 5.20pm day of arrival , said they were staying in Dublin . Client claimed he was at Orley House but did not appear on cctv camera. Client was told of the cancellation charge when making his booking. The Client was not a nice person to deal with. As I did not fill my room the client was charged as per Cancellation Policy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

this was the first of two nights for us in drogheda.
great, residential location.
very quiet and serene. great breakfast.
close proximity to train to dublin as well as newgrange.
thank you!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drogheda hotels
1.1 km away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
1,208 reviews
1.6 km away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
358 reviews
1.5 km away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Glenside Hotel
Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
254 reviews
1.3 km away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
0.9 km away
Spoon and the Stars
Spoon and the Stars
#2 of 12 in Drogheda
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orley House

Property: Orley House
Address: 7 Dublin Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Orley House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Failte Ireland Approved and 'Highly Recommended' Orley House is situated in Drogheda, just 20 minutes from Dublin Airport. Pick up and drop off at airport can be arranged. Walking distance to Bus & Train 24 hours service provided. Orley House is beside many award-winning restaurants and Drogheda town. It is a short drive from 4 golf courses including Baltary, home of the Irish Open. Orley House is centrally located for exploring the Boyne Valley, Newgrange, Hill ofTara, Belfast Titanic, Dublin and Wicklow,Sherries & Malahide. The 11 option breakfast menu is a real treat, and features local farm produce and homemade brown bread. It is served in the beautiful conservatory, with views of the pretty garden. Staff have great local knowledge of the area, and golf tours can be arranged. Free internet access on a guest computer is available, and free Wi-Fi is accessible. Ground-floor rooms are also available, and on-site parking is free. Rooms are spacious and comfortable and equipped with pleasant extra touches including blackout curtains, luxury linens, an LCD flat-screen TV/DVD player and a tea/coffee tray and chocolate treat and complmentary bottle of still water. The modern bathrooms luxury bathrobes, thick white towels, quality range of revitalising toiletries and a hairdryer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Orley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orley Hotel Drogheda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing