We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DREAM OF IRELAND”
Review of Orley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Orley House
Ranked #12 of 13 Drogheda B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We loved the BB; old style charm with modern facilities and a superb location, and quiet, what more could one want. The hearty fantastic Irish breakfast lasted us throughout the day. The room was very clean!! Brenda, the owner, is so polite that helps you in all things you need and helps you for the itineraries that you need to visit Ireland.
It's good value for money.. The BB is very close to the station and the bus stop. From here to Dublin it takes only 30 minutes by train but here you can experience the real irish life. Close to the BB we suggest the Black Bull Pub.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank LELLA713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 73 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2011

The welcome at Orley house was tremendous so friendly and put us at ease immendiately the room was superb clean and plenty of room. Great location will definately be visiting again. The breakfast was hearty and set us up for the day couldnt of asked for more. By the end of our visit we feel we have made some great friends this is the only B&B ive ever stayed at that i would honestly say i would come to stay on every visit .

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank charlieboy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

I stayed at Orley House,Drogheda,my Welcome was out standing,+food was great,+I cant wait to stay again,wat a wonderful place to be,with such kind+friendly people.I would recommend Orley House to all of my friends.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Brenamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

I can only agree with the Scandal previously reported. We arrived at the scheduled allocated time, and was informed that the room was not ready, but I desperately needed to go to the washrooms as we had travelled some 5 hours in the car, only to be advised that the closest washrooms was a half hour walk to the library. The dinner was dreadful. We had been mssing salad whilst away from home, so ordered the salad with fish and chips. The fish was no better than fish fingers and the salad was "PEAS", DO NOT GO THERE, IT IS A SCAM. They also took my money from my credit card some 6 weeks before we arrived, otherwise we too would have gone to another place. We have learned a very valuable lesson. We too are in the hospitality industry and we would never treat international guests this way, it was disgusting. Out of the B&B's wwe stayed at, this was the very worst. But having said that, I now say this, Ireland is a very beautiful place and we will return, but not to Orley House

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank boBRENE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capepoint, Owner at Orley House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2010

In reply to the lies written in the last review, due to not being able to check in early on arrival.

The guests arrived early and some guest were still in their rooms and some were having breakfast. Guest was told to go the the Black Bull restaurant which is just across the road from us and that their room would be ready in 30 minutes, out of a gesture ot goodwill due to check in time not for a further 4 hours, there was no mention of libary or wanting to use the toilet.

Guests had dinner and both enjoyed their dinner and enjoyed their own bottle of red wine in our conservatory . Guests were asked at dinner & breakfast if everything was alright or if they need anything else , nothing was asked for and there were no complaints.

The guests payment was prearranged with client as the expiry date on the card would have expired before the client arrived. Guest was emailed about this and had agreed with payment.

The room these guests stayed it was left in a terrible mess, both guests had a lot to drink. Guests were well looked after and recieved the best of everything from arrival to departure like every guest that comes to stay with us.

These were not you average Australian tourist which we have been looking after for over 20 years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

A warmest welcome, sightseeing advice and a hearty Irish breakfast from Peter, our host. The house is signposted from the main road, close to it but quiet at night. We got a twin (double+single) room on the second floor - I felt it was on the small side and, if you're taller than 6", watch your head in the bathroom and above the smaller bed.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaxTLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drogheda hotels
0.3 km away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
1,272 reviews
3.8 km away
Glenside Hotel
Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
259 reviews
0.7 km away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Drogheda Townhouse B&B
Drogheda Townhouse B&B
#6 of 13 in Drogheda
11 reviews
25.4 km away
Windsor Lodge
Windsor Lodge
#1 of 13 in Drogheda
239 reviews
0.2 km away
Spoon and the Stars
Spoon and the Stars
#2 of 13 in Drogheda
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orley House

Address: 7 Dublin Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Drogheda
Hotel Class:4 star — Orley House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Failte Ireland Approved and 'Highly Recommended' Orley House is situated in Drogheda, just 20 minutes from Dublin Airport. Pick up and drop off at airport can be arranged. Walking distance to Bus & Train 24 hours service provided. Orley House is beside many award-winning restaurants and Drogheda town. It is a short drive from 4 golf courses including Baltary, home of the Irish Open. Orley House is centrally located for exploring the Boyne Valley, Newgrange, Hill ofTara, Belfast Titanic, Dublin and Wicklow,Sherries & Malahide. The 11 option breakfast menu is a real treat, and features local farm produce and homemade brown bread. It is served in the beautiful conservatory, with views of the pretty garden. Staff have great local knowledge of the area, and golf tours can be arranged. Free internet access on a guest computer is available, and free Wi-Fi is accessible. Ground-floor rooms are also available, and on-site parking is free. Rooms are spacious and comfortable and equipped with pleasant extra touches including blackout curtains, luxury linens, an LCD flat-screen TV/DVD player and a tea/coffee tray and chocolate treat and complmentary bottle of still water. The modern bathrooms luxury bathrobes, thick white towels, quality range of revitalising toiletries and a hairdryer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Orley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orley Hotel Drogheda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing