We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“DREAM OF IRELAND” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orley House
Ranked #14 of 15 Drogheda B&B and Inns
Urbino, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“DREAM OF IRELAND”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

We loved the BB; old style charm with modern facilities and a superb location, and quiet, what more could one want. The hearty fantastic Irish breakfast lasted us throughout the day. The room was very clean!! Brenda, the owner, is so polite that helps you in all things you need and helps you for the itineraries that you need to visit Ireland.
It's good value for money.. The BB is very close to the station and the bus stop. From here to Dublin it takes only 30 minutes by train but here you can experience the real irish life. Close to the BB we suggest the Black Bull Pub.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LELLA713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    19
    6
    6
    9
See reviews for
21
42
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cavan, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

The welcome at Orley house was tremendous so friendly and put us at ease immendiately the room was superb clean and plenty of room. Great location will definately be visiting again. The breakfast was hearty and set us up for the day couldnt of asked for more. By the end of our visit we feel we have made some great friends this is the only B&B ive ever stayed at that i would honestly say i would come to stay on every visit .

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank charlieboy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

I stayed at Orley House,Drogheda,my Welcome was out standing,+food was great,+I cant wait to stay again,wat a wonderful place to be,with such kind+friendly people.I would recommend Orley House to all of my friends.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Brenamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

I can only agree with the Scandal previously reported. We arrived at the scheduled allocated time, and was informed that the room was not ready, but I desperately needed to go to the washrooms as we had travelled some 5 hours in the car, only to be advised that the closest washrooms was a half hour walk to the library. The dinner was dreadful. We had been mssing salad whilst away from home, so ordered the salad with fish and chips. The fish was no better than fish fingers and the salad was "PEAS", DO NOT GO THERE, IT IS A SCAM. They also took my money from my credit card some 6 weeks before we arrived, otherwise we too would have gone to another place. We have learned a very valuable lesson. We too are in the hospitality industry and we would never treat international guests this way, it was disgusting. Out of the B&B's wwe stayed at, this was the very worst. But having said that, I now say this, Ireland is a very beautiful place and we will return, but not to Orley House

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank boBRENE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capepoint, Owner at Orley House, responded to this review, 1 November 2010
In reply to the lies written in the last review, due to not being able to check in early on arrival.

The guests arrived early and some guest were still in their rooms and some were having breakfast. Guest was told to go the the Black Bull restaurant which is just across the road from us and that their room would be ready in 30 minutes, out of a gesture ot goodwill due to check in time not for a further 4 hours, there was no mention of libary or wanting to use the toilet.

Guests had dinner and both enjoyed their dinner and enjoyed their own bottle of red wine in our conservatory . Guests were asked at dinner & breakfast if everything was alright or if they need anything else , nothing was asked for and there were no complaints.

The guests payment was prearranged with client as the expiry date on the card would have expired before the client arrived. Guest was emailed about this and had agreed with payment.

The room these guests stayed it was left in a terrible mess, both guests had a lot to drink. Guests were well looked after and recieved the best of everything from arrival to departure like every guest that comes to stay with us.

These were not you average Australian tourist which we have been looking after for over 20 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

A warmest welcome, sightseeing advice and a hearty Irish breakfast from Peter, our host. The house is signposted from the main road, close to it but quiet at night. We got a twin (double+single) room on the second floor - I felt it was on the small side and, if you're taller than 6", watch your head in the bathroom and above the smaller bed.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaxTLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drogheda hotels
1.5 km away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
1.6 km away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.2 km away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
The Glenside Hotel
The Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.1 km away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
0.9 km away
Spoon and the Stars
Spoon and the Stars
#4 of 15 in Drogheda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orley House

Property: Orley House
Address: 7 Dublin Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Orley House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Failte Ireland Approved and 'Highly Recommended' Orley House is situated in Drogheda, just 20 minutes from Dublin Airport. Pick up and drop off at airport can be arranged. Walking distance to Bus & Train 24 hours service provided. Orley House is beside many award-winning restaurants and Drogheda town. It is a short drive from 4 golf courses including Baltary, home of the Irish Open. Orley House is centrally located for exploring the Boyne Valley, Newgrange, Hill ofTara, Belfast Titanic, Dublin and Wicklow,Sherries & Malahide. The 11 option breakfast menu is a real treat, and features local farm produce and homemade brown bread. It is served in the beautiful conservatory, with views of the pretty garden. Staff have great local knowledge of the area, and golf tours can be arranged. Free internet access on a guest computer is available, and free Wi-Fi is accessible. Ground-floor rooms are also available, and on-site parking is free. Rooms are spacious and comfortable and equipped with pleasant extra touches including blackout curtains, luxury linens, an LCD flat-screen TV/DVD player and a tea/coffee tray and chocolate treat and complmentary bottle of still water. The modern bathrooms luxury bathrobes, thick white towels, quality range of revitalising toiletries and a hairdryer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Orley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orley Hotel Drogheda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing