We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$142
Agoda.comUS$145
eDreamsUS$131
FindHotelUS$145
EtripUS$145
Expedia.com
View all 11 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (645)
Filter reviews
645 results
Traveller rating
397
163
55
25
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
397
163
55
25
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed risotto beautiful hotel bar staff bar food from start to finish ireland meal starters
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 645 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2022

We had an amazing meal here last night. We had a beautiful salmon and risotto dish. The sauce was sublime with everything cooked to perfection.
This has to be the best dining experience available in Drogheda. The service was first class as usual. The dining room has an old world charm that is original. They have a very interesting menu that always offers something different. Try it and enjoy the experience.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Joe_deedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 March 2022 via mobile

My wife & I stayed here for a night on a short trip to Drogheda and we were so pleased we did. All the staff were ever so friendly and we had a large and spotlessly clean room with a four poster bed. Great Irish breakfast to set you up for the day. Would definitely stay here again.

Room tip: It’s walkable from the bus station, straight up through the town.
Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LeeA2313
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 February 2022

Myself and my husband are just home from here and we had a fantastic stay.we were upgraded to a room with a four poster bed at no extra charge and had breakfast to our room thismorning at no extra charge also.Beautiful hotel and spotlessly clean.The staff were so friendly and couldint do enough for us.we had a problem with connecting to the wifi and when I rang reception a lovely guy called mark was straight up to us with a rooter.we had a lovely 3 course meal in the restaurant and it was delicious.only down side would be the lack of parking but our brilliant stay made up for that.i would highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing stay.i give it a big 10.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank paulawV9396FT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 January 2022

Just back from Scholars and very happy with our stay.

Upgraded to a four poster bed in a big room.

Interesting historical building well restored.

Food excellent, recommend the blue cheese and poached pear starter.

Staff here are exceptional, always positive and looking to help.

Looking forward to a return visit.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Liam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 December 2021

Myself and my husband (gay couple), had found Scholar's Hotel online as an optimal recommendation for small number weddings as our guest list was 30 people. We had enquired early on 6+ months before the wedding and Aisling their wedding co-ordinator was extremely efficient with providing us all the details and setting us up.

Once we had made all the confirmations, the period in between booking and the actual wedding date could have gone better. As there were both email, phone and in-person conversations there were some miscommunications which resulted in big impacts for us on the planning side of things and this was the only flaw I have to report in Scholars. At times we felt as if we were more of a burden and we also felt like we weren't getting the attention or support we deserved and often, we were just told that whatever topic was in question, wasn't the hotel's responsibility nor could they help us in that regard. That is one thing our other service providers were surprised at, the hotel could not help whatsoever with decorating, not even chair covers so we had to decorate the room at 7pm the night before, from favours, to table runners, centre pieces, the Mr&Mr at each cutlery set, the lights, petals, etc. We enjoyed doing it though however as we were able to do exactly what we wanted.

As the time approached, things became better via communication and by 4 weeks before hand we had two separate plans in case restrictions would impeed on the day which we must commend Aisling for ensuring a contingency plan in case the government did not increase the numbers at weddings.

Myself and my husband got married on the 11/11 in the Registry Office and we had guests from Portugal, the UK and all around Ireland who drove upto Drogheda to stay in Scholar's hotel.

As soon as we arrived on our special day, we certainly were made to feel like royalty. Our guests had their own private wing to have some bar food or drinks prior to the dinner while we had our photographs taken.

We were then announced by Eugene, an absolute gentleman and the dinner was outstanding. Due to COVID we did not get a taster but there was no need as everyone was complimenting the food for weeks after.

We had originally planned to go to their sister pub, Peggy Moores but when arrived we decided we would prefer to head back to the hotel as we much preferred their lounge to the roudy pub, which made it family friendly for the children in attendance.

All the guests got an amazing rate with breakfast included and we got the same but an extended stay for another three nights to rewind and relax as newlyweds.

Breakfast was outstanding just like dinner and all the guests were checked out flawlessley. We remained on and we got to know the staff very well Niamh, Aoife, Aisling, Eugene and everyone else made us feel at home. We were treated like princes and we were in true blissfulness for the remainder of our stay. We ate at the hotel for all our meals because the food was so nice and on the last day finished with Afternoon High Tea.

The hotel was so kind to keep our floral arrangements and cake in their refrigerators until we were ready to go home and they also ensured decor was kept as momentums when they cleaned up.

We had such an amazing time and thanks to the endless list of compliments we could give to Scholars, it would make us want to do it again!

I could not recommend Scholar's Hotel for intimate weddings and events and the sheer happiness of our guests and myself and my husband says it all.

Thank you so much guys for a once in a lifetime memory and for making it that extra special.

Room tip: The deluxe room or the presidential suite is the way to go!
Date of stay: November 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ndiezmckenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews