We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does exactly what is says on the tin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The d Hotel Drogheda
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Does exactly what is says on the tin”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Best things about the D:
Really friendly accomodating staff. They go out of their way to help.
Rooms are fresh and clean
Quiet nights
Fast check in/out
Downtown close to shopping
Reasonable rates.
Good breakfast menu

Downsides
Half finished abandoned building site across the road from the entrance. All the balconys look onto this eyesore.
Bar is unattractive place to want to hang out.

Room Tip: The extra ten euro for the superior room with balcony is worth it if they put you on the side overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheehanDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    372
    156
    93
    75
See reviews for
290
448
32
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Stayed here several times with my girlfriend and always liked this hotel, good location and value during the weekdays, rooms at balcony are great and all rooms are good size, the restaurant is not great but ok

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank griffin27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I have stayed in The d Hotel previously and loved the designer lampshade in the room and all the little touches. That was over 2 years ago though and this attention to detail has dwindled.

We had booked the one night B&B and dinner in a balcony king room. When we arrived in the hotel we were walking to reception and some random hens were whistling at us because we were a couple walking in. Their hen package must have a very high uptake as we were surrounded by them at dinner and throughout the stay. Most of the quite aimiable apart from the hens we met on entry.

The room was a generous size and to my delight the customary fluffy blanket (don't underestimate how wonderful the fluffy blanket is) and designer lampshade were there. However, the lampshade had no bulb in it! What an absolute shame. The bathroom was also very bare with just two basic shampoo bottles. I would have expected more from a 4*. The headboard was also loose which was quite annoying. We ordered some room service and we received it from a very polite member of staff but when we rang down for it and asked what the cocktail of the day was they didn't have a clue what we were asking about. Even though there is an upgrade your stay with 9 options on it in the room and the cocktail was one of these.

Dinner was presented beautifully but was not as good to eat. DO NOT get the prawn cocktail. The marie-rose sauce was literally the worst I've ever eaten and I've had a lot of prawn cocktails in my time. The chicken main course was good but very dry. It needed more sauce/gravy. The mash was lovely though. The service at dinner was so professional and I really would like to compliment them on that. At the end of our meal, the server did not rush us. In fact she said we could sit until the restaurant closed if we wanted. It was a nice touch.

I will now move the worst part of the stay. The breakfast. The front of house was so rude and so unprofessional. Such a contrast. We needed a table for two. She made us follow her into the restaurant where there were at least four, empty, two-person table and she marched us back out and said she call us when she had one. Then, although there were lovely two-person tables free at the window and throughout she put us at a table outside the boundary of the restaurant which was the furthest away from the buffet. I think it was because we were a relatively young couple to be honest (26/25). I would see a more mature couple being treated like that.

Then the mass hunt for cutlery and crockery started. Our table was missing some, so we asked the same lady for some, she walked to another table where a man was sitting by himself, lifted the things she needed from the opposite setting to him without even acknowledging him. So rude! Then we watched other guests hunting for cups off other tables as there tables had obviously been robbed as well. Just go to the kitchen and get the missing stuff and this would not leave your guest having to hunt for utensils to eat and drink with.

It was an awful end to our stay. I had previously loved this hotel and if you look at my reviews I'm a positive person generally. For the price and the rating of this hotel it was way below standard.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OllieTheDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2012

i would like to take the time to write a review for the d hotel my friends booked the hen weekend package for us and i cud not fault anything the food was lovely the staff were so friendly and helpfull the rooms were spacious and clean ad tidy cudnt ask for more loved it would recomend it for anyone

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckymky75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Stayed 2 nights on a good deal which included 2 breakfasts and 2 dinners for E99 per person (over 50s rate).

PROS:
great location beside the river in town centre
Beside shopping centre- attached to it!
Free parking
Pretty good good evening meals though narrow range in menu
Great free upgrade to balcony room
Clean room with good size bed and free to air TV channels
Free broadband- wired


CONS:
Restuarant- dining area a bit understaffed with breakfast I rate as OK. The self service area ia a bit of a squeeze. One moring they ran out of pure orange juice- tough! To be fair on complaining later the duty manager did apologise - and later did the same in writing with a small box of sweets.

No AC though fan supplied.

Had to ask for the freebies in our offer rather than being given them.

All in all pretty good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
0.6 km away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
347 reviews
0.4 km away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
2.2 km away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Glenside Hotel
Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
251 reviews
10.2 km away
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
21.4 km away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The d Hotel Drogheda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The d Hotel Drogheda

Property: The d Hotel Drogheda
Address: Scotch Hall, Marsh Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — The d Hotel Drogheda 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning d hotel, a luxury 4 star hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth Ireland is located on the banks of the historic River Boyne. This impressive waterfront location includes the Scotch Hall shopping complex and a purpose built pedestrian bridge to the town centre with its many traditional pubs and restaurants in Drogheda. The d hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth is only 40 minutes from Dublin using the Port Tunnel, only 25 minutes from Dublin airport and only an hour and a half from Belfast; making it the ideal base for a trip to the East Coast of Ireland. The d hotel in Louth Ireland was proud to be the players hotel for the European Tour 3 Irish Open Golf Tournament which was held at the nearby County Louth Golf Course (Baltray) from the 14th to the 17th of May 2009. The d hotel is the perfect hotel for The TLT Theatre Drogheda and the Funtasia Waterpark Drogheda as well as being the Festival Hotel for the Drogheda Arts Festival, the Drogheda Samba Festival, the Drogheda Guitar Festival and the Clogherhead Prawn Festival. Accommodation In Drogheda: Our Drogheda hotel in County Louth Ireland offers 104 superb bedrooms designed for guest comfort and relaxation, many with superb views over the river and town. We have two penthouse suites, the light and dark rooms; luxury at its finest and ideal for special occasions. Please note the d hotel is a non smoking hotel. Hotel Dining: Hotel dining at the d is an experience… Not only will the menus satisfy your taste buds, The Viaduct Bar & Grill opens onto riverside terraces and a promenade with superb views of historic Drogheda. This truly offers a fantastic dining experience at one of the finest restaurants Louth has to offer. Louth Weddings: The d hotel is Drogheda's premier wedding venue, with a capacity for up to 250 guests in our Viaduct Suite, which opens out on to the Riverside Terrace. We specialise in making weddings unique and will create exclusive packages for you at a price that suits you at one of the leading luxury wedding hotels in Ireland. We look forward to welcoming you to the d hotel in Louth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your The d Hotel Drogheda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Hotel Drogheda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing