We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Enjoyable Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The d Hotel Drogheda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The d Hotel Drogheda
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Recently stayed in the D hotel with our two sons. We had a lovely stay. The hotel is ideally located to explore Drogheda and has a great shopping centre next door. Thought the kids menu in the restaurant was really good, nice to have a change from everything with chips. Our rooms were lovely. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. In particular Vaitodas who went over and above the call of duty on few times in our short stay to help us out. (A stranded teddy was one of the rescue calls!!) Give that man a raise he is excellent on the front desk. With all the packages avaiable in this hotel you are sure to find one to suit your needs. We will definately stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DancingTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    337
    140
    82
    54
See reviews for
264
394
29
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CHICAGO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

Hotel is in a good location, close to downtown, on the river, easy access, but the hospitality is horrible. Our room was small and unkept. Yeah, the decor is modern, but not very functional. The place is all fluff and no substance. The restaurant, bring a sandwich. Booked for three nights, left after one.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eddieob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kilkenny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed in the d hotel in august. when we arrived at hotel we were given our room straight away.staff very friendly. Rooms was on 5th floor,very spacious and clean .Rooms were very warm found it very hard to sleep at night.We travel with 2 children and the kids enjoy the kids club. The woman over the club was very friendly and nice . The only down fall of the hotel was restaurant was booked up on the nite we were given a treasury box as our table with couches around it for 8 people to eat at it.No room even to put our plate on it.food was only ok. The hotel is close to everything and good location

Room Tip: 5th floor had no noise at nite which is good if you have kids with you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
180 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed on a Saturday night on room only basis. The room was on the 5th floor, very spacious with king size bed and a balcony which was locked for some reason. The tv was old and the program selection not great but this did not take away from the quality stay. The hotel is close to everything Drogheda has to offer. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sead J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

I stayed here for one night over the August Bank Holiday. The sole purpose was for shopping, so being right beside Scotch Hall couldn't be better! When we arrived (before 2pm) we were told that our room wasn't ready, but rather than keep us waiting they'd put us into another room and separate the beds. We went up and about 5 minutes later, housekeeping came in and sorted the bed. Room was really nice, beds were very comfortable. We asked reception if they could recommend somewhere for dinner and he said the hotel had a restaurant and there was a bar/grill restaurant attached to the hotel called Wm Cairnes. I would definitely recommend there for dinner.
Our breakfast was delivered to our room the next morning and it was delicious!
Everyone we dealt with in the hotel were really nice and helpful, I would definitely recommend this and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RockDesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
0.4 km away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
0.6 km away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
2.2 km away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
The Glenside Hotel
The Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
29.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
10.2 km away
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The d Hotel Drogheda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The d Hotel Drogheda

Property: The d Hotel Drogheda
Address: Scotch Hall, Marsh Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — The d Hotel Drogheda 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning d hotel, a luxury 4 star hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth Ireland is located on the banks of the historic River Boyne. This impressive waterfront location includes the Scotch Hall shopping complex and a purpose built pedestrian bridge to the town centre with its many traditional pubs and restaurants in Drogheda. The d hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth is only 40 minutes from Dublin using the Port Tunnel, only 25 minutes from Dublin airport and only an hour and a half from Belfast; making it the ideal base for a trip to the East Coast of Ireland. The d hotel in Louth Ireland was proud to be the players hotel for the European Tour 3 Irish Open Golf Tournament which was held at the nearby County Louth Golf Course (Baltray) from the 14th to the 17th of May 2009. The d hotel is the perfect hotel for The TLT Theatre Drogheda and the Funtasia Waterpark Drogheda as well as being the Festival Hotel for the Drogheda Arts Festival, the Drogheda Samba Festival, the Drogheda Guitar Festival and the Clogherhead Prawn Festival. Accommodation In Drogheda: Our Drogheda hotel in County Louth Ireland offers 104 superb bedrooms designed for guest comfort and relaxation, many with superb views over the river and town. We have two penthouse suites, the light and dark rooms; luxury at its finest and ideal for special occasions. Please note the d hotel is a non smoking hotel. Hotel Dining: Hotel dining at the d is an experience… Not only will the menus satisfy your taste buds, The Viaduct Bar & Grill opens onto riverside terraces and a promenade with superb views of historic Drogheda. This truly offers a fantastic dining experience at one of the finest restaurants Louth has to offer. Louth Weddings: The d hotel is Drogheda's premier wedding venue, with a capacity for up to 250 guests in our Viaduct Suite, which opens out on to the Riverside Terrace. We specialise in making weddings unique and will create exclusive packages for you at a price that suits you at one of the leading luxury wedding hotels in Ireland. We look forward to welcoming you to the d hotel in Louth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HRS, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The d Hotel Drogheda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Hotel Drogheda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing