We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

My family spent one night at the Savoy during a three week, multi-city vacation in Ireland. The hotel was very nice, the rooms were clean and well appointed, and the staff was very helpful. The adjacent restaurant, Hamptons, was excellent. Our only complaint was the city of Limerick itself.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river get a fair amount of wind noise but the views are quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryJH59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    240
    99
    29
    18
See reviews for
166
444
31
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

I stayed here for one night in August for a get together with my girl friends. The rooms are very luxurious as are the bathrooms. THere was three in our room and we had plenty space. Very comfortable beds and the breakfast went on until midday I think. THe pancakes were devine, better than pancakes that I recently had in a five star hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel for a group of friends, a romantic break, rugby match etc. There is a car park across the road and you are very near all the main nightspots and shops. It would be 15-20 minute fast walk to Thomond park.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gortboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
122 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

We spent a night here as we were attending a friend's birthday celebration. Check in was quick and easy and we opted for the valet parking. They don't push this on you and recommend the self parking across the street but we wanted the easy option so chose to pay the €20. We were allocated a room on the 8th floor which was very nice and we had great views of the river and Thomand Park (on a match night which was interesting!).

The bed was comfortable and all the room ammenities were up to standard but it's not 5 star, don't get me wrong there is nothing wrong with it but having stayed in a number of 5 star hotels this is a good 4 star, it doesn't offer the luxury you would expect in a 5 star hotel.

The location is great, right in the city centre. Drinks in the bar were great, we also had a drink in the lounge but as we were not eating there they really wanted us out and didn't hide this fact and stood over us as we were finishing our drinks which was a bit annoying. We had breakfast which was lovely, good choice and an oh so friendly manager.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors for the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

I recently stayed at the 5 Star Savoy in Limerick & was seriously impressed with the Suite (Room 810). I enjoyed a large room space with workstation & the highlight was the swivel entertainment centre in the middle of the room!
The bath & shower were wonderful, as was the view of the Shannon Estuary & King John's Castle from the 8th floor window.
The staff were completely professional, courteous & smiling.
I was on business in the region the following day & was completely relaxed for my travels, especially after the large silver service, full Irish breakfast! The location right in the heart of Limerick City is ideal actually for social butterflies, with bars & clubs nearby. The car park was also free up to 08.30 the following morning & was right across the street from the hotel.
I didn't get a chance to check out the spa facilities, which look amazing, but will do so on my return trip.
I would recommend this hotel to business travelers & recreational visitors alike & would whole-heartedly refer my family, friends & colleagues to the Savoy.

Room Tip: Room 810 on the 8th Floor has the swivel TV!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jameslmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killorglin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

All you can expect from a 5 star hotel. I was unable to work the Air con correctly so it was either far too hot or far too cold. Loose tile on bathroom floor and plenty pigeon poo on the balcony BUT we did have a fantastic time. Service really is exceptional you would be silly not to stay here as the location and hospitality makes it well worth the visit!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ledvig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.8 km away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
0.4 km away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,261 reviews
0.1 km away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#6 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
0.7 km away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
3.5 km away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Property: The Savoy Hotel
Address: The Savoy Henry Street, Limerick, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Limerick
#4 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
#5 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#6 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Midwest Ireland, the Limerick Savoy Hotel on Henry Street is located in the centre of Limerick City close to the River Shannon. The Savoy, one of the finest hotels in Limerick, is just 12 miles from Shannon International Airport and 1 mile from the train station. Our guest rooms and suites offer luxurious bedding, high-speed Internet and a spacious work desk for the busy traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Limerick
Limerick Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing