We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner”
Review of The Glen Tavern

The Glen Tavern
Ranked #6 of 317 Restaurants in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$18
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Glen Tavern is situated in the heart of Limerick just off the main artery of O’Connell St. A warm welcoming pub, all the convenience of city life but very much a family run establishment.Known for it’s great value lunches and daily specials, all dietary needs are catered for and children’s portions are available.We cater for parties and have a function area for all occasions – parties, meetings etc.The Glen is a great sporting pub, hurling, soccer, golf and rugby to name but a few. All sports are catered for and all games can be watched live on our many t.vs and screens.We take pride in keeping our traditions so specials of the house like Irish Stew and Irish Coffees are available daily. A sample of our lunch menu is attached, although our homemade soups and specials change daily.A lively pub with live music, good beer, great pint and wholesome food.Traditional Irish music sessions on Monday nights.
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Excellent Irish stew. Ciara was our server and was wonderful. The atmosphere of the pub was very inviting and the service was second to none. If you are going to Shannon or Limerick This is a stop you should not miss!

1  Thank Shoman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ger C, Owner at The Glen Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Hi Shoman62,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review. We're pretty fond of Ciara ourselves! We are lucky to have such great staff (and costumers!!). Do make sure to call in if you are ever around again.
Many thanks,
Ger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2017

I went in just for I pint of beer, I went out after 3 courses of excellent food and a couple of pints.
Friendly and capable staff, beautiful atmosphere and tasty food.
When I come back to Limerick, I'll sure come back also to The Glen Tavern, the best pub of the city.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Fabio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ger C, Owner at The Glen Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Hi Fabio P,
Thank you so much for this lovely review! I am glad to hear that you had such a positive experience with us here in the glen. We would be more than happy to welcome you back if you are ever around again.
Many thanks,
Ger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

After a long flight from the US the Glen was the perfect place to un-wind and get to Irish time. The pie was fantastic and the Chicken Kiev was a delight with just the right amount of garlic. A must stop while in Limerick!

1  Thank hineconsult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ger C, Owner at The Glen Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Hi hineconsult,
I am happy to hear that we could be of assistance in your transition to Irishness!! Thank you so much for your kind review. If ye are ever back in the area, do make sure to pay us a visit.
Kind regards,
Ger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Stopped in to meet a friend. Nice traditional Irish pub. I ordered an Irish seafood chowder that came with bread. It was really good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ger C, Owner at The Glen Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Hi Peter M,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am glad to hear that you had a good time with us.
Regards,
Ger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Have eaten a few times in The Glen in the afternoon/evening, most recently last weekend. The menu has plenty choice and they take a lot of care with their presentation. The home cut chips are especially tasty and service is always friendly and efficient.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank limerick_lady_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ger C, Owner at The Glen Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Hi limerick_lady_10,
Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review. I am glad to hear that you have a good time with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Regards,
Ger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Glen Tavern also viewed

Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
 

Been to The Glen Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing