We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,296)
Filter reviews
1,296 results
Traveller rating
513
451
206
78
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
513
451
206
78
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river kudos bar tallest hotel car park hen party lovely hotel next morning city centre course meal stayed here for one night great weekend staff were lovely family room friday night enjoyable stay last weekend king john's castle
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,296 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed only one night with a tour group but were well satisfied on all accounts. Check in was friendly and quick. I enjoyed a cappucino and pastry at the very nice cafe area. The location was nice, on the water but it didn't seem like much in the immediate area. It's not far to walk anywhere though and taxi was cheap. We had a tour group meal which was tasty and large. The girls serving us were a little scowly faced but were accomodating ... no smiles though.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Malone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatReddan1, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Malone2,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and highlighting the positive aspects of your stay.

I was disappointed to read that not all of the staff were smiling, it is something that I believed we do very well. I will address this with the team.

Kind Regards,

Pat Reddan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Stayed here when we came to Limerick to watch the Munster Rugby game. Nice hotel with a good bar and restaurant. The room was very nice with TV, safe, hair dryer, iron and board. View from our room was right over the river and we were on a higher floor so had a great view down the river and the northern part of the city. Close to Limerick core (about 10 minutes walk) so great for shopping and finding restaurants and bars. Only a 25 minute walk to the rugby stadium, but public transit and taxis are available if you aren't in the mood to walk. Staff we dealt with were all helpful and friendly. Definitely recommend this hotel if you need a good place to stay in Limerick.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDNTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaytonLimk, Front Office Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Dear CDNTerry,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel!
We are glad that had such an enjoyable stay and hope to see you again very soon.
Kind regards,
Kate Mullaney
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

Lunch: Soup very weak. Sandwiches lovely. Teapot=no teabags-TWICE! Dinner: Burger quite dry. Fish cold. Pate starter TINY! Only for PETER and ALAYNA who were serving us, this would have been a '2*'. PETER was excellent, patient and very customer-friendly orientated, even with quite a difficult customer (one of our group!). I highly commend this young man, who definitely showed signs of a future Restaurant Manager. Nothing frazzled him and he really tried. Some people are never pleased! Staff were friendly and courteous. Room was grand, tho' we couldn't open a window.
Breakfast was ok, tho' staff here weren't as helpful. No teabags again in the one teapot set down for 20 people(!) Not sure if I'd return, tho' always prepared to try again. On the plus-side, hotel is near town, which is well worth a visit and walk along the promenade.ENJOY!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christy_Luv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaytonLimk, Front Office Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Dear Christy_Luv2
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and thank you for your kind words regarding our Food & Beverage Assistant, Peter. I will ensure that both Peter and his Manager receive your review. I will be discussing the rest of your feedback further with the Team.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Nice hotel located on the river. Rooms are nice with matching carpet and chair. Very Scottish decor. Office chair in room also. Plaid fabric headboard. Bathroom has a tub. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaytonLimk, Front Office Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Dear Rita R,
Many thanks for your kind review. We hope to see you again very soon.
Kind regards,
Kate Mullaney
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Wonderful hotel. Staff are friendly ( husband accidentally dropped a book that went through the two inch gap between the elevator and the floor, and staff retrieved it from its five storey fall). Parking is handy across the street. Been in several hotels this trip in Ireland and the breakfast offered is superior. They do not have a sign, but also make up pancakes to order, and kids really enjoyed that.We had two rooms and they assigned us the rooms at the far end of the hallway, 412 and 413. In the end rooms, it is a large room with extra space and has a full length view of the river , with the groups of swans, and up the far distance and the OTHER set of Windows ( has two because you are at the end of the hallway, )gives a great view of the city. Rooms were very quiet and the bed comfortable . If you do not want to eat dinner at the hotel, there are several restaurants to choose from in easy walking as you stroll down the river board walk.

Room Tip: Ask for the end room at the river side, has two beautiful views of the water and of the city.
Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Lynden C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaytonLimk, Front Office Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Dear Lynden C
Thank you for the fabulous review. I am glad that you had such an enjoyable stay and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!
Kind regards,
Kate Mullaney
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews