We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HUNT MUSEUM IS A MUSEUM OF MANY TREASURES.”
Review of Hunt Museum

Hunt Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$131.01*
and up
Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin
More Info
US$756.02*
and up
4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour...
More Info
US$359.38*
and up
2-Day Western Ireland Tour from Dublin by Train: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher...
Ranked #3 of 113 things to do in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hunt Museum houses one of Ireland's greatest private collections of art and antiquities, dating from the Neolithic to the 20th Century, including works by Renoir, Picasso and Yeats.
Reviewed 11 February 2017

This Museum originated in the University of Limerick and then moved to its current location. The collection is something to behold. There is a large collection silver which includes a collection of Chalices and are very beautiful. The Museum has Exhibitions regularly of different artists or historical events. It has a very good gift shop with lots of choices from Jewellery to table mats. Most of the merchandise is Irish. A very good restaurant is located downstairs and serves snacks as well as full lunches. It is suitable for any age group. On sunny days it is lovely to sit with your bite to eat and look out at the River Shannon as it flows by.

Thank Dolores D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 86 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2017

I almost walked by the museum. The museum is very cool. Loved the gift shop attached to the museum. I spent hours there. Family loved it also.

Thank LEnore S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Such a beautiful building with gorgeous artwork. Friendly and welcoming staff with a height of knowledge of all the artwork

Thank LilyB51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntMuseum, Staff Member at Hunt Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Dear Lily, thank you for your kind words, we strive to keep our staff as knowledgeable as possible to enhance our visitor experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017

This little museum is awesome. They have a very nice collection of local art. Not to be missed if you visit Limerick.

Thank ttChet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntMuseum, Staff Member at Hunt Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Dear ttChet, thank you for your very kind words, our local art works, of which most are for sale, add to the delights of our permanent collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Do you know that one of the 30 pieces of silver Judas was paid id reputed to be among the collection. Also some very fine paintings of local areas from times past. I particularly like the the painting of the Kilmallock countryside. One piece that would do well to be returned to Limerick is the Ardagh Chalice and this musuem would be a fitting place for its display.

Thank Con O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntMuseum, Staff Member at Hunt Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Dear Con, we would love to have the Ardagh Chalice on display at the Museum. Thank yo for your wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hunt Museum also viewed

Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 

Been to Hunt Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing