We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely museum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunt Museum

Hunt Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$119.59*
and up
Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin
Ranked #3 of 110 things to do in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hunt Museum houses one of Ireland's greatest private collections of art and antiquities, dating from the Neolithic to the 20th Century, including works by Renoir, Picasso and Yeats.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
1,110 reviews
520 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 830 helpful votes
“Lovely museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

This is a beautiful museum, not a far walk from King John's Castle. The Hunt exhibits one of Ireland's greatest private collections of art and antiquities dating from the Neolithic period to the 20th century. It's open from 10-5 daily but pay attention to closing around the holidays. Sculptures in the garden are great as well.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank DoloresJacoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    154
    51
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic private collection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Incredible works by artists dating back millennia and incorporating artists ranging from old masters, to the greats of Ireland and many inbetween!

Visited February 2016
Helpful?
Thank Hollywood_Lk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun and interesting!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

To be honest I'm more of a art gallery type of person, but I decided to pay a visit at the Hunt museum and I was delighted! It's fun and interesting, and the feature that you're able to open the drawers to explore things adds to the experience! I can absolutely see how even kids could enjoy a visit at the museum!
While I was there they had a small exhibition made by school children in Limerick, which I really enjoyed!

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Worth a visit when in Limerick”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2016

We spent one and a half hours here. It was an enjoyable visit - interesting to open the drawers and view the contents. We also visited the cafe and the food was good. Lovely shop but too expensive for our income and I would think many of the visitors.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank Maryrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bantry, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Must-See in Limerick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2016

I have always wanted to visit the The Hunt Collection and I was not disappointed - the whole display, laid out over 3 floors was wonderful. The wishes of the Hunt family were adhered to, in that as much as possible of the Collection was displayed. We were offered a guided tour but chose to do it at our own pace. The whole display was clearly annotated. The Hunt family and their contribution to the city of Limerick was well referenced. A very suitable use of a fine old building. Allow plenty of time to be able to take in all the displays.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank BTA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hunt Museum also viewed

Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 

Been to Hunt Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing