We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely museum”
Review of Hunt Museum

Hunt Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$5.79*
and up
Hunt Museum Admission Ticket
Ranked #11 of 79 things to do in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Hunt Museum houses one of Ireland's greatest private collections of art and antiquities, dating from the Neolithic to the 20th Century, including works by Renoir, Picasso and Yeats. The Gallery exhibits a range of temporary exhibitions throughout the year. The Hunt Museum’s Permanent Collection will be closed, due to essential fire safety work, until January 2019. The Hunt Museum Gift Shop, Gallery, and Cafe will remain open, check our website for events and exhibition taking place!
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

This is a beautiful museum, not a far walk from King John's Castle. The Hunt exhibits one of Ireland's greatest private collections of art and antiquities dating from the Neolithic period to the 20th century. It's open from 10-5 daily but pay attention to closing around the holidays. Sculptures in the garden are great as well.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank DoloresJacoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"private collection"
in 29 reviews
"custom house"
in 12 reviews
"personal collection"
in 7 reviews
"eclectic collection"
in 11 reviews
"jack yeats"
in 7 reviews
"religious artifacts"
in 7 reviews
"three floors"
in 10 reviews
"bronze age"
in 17 reviews
"open drawers"
in 6 reviews
"on display"
in 24 reviews
"interesting pieces"
in 8 reviews
"irish artists"
in 6 reviews
"treasure trove"
in 6 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 35 reviews
"gift shop"
in 26 reviews
"guided tour"
in 14 reviews
"two hours"
in 10 reviews
Filter

131 - 135 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Incredible works by artists dating back millennia and incorporating artists ranging from old masters, to the greats of Ireland and many inbetween!

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank Hollywood_Lk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

To be honest I'm more of a art gallery type of person, but I decided to pay a visit at the Hunt museum and I was delighted! It's fun and interesting, and the feature that you're able to open the drawers to explore things adds to the experience! I can absolutely see how even kids could enjoy a visit at the museum!
While I was there they had a small exhibition made by school children in Limerick, which I really enjoyed!

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016

We spent one and a half hours here. It was an enjoyable visit - interesting to open the drawers and view the contents. We also visited the cafe and the food was good. Lovely shop but too expensive for our income and I would think many of the visitors.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2016

I have always wanted to visit the The Hunt Collection and I was not disappointed - the whole display, laid out over 3 floors was wonderful. The wishes of the Hunt family were adhered to, in that as much as possible of the Collection was displayed. We were offered a guided tour but chose to do it at our own pace. The whole display was clearly annotated. The Hunt family and their contribution to the city of Limerick was well referenced. A very suitable use of a fine old building. Allow plenty of time to be able to take in all the displays.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank BTA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hunt Museum also viewed

Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 

Been to Hunt Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing