We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Gastro”

The Curragower Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 321 Restaurants in Limerick
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 10 May 2015 via mobile

Cracking place to spend an evening. Seats on the terrace overlooking the castle and river, the view is spectacular. Food was excellent, fresh and delicious. The staff are friendly and welcoming, the service was five star. A real gem of a place with a great atmosphere.

1  Thank Darran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,157 - 1,161 of 1,457 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2015

This was the best fish and chips on our visit to Ireland! Crispy coating and not at all greasy. Friendly, helpful service and staff even took a photo for us. Fantastic location and view of the river to top it off! Thank you Curragower!

Date of visit: April 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 May 2015

The Curragower is one of the best spots in Limerick. The location is perfect, across from King Johns castle with a great view. You can meet anyone in the Curragower from our Munster rugby players to fabulous musicians. There is so much choice on the menu and the food is really tasty. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
I would highly recommend the Curragower for a few drinks and something to eat.

Date of visit: April 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 May 2015

Dined here recently and was hugely impressed. Buzzy atmosphere with a lovely rustic feeling. Beautiful fresh aromas as soon as we arrived, to me there is something offputting when you arrive at a dining venue and there is no discernible smell of cooking or alternatively you get a greasy/burnt smell. Located beside the Shannon in the historic part of Limerick this place is really worth crossing the river for. Full of students, young tourists and locals it feels like a pub in Dingle. Anyway, the important bit i.e. the food. I thought it was fantastic, predominately fish on the menu, I had a Hake maincourse and my other half went for a seafood pie. Both of which were very tasty, the fish was fresh and the plates were very well executed. The staff were also incredibly efficient and friendly. I cannot understand why it isn't higher on the review list. To my mind it is miles ahead of any other pubs that serve food in the city. And for the quality the price is also excellent.

Date of visit: April 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank iseult
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 May 2015 via mobile

The first (and last) place we stop on our annual trip to Ireland is the Curragower. Great staff, brilliant menu, drinks and music. Can't beat it.

Date of visit: April 2015
Thank Hootenannywashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Curragower Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Limerick, County Limerick
 

Been to The Curragower Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.