We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Limerick
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Firstly, there is no getting away from the fact that this hotel is on the edge of a very unfortunate area. Its most definitely not a place to go walking around alone at night and its slightly out of town. Be sensible and use the more secure hotel car park rather than leaving your car outside in the shopping area car park.

Once you get over that its fine. The rooms are large, there may be a little noise from loud revellers but if you are worried about that ask when booking to be assigned a quieter room. I arrived an hour early on a match weekend and was very pleased to see that they were already booking people in which was great. The parking is plentiful which is not the case with many Limerick hotels. If its daytime, the city centre is about a 20 minute walk away - I have walked as far as Thomond Park from here so its not far. However I would not recommend walking home at night: its not safe.

Food I couldn't complain about, it wasn't overpriced and the food itself was nice.

Recommended for: match weekends, stopovers if you don't need to be in the city and business trips if you are on a budget.

Room Tip: Ask if you are worried about noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lff12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    210
    128
    54
    52
See reviews for
168
189
34
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tralee
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I have stayed in this hotel over ten times in the last three years.The rooms are spacious,the food is wholesome,and they pour a mean pint of lager!Most of all,the friendly,fun and sassy welcome of Eileen and the other ladies at reception means that us Munster rugby supporters will keep coming back.
Seamus Cadogan

Room Tip: Book early before big rugby matches
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seamus c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

First of all i start by saying before we even arrived i contacted the hotel and was talking to a lady
who i have to mention i think she might be the manager or if she is not she should he her name is Helen Boatman i told her my son was autistic so could we have a room min a quiet area and that
we would be bringing an asstiance dog was that ok with them ,she said no problem she would sort out the room herself and make sure there was also a travel cot there for our daughter and she followed threw on everything.
we left cork late and got lost on the way so we arrived tired with my son in an autistic meltdown my daughter crying and i had a migraine and we just prayed that checkin would not take long.
the girl at reception was lovely and she said this girl Helen Boatman had left a note for me and when i read it i was stunned she had read an artical in the newspaper that they where showing special films for autistic children in the cinema the next day and she left all the details for us now i have stayed in 5 star hotels and never gotten that service so Helen you are worth yor weight in gold to the company and because of you i will stay in Maldron hotels again so if there managment team reads this you dont know how lucky you are to have her and i have never ever written a review mentiong staff before so thats how good she was. Now on the hotel rooms where lovely and clean breakfast was fab they did fresh fried eggs to order not like some buffetes that leave them for ages on there buffet tables and i have to say pool was great the best bit was they had the massage chairs for 2 euro that massaged you for 5 or 10 mins and after a long drive it was utter bliss

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivfincrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

This is a fairly new hotel on the outskirts of Limerick. It is close to the intersection of the Cork and Dublin motorways and also close to Limerick tunnel for easy travel to Shannon or Galway. It's fairly good value, and the rooms are quite large.

We ended up in a two bed suite. The suite was huge and included a kitchenette. The bed rooms were quite clean. However the kitchen + living room was not maintained to the same standard. This hotel is big and long, so you might have a long walk to your room (ours was an unusually long 100m from reception).

Staff are friendly and efficient.

This is not a pleasant part of Limerick. Also the hotel is a fairly far from the city center, and there is not much to do nearby. There is underground parking right under the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sneachtaban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

The hotel staff are fantastic, but nothing can overcome the location and the calibre of some of the other guests. My 9 year old and I stayed here on New Years Eve to avoid my 22 year old's party at home, and we'd have been better off to stay at home.
We had dinner in the bar, which was excellent, but from then on decided to stay in our room due to feeling intimidated by other guests. I guess the area lends itself to visits from relatives who are less than desirable, and we were hassled everytime we left the room. We were woken several times during the night by noisy guests.
The dvd player in the room was broken, and apparently the hotel was unable to provide a replacement due to being full.
By the next morning, both lifts were broken, as was at least one vending machine. The receptionist was pleasant, but there was no offer of help with our bags down the stairs, or sympathy for our less than ideal stay.
I have been in contact with the hotel, and have not received a reply, so I have decide to post on tripadvisor.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LimList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
2.2 km away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,946 reviews
2.3 km away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,543 reviews
7.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
1,502 reviews
5.0 km away
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Castletroy
393 reviews
1.9 km away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Limerick

Property: Maldron Hotel Limerick
Address: Southern Ring Road | Roxboro, Limerick, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Limerick 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just minutes from the vibrant Limerick city with its many attractions including King Johns castle, the Hunt museum, the treaty stone and Thomond Park to name but a few.The ideal base for day trips to Bunratty Castle , the cliffs of Moher, Ballyhoura, Adare village, and Foynes flying boat museum.For shopping enthusiasts, the hotel is located minutes from the famous Crescent shopping centre and the array of high street city centre stores including Debenhams and Brown Thomas.For those visiting Limerick on business, the Hotel is perfectly located as a meeting point , with direct access onto new motorway systems to Dublin, Cork and Galway.All our bedrooms are designed with business in mind and with 12 dedicated meeting rooms the Maldron is the first choice for many business meetings.The hotel is also located within minutes of the Regional hospital, Raheen business park, Mary Immaculate college, the University of Limerick and the National Technology park.With 143 spaciously designed bedrooms we can offer many choices of accommodation including King, double, triple and family rooms catering for all your accommodation needs.Club Vitae Leisure Club with 20m swimming pool , gym , sauna , Jacuzzi , steam room Extensive dining options including Stir Bar and Restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Maldron Hotel Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limerick Maldron Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing