Emo Court was designed by the architect James Gandon in 1790 for the Earls of Portarlington and is a magnificent example of this neo-classical style. During the middle of this century it was owned by the Jesuits, it was then acquired and extensively restored by Mr. Cholmeley-Harrison in the 1960s. The house is surrounded by beautiful gardens.
Location: 2.5km from Emo. (Accessed from Kildare-Portlaoise Road - N7).
See webpage: http://www.heritageireland.ie/en/midlandseastcoast/EmoCourt/
Cannot add anything to the above but the recommendation to visit. Also worthwhile are the tearooms, which serve lovely cakes and very good coffee.