We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful! ”
Review of Rive Gauche

Rive Gauche
Ranked #15 of 256 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Wine Bar
Description: Rive Gauche is Kilkenny's newest addition to its thriving culinary scene. A French feel combined with an Irish passion for the finest artisan foods from land & sea, cooked with gentle respect for excellent ingredients. An extensive range of wines from across the world & fresh house made cocktails along with our street front setting onto Kilkenny's iconic 'Parade' make Rive Gauche the perfect place to enjoy an afternoon or evening of great food & wine.
Restaurant details
Description: Rive Gauche is Kilkenny's newest addition to its thriving culinary scene. A French feel combined with an Irish passion for the finest artisan foods from land & sea, cooked with gentle respect for excellent ingredients. An extensive range of wines from across the world & fresh house made cocktails along with our street front setting onto Kilkenny's iconic 'Parade' make Rive Gauche the perfect place to enjoy an afternoon or evening of great food & wine.
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Having had several recommendations, myself and a friend who was visiting for the weekend went for a late weekend lunch. All the high praise we’d heard was 100% justified. We experienced superb staff, a great menu choice, fair prices, a relaxed atmosphere and delicious meals. Will I go back? Most definitely!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Angeld62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

We went on the 15th September and were terribly late getting down from Belfast. From the outset the staff team were super helpful and reorganised our booking. So even before arriving we had good feeling. The place is ideally located facing castle. The decor is luxurious, seating arrangements really great, no squashing in. Menu options perfect and we have diverse tastes. We had sharing baked Camembert and lovely accompaniments, then hake, fresh and tasty. Think the others steak, lamb and chicken. Wine crisp and light. After dinner drinks lovely. So food excellent quality and innovative.
Biggest appeal.. the staff. Fun, friendly and professional. Definitely a return visit on the cards and thanks to them. I imagine it would be gorgeous on a chilly evening too, red velvet and ornate lighting. Perfect spot. Chefs and front of house and waiting staff deserve praise big time.
Thank you very much for giving us a lovely first evening!!

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Tinarachaeltracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

Recent catch up with friends. Food was not as impressive as previous times I had been here.
starter:chicken liver parfait which was really good.
Main:Steak cooked medium rare was also very nice but the fries on the side were all small crispy bits very few full fries.
Dessert:white chocolate mousse was not great.
Service was good

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank takethetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

We just stopped in for a drink before dinner elsewhere. Nice spot with good bar service. Cocktails were good. Food looked good in the restaurant so will be back to try that out another time.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 633patg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

One of the hardest working, most efficient staff we've every seen! Everyone pitches in to ensure customers are taken care of promptly, but not is a rushed or overbearing way. Food is great too, and no problem with gluten free...even bread! We took advantage of the early bird menu which is a super value, and not prepared or presented any differently than the main menu items. Decor is beautiful, a little French. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank italy-nuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rive Gauche also viewed

Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to Rive Gauche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing